Search

Opinions on irr-ops?

Search this Thread

Old Apr 27, 2008, 4:35 pm
Original Poster

Programs: UA 1MM, SPG Gold, EVA Diamond
Opinions on irr-ops?

Hello all,
I'm new to the Bay area and thought I'd ask your opinions of what to do during irr-ops... I will be flying from ORD quite often and have noticed that San Jose and Oakland are potential alternative routes. During Irr-ops have any of you flown into them or used them as a potential alternative or is it a bad idea for reasons unknown to me?
Any general feedback would be greatly appreciated the day things go south
Old Apr 27, 2008, 4:38 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Originally Posted by melampus83
Hello all,
I'm new to the Bay area and thought I'd ask your opinions of what to do during irr-ops... I will be flying from ORD quite often and have noticed that San Jose and Oakland are potential alternative routes. During Irr-ops have any of you flown into them or used them as a potential alternative or is it a bad idea for reasons unknown to me?
Any general feedback would be greatly appreciated the day things go south
OAK and SJC are great backup plans for getting home during irrops. The only issue may be transit from those two airports, depending on whether you drive to SFO and where you live in the City. If your company will cover the cost of cabs, I'd just cab to SFO and cab home from OAK or SJC if irrops hits in ORD.
Old Apr 27, 2008, 4:43 pm
In Memoriam, FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: Alaska MVP Gold 75K, AA 3.8MM, UA 1.1MM, enjoying the retired life
I've been bumped off ORD-OAK and flown ORD-SFO instead. In that case, UA even provided a voucher for ground transport.

Public transit is pretty decent at OAK and SFO, so it only takes about an hour to get between them. You could use public transit from SJC using bus to Caltrain or BART in Fremont, and make it work, but that would be my last option.