Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > Europe > Russia
Reload this Page >

Russian Visa and US green card

Old Dec 15, 15, 9:03 pm
Original Poster

Hi,

I was just wondering if perhaps anyone knows anything of a big, annoying issue I'm having? Problem is I am applying for a Russian visa from the US (I'm a UK citizen), and they require me to have a valid green card, however it is expired. The USCIS and various immigration attorneys have told me that I am still a permanent resident of the US, just the card is expired.

Is there any way that anyone could tell me of pleading with, or perhaps working out a deal with the Russian Visa Agency (ILS) so they could accept my expired green card as proof of my residency, or perhaps any other documents I could provide? As you can imagine, paying 450$ and waiting months for my green card to be renewed isn't exactly efficient, seeing as my goal is to leave the country.

Any help or advice would be well appreciated. Thanks

(I think it's also worth noting that everything else, including a Private Visa invitation, has worked out just fine, just this one, frankly stupid, setback)
Old Dec 15, 15, 9:58 pm
Moderator: Delta SkyMiles, Luxury Hotels, TravelBuzz! and Italy

Welcome to Flyertalk, Mr.Right90s.
The most appropriate forum for your query is the FT Russia Forum.
Please follow there.
Obscure2k
TravelBuzz Moderator
Old Dec 16, 15, 12:13 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Location: In a little twisty maze of airline seats, all alike...
Programs: CO, NW & UA forum moderator emeritus