How to use Uber abroad without raking up roaming charges?

Old Oct 26, 19, 10:56 am
Original Poster

How to use Uber abroad without raking up roaming charges?

I have never used Uber before so asking very basic question.
Lets say I have international roaming activated on my home country account but disabled at my phone. I land in a foreign country, use wifi to summon Uber.
For some reason, driver or I need to communicate. At this point I don't have sim from destination country and my whatsapp number is VoIP and different than the number associated with Uber account. Also most likely wifi wont work in the pickup area.
So how do I/driver communicate? Does Uber allow a person to add a second number(VoIP) to the account?
And secondly when I do manage to get a local sim after a day an order Uber, how can I ensure that this number us used to communicate with Uber?
Thirdly What happens when you order Uber from airport to X place but can't find the car due to some confusion?
And final question - How can I contact Uber for help and support?
Thank you to anyone, in advance, who can reply to any question mentioned above
Old Oct 26, 19, 8:45 pm

Uber does not allow two phone number. You should try to get a local sim from the airport.
Old Oct 26, 19, 9:21 pm

Programs: UA plat, spg plat, aa plat, marriott plat
You've ignored the basic problem of using uber in other countries - unless you speak/write the local language all your other issues (except where to find the car - which is usually specified in the app) are irrelevant. You can't communicate with a driver even with a phone number if they speak Greek and you speak English!

If you haven't used uber before I strongly suggest you use it in your home country before using it outside that country.
Old Oct 26, 19, 10:38 pm
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend

Programs: UA US CO AA DL FL