Third Party Liability for Non-US resident

Old Jan 14, 19, 3:30 am
Original Poster

Third Party Liability for Non-US resident

Hi there

I know there has been a lot of discussion on similar topics but after reviewing quite a few threads I still haven't found an answer for my specific situation - hoping those here can help!

A very similar thread in this forum "PLI for non-US residents"

I am looking to rent a car in USA but need to purchase liability insurance from a third party since our car rental provider does not provide this option.

insurance4carhire.com appears to meet this need however this is only available to UK/EU residents and I am an Australian resident.

Does anyone have experience with obtaining third party liability insurance for car rental in USA that can be purchased by an Australian resident? Note I'm looking for a separate insurance policy rather than the add-on insurance option which is typically available during rental process.

Thanks in advance for any help!
Old Jan 14, 19, 3:48 am
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend

Programs: A3*Gold, SPG Plat, HyattDiamond, MarriottPP, LHW exAccess, ICI, Raffles Amb, NW PE MM, TWA Gold MM
What is your car rental "provider"? Are you using a low cost car rental company or going through on OLTA? I would expect the major car rental companies to be willing to sell you whatever insurance is necessary, although perhaps not at a price you like.
Old Jan 14, 19, 4:12 am
Original Poster

Originally Posted by MSPeconomist View Post
What is your car rental "provider"? Are you using a low cost car rental company or going through on OLTA? I would expect the major car rental companies to be willing to sell you whatever insurance is necessary, although perhaps not at a price you like.