Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Car Rental Programs and Ride Services > Rental Car Discussion
Reload this Page >

reservation made thru Rentalcars.com refused by Budget!

reservation made thru Rentalcars.com refused by Budget!

Old Nov 27, 18, 12:07 pm
Original Poster

Programs: AA, DL, UA, US
Angry reservation made thru Rentalcars.com refused by Budget!

I'm a US resident with a US driver's licence. I booked a rental car online while in Europe using Rentalcars.com for pickup in Miami. When I tried to pick up the car at Budget in Miami, the agent refused to honor the booking because I didn't have a european drivers license? It was late, I was tired and just put up with it and rented a at the desk. BTW, My profile on Rentalcars.com shows I have a US driver's license.The next day I asked rentalcars.com for a refund which I got. Needless to say the counter reservation was more expensive. If I hadn't been so tired and the flight so late what should I have done? Is this a normal occurrence?
Old Nov 27, 18, 12:22 pm
Company Representative - Autoslash

This, unfortunately, is one of the reasons why the rental industry can be so annoying. For whatever reason, the rental companies have decided to segregate their rates by country of residency. Some booking sites will ask you for your country of residence (Hertz.com for example) and show the appropriate rates, while others (like Priceline for example) will geolocate your IP address and automatically just show you rates based on where you are at the time you shop/book. It's worth noting that rentalcars.com is owned by Priceline.