Dollar Rental in Florida: Toll Question

Old Jul 27, 17, 1:27 am
Original Poster

Programs: none
Dollar Rental in Florida: Toll Question

Originally Posted by SquarePeg View Post
We're going to be driving from FLL to the Keys then from the Keys to Orlando dropping off at MCO. I have limited driving experience in FL but I seem to recall lots of tolls around Orlando?

What are my options with a National rental? Should I pay the tolls in the cash lane or do I have to go with the $3.95/day plus tolls that I see on the website?

How does that work if I don't run into any tolls until day 7 of a 10 day rental? Am I charged for 3 days or 10? What if there is a toll on day 1 and not another for the entire rental?

Any way to use my MA EZ PASS account?

Any way to avoid toll roads and still make decent time from Key Largo to Orlando on a Thursday late morning?

Thanks for your advice.
Old Jul 27, 17, 1:34 am
Original Poster

Hi. Just back from Orlando. Rental car was through Dollar. Never signed up for Electronic Tolls as never crossed any. However, we did go through several small cash tolls, not least on the way to and from airport. We paid cash at the manned booth and got change. All good so far. On second day though, we hit a cash toll on the way to Kennedy Space Centre. This was an exact change toll and was NOT manned. We did not have change, only notes. We had to drive through. Dollar have not been very helpful so far. I completed an online form explaining the details (after I got home), and I am happy for them to take the $2 off my credit card. I am also ok with a $15 admin fee I heard about. For that type of toll and the circumanstances, 1) what is the worst that can happen 2) What can Dollar do about this? 3) Is there a contact method for Dollar to sort these things out? 4) Is there a time-delay in that if you wait too long to notify them they might slap a huge fine on you? 5) will Dollar just take the $2 + any small admin fee off credit card without asking me?
Thanks