Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums >
Reload this Page >

Miles&Points

Airlines and Mileage Programs

Qatar Airways | Privilege Club

Bad Planes to BKK

Bad Planes to BKK

Old Feb 4, 22, 2:00 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Seattle
Programs: AS MVP100K, Hilton Diamond, IHG Kimpton Inner Circle Diamond
Posts: 3,120
Bad Planes to BKK

On the way there my flight to BKK is a 788 in a 1-2-1 configuration, then on the return BKK-DOH itís a A330 with a 2-2-2 configuration. Why are they operating old planes to BKK?
NWplatinum is offline  
Old Feb 4, 22, 3:16 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: South Africa
Programs: QR PC Platinum
Posts: 359
IMHO the 788 isn't bad by any measure.

I guess they are forced to use the older planes due to the A350's that they have grounded.
Thailand also only fully reopened to tourists under the test and go programme on 1 Feb with rather short notice so the schedule was probably based on demand pre opening.
My guess is that there are more plane swaps or increase in frequency on the cards as the flights are filling up fast.
kl1987 is offline  
Old Feb 4, 22, 5:12 pm
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Seattle
Programs: AS MVP100K, Hilton Diamond, IHG Kimpton Inner Circle Diamond
Posts: 3,120
Originally Posted by kl1987 View Post
IMHO the 788 isn't bad by any measure.

I guess they are forced to use the older planes due to the A350's that they have grounded.
Thailand also only fully reopened to tourists under the test and go programme on 1 Feb with rather short notice so the schedule was probably based on demand pre opening.
My guess is that there are more plane swaps or increase in frequency on the cards as the flights are filling up fast.
True the 787 isnít bad, but compared to the Qsuite itís not great. So now that Thailand has opened again, do you think the flights will become Qsuite? With the world still shut down two years into this, I have to imagine they have spare Qsuite planes?
NWplatinum is offline  
Old Feb 4, 22, 6:14 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Boston, MA
Programs: EK Gold, A3 *G, AB Gold, Jetblue Mosaic
Posts: 1,278
Originally Posted by NWplatinum View Post
True the 787 isnít bad, but compared to the Qsuite itís not great. So now that Thailand has opened again, do you think the flights will become Qsuite? With the world still shut down two years into this, I have to imagine they have spare Qsuite planes?
Seems harsh- the 787 seat is the same as the best product on many other airlines in J. There are actually fewer q suite planes with the A350 groundings thus the A330 are flying again. For most of the pandemic, the A330s were not flying but they are short on planes now. I dont think they are going to make a concerted effort to use qsuite aircraft on this route- mostly leisure traffic but Im sure there will be some here and there with the 777 most likely
nancypants and DiamondMile like this.
kq747 is offline  
Old Feb 4, 22, 10:46 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 615
Originally Posted by NWplatinum View Post
With the world still shut down two years into this, I have to imagine they have spare Qsuite planes?
Not sure what world you live in. Having flown 40+ QSuites legs in the past 12 months, the overwhelming majority were fully or nearly fully booked up. They currently have a significant QSuites shortage due in part to the Airbus A350 paint defects, and then to the massive travel rebound that started last year. DOH is and has been for over a year a freaking mad house.

The only thing shut down is the brains of government bureaucrats.
LoungeLizardHugo is offline  
Old Feb 4, 22, 11:04 pm
  #6  
Hilton Contributor BadgeHyatt Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: In the air
Programs: Hyatt Globalist, Marriott Tit/ LT Plat, Hilton Diamond, GHA Tit, BA Gold
Posts: 7,562
I donít think that the BKK route was ever priority for the good planes. Immediately pre-pandemic I remember it being Q-Suites, but before that it was a mix of the A330s and A380s. If you were in J, at least your fellow drinkers at the bar on the way to BKK were guaranteed to be entertaining.
EuropeanPete is online now  
Old Feb 5, 22, 1:21 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: JFK, LGA
Programs: AA PLT
Posts: 166
Flew QR BKK-DOH back in Ď19 and the off peak flights were on the A330 as well - albeit with several daily Q suite options, just priced higher.
perkerkeem is offline  
Old Feb 5, 22, 1:48 am
  #8  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Seattle
Programs: AS MVP100K, Hilton Diamond, IHG Kimpton Inner Circle Diamond
Posts: 3,120
Originally Posted by LoungeLizardHugo View Post
Not sure what world you live in. Having flown 40+ QSuites legs in the past 12 months, the overwhelming majority were fully or nearly fully booked up.

The only thing shut down is the brains of government bureaucrats.
Exactly the world I am living in, thatís the problem. I use to fly international every month, sometimes twice a month. Now Iím lucky if I can squeeze in one or two international flights a year that require more homework, and passes than a grade school field trip.
Clark Casual likes this.
NWplatinum is offline  
Old Feb 5, 22, 2:14 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: LON
Programs: BAEC
Posts: 2,896
Originally Posted by perkerkeem View Post
Flew QR BKK-DOH back in Ď19 and the off peak flights were on the A330 as well - albeit with several daily Q suite options, just priced higher.
Fully agree with this, I can remember the lottery of frame swaps on the BKK route personally, even before the advent of the QSuite and the customer service gesture to swap you to a different flight if you got swapped away from QSuites.

Qatar put their less premium frames on this route because the passengers will put up with it slightly better than other routes such as SIN, KUL, etc. Also QR are not alone in this practice on flights to BKK, BA and AF are two examples who have form for doing exactly the same thing, I am sure there are others...
nancypants likes this.
plunet is offline  
Old Feb 5, 22, 5:02 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Programs: QR Plat
Posts: 2,291
There is multiple things that have played a factor over the years on what gets to do the DOH-BKK routes. For some time this route was a regular stomping ground for the A380 and supplements of dial-a-plane swaps for the departures not joining up with the big transfer waves in Doha.
Once the Rumble With Riyad hit then DOH-BKK got quickly swapped over to as muhc 777 as they could, with the odd A330, as this gave a shift to more available payload to carry goods needed in Doha. The 2-2-2 on a 777 can hardly be called a bad product, in my eyes.
Once we got to covid this route went back to dial-a-plane, with little consistency.
But as many threads in here have lamented, the one thing QR does better than their onboard service in-flight, it is how to swap planes on routes on short notice. Until the world becomes more predictable I think DOH-BKK will continue to see a mix of types and be ready to see swaps on short notice.

-A
ph-ndr is offline  
Old Feb 5, 22, 9:45 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Programs: BAEC Gold
Posts: 1,286
Originally Posted by NWplatinum View Post
On the way there my flight to BKK is a 788 in a 1-2-1 configuration, then on the return BKK-DOH itís a A330 with a 2-2-2 configuration. Why are they operating old planes to BKK?
Things could be worse.

You could be on an Emirates 777, with 2-3-2 seating in J, and angle flat seats.
florin, haroon145, maerim and 8 others like this.
Agent69 is offline  
Old Feb 6, 22, 2:52 pm
  #12  
formerly JackDann
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,071
I had an A330 on my late evening flight back from HKT - Hated it, to a point that iíd avoid booking QR again on the route until they get some better aircraft operating it.
JD1905 is offline  
Old Feb 6, 22, 2:58 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Programs: Hyatt Glob; M Titan; Hil Dia; IHG P, AMB;
Posts: 79
Anyone remember those QR mistaken fare $500ish from SGN to JFK RT in 2017 with free hotel layover in Doha? I flew once with A330. It was not that bad with $500 biz and it was not even half empty.
FlytheTail and CharlotteC like this.
kingscross is offline  
Old Feb 6, 22, 3:13 pm
  #14  
formerly JackDann
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,071
Originally Posted by kingscross View Post
Anyone remember those QR mistaken fare $500ish from SGN to JFK RT in 2017 with free hotel layover in Doha? I flew once with A330. It was not that bad with $500 biz and it was not even half empty.
Itís certainly good value at $500 - But currently itís about £3,000 return from Dublin for the dates iím looking at. For an extra £1,000 I can fly First on Emirates, thatíll probably be my choice.

A shame, because I loved flying Qatar for the first time recently, but there are better hard products available on my route to Thailand.
JD1905 is offline  
Old Feb 6, 22, 4:01 pm
  #15  
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: BRS
Programs: BA Gold, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 3,883
Originally Posted by JackDann View Post
Itís certainly good value at $500 - But currently itís about £3,000 return from Dublin for the dates iím looking at. For an extra £1,000 I can fly First on Emirates, thatíll probably be my choice.

A shame, because I loved flying Qatar for the first time recently, but there are better hard products available on my route to Thailand.
£3k for DUB-HKT return on Qatar? Need to hop over to AMS, CDG, BRU or OSL etc for a fare at least half that!
Schwann is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread