Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Qatar Airways | Privilege Club
Reload this Page >

World’s best business class but worst ground WiFi experience

World’s best business class but worst ground WiFi experience

Old Oct 17, 19, 9:35 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Programs: Swiss Senator, Flying Blue Gold, BA EC Gold, Hyatt Globalist
Posts: 322
World’s best business class but worst ground WiFi experience

At Al Mourjan right now.

Sorry for a quick rant on a topic that even I have discussed elsewhere already.

But I really don’t get it how on one hand you can build the world’s best J class and at the same time offer a WiFi experience in your premium J lounge that currently has the speed of a 1998 dial up connection????

Id happily even pay for a decent connection to get some Netflix downloaded.
NoY and GalaxyChris like this.
Mozart0815 is offline  
Old Oct 17, 19, 9:53 pm
  #2  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Programs: Swiss Senator, Flying Blue Gold, BA EC Gold, Hyatt Globalist
Posts: 322
Just ran a speed-test. One even crashed. The other one gave a speed of 500-600kbps. Welcome to 2002!
Mozart0815 is offline  
Old Oct 17, 19, 10:05 pm
  #3  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: BOS/UTH
Programs: AA EXP, LT PLT; QR PLT; Bonvoy LT TIT
Posts: 12,600
Originally Posted by Chris0815 View Post
Just ran a speed-test. One even crashed. The other one gave a speed of 500-600kbps. Welcome to 2002!
Where were you? I use it often in the Business Center and haven't noticed a speed problem.
Dr. HFH is offline  
Old Oct 17, 19, 10:36 pm
  #4  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Programs: Swiss Senator, Flying Blue Gold, BA EC Gold, Hyatt Globalist
Posts: 322
Originally Posted by Dr. HFH View Post
Where were you? I use it often in the Business Center and haven't noticed a speed problem.
Was sitting in the central area that’s slightly elevated. Now having breakfast at the restaurant. Same mess.

Even if the business center situation is better, I find it a bit ridiculous having to be in a certain spot in a so called premium lounge to get something as essential as half decent WiFi.
GalaxyChris likes this.
Mozart0815 is offline  
Old Oct 17, 19, 10:59 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Programs: QR Plat
Posts: 2,160
Originally Posted by Chris0815 View Post
Was sitting in the central area that’s slightly elevated. Now having breakfast at the restaurant. Same mess.

Even if the business center situation is better, I find it a bit ridiculous having to be in a certain spot in a so called premium lounge to get something as essential as half decent WiFi.
Search up some of my older posts on this topic. I work as a ntework engineer and have written extensively on this. Short answer is: offpeak, if you are at the right spot in the airport then it's OK. Anything else and it's crap. Longer answer on why this is so can be found in my previous posts.

-A
NoY and mpkz like this.
ph-ndr is offline  
Old Oct 17, 19, 11:01 pm
  #6  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Programs: Swiss Senator, Flying Blue Gold, BA EC Gold, Hyatt Globalist
Posts: 322
Originally Posted by ph-ndr View Post
Search up some of my older posts on this topic. I work as a ntework engineer and have written extensively on this. Short answer is: offpeak, if you are at the right spot in the airport then it's OK. Anything else and it's crap. Longer answer on why this is so can be found in my previous posts.

-A
Thanks will have a look.

The thing is just every other airport in the world manages better...
NoY likes this.
Mozart0815 is offline  
Old Oct 17, 19, 11:02 pm
  #7  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Programs: Swiss Senator, Flying Blue Gold, BA EC Gold, Hyatt Globalist
Posts: 322
Originally Posted by Dr. HFH View Post
Where were you? I use it often in the Business Center and haven't noticed a speed problem.
The Business Center is indeed better. 1.5 Mbps. Still not lightning speed but at least usable. Thanks for the hint!
Dr. HFH likes this.
Mozart0815 is offline  
Old Oct 18, 19, 12:17 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: UK
Programs: LH Sen; HH lifetime diamond; flying blue silver
Posts: 225
Originally Posted by Chris0815 View Post
Thanks will have a look.

The thing is just every other airport in the world manages better...
It is even worse than PEK?
Truffles is offline  
Old Oct 18, 19, 1:19 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 309
Originally Posted by Chris0815 View Post
Thanks will have a look.

The thing is just every other airport in the world manages better...
Clearly you haven't been to a Turkish airport
Mozart0815 likes this.
Aston100 is offline  
Old Oct 18, 19, 2:10 am
  #10  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: London
Programs: Hilton, IHG - BA, LH, QR, TK
Posts: 13,901
Originally Posted by Aston100 View Post
Clearly you haven't been to a Turkish airport
Even Manchester can be interesting ...
Mozart0815 likes this.
IAN-UK is offline  
Old Oct 18, 19, 3:21 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 81
Originally Posted by Truffles View Post
It is even worse than PEK?
I don't work as a network engineer but this is totally different. Air China lounge has a pretty solid wifi.

Censored websites, yes, but nothing related to speed as the op complains in this thread.
bonboncl is offline  
Old Oct 18, 19, 4:06 am
  #12  
NoY
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Phuket & London
Programs: BA Emerald, EY Gold, Hilton Diamond, Marriott Plat, IHG Spire Ambassador, QR & TAP bye bye
Posts: 4,764
WiFi in QR DOH lounge is pants. Simple as that. And the staff know it but tell me that "management" (LOL) will do nothing (and have no intention) to improve it. Pathetic really.
Alfredbali and Mozart0815 like this.
NoY is offline  
Old Oct 18, 19, 4:38 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: London & Sonoma CA
Programs: UA 1K(until 2022), MM *G for life, Hertz PC, BAEC Silver
Posts: 9,028
Simple solution: choose a competitor instead.
NoY likes this.
lhrsfo is offline  
Old Oct 18, 19, 4:40 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 309
Originally Posted by lhrsfo View Post
Simple solution: choose a competitor instead.
Purely on the basis of WiFi quality in the lounge?
Aston100 is offline  
Old Oct 18, 19, 5:39 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Programs: QR Plat
Posts: 2,160
Originally Posted by Aston100 View Post
Purely on the basis of WiFi quality in the lounge?
For me it is actually a big part of it; when spending 3-6 hours and not going to a hotel it makes a huge difference if I can get work done or just have to hang around. It's not only the lounge,it's the wifi in the whole airport. Feel free to go look for my posts for details, but basically once you get the airport half way to peak hour then the network stops working for large parts of the airport. These days that is just not acceptable. Add in the poor connectivity on the 787 and the first round ofA350ies and you are looking at basically being offline for up to 20-24 hours depending on your travels, and for some of us that is actually not workable.

-A
NoY and GalaxyChris like this.
ph-ndr is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: