Qatar now offers a free 96 hour visa!

Old Sep 27, 16, 2:30 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 126
Smile Qatar now offers a free 96 hour visa!

Fantastic news - http://www.qatarairways.com/uk/en/pr...se_tourismvisa

Basically, no more QNB cards/fees/lines - 96 hours max works perfectly between flights if you have friends living in Doha and you can visit in the day.

A wonderful move forward for Qatar, and I'll be using it rather than staying in the airport.
delfindo is offline  
Old Sep 27, 16, 2:38 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Somerset/Dorset/Wiltshire borders, England [home].
Programs: BAEC Gold [>20k Lifetime TPs] | Hilton Honors Lifetime Diamond [as is Mrs PtF] | Various Others
Posts: 6,154
Well I feel a bit of a wally! I wasn't even aware of the old visa scheme until I read the weblink just now. I've probably wasted a good few hundred QAR in visa fees over the past two years while overnighting in Doha hotels.
Phil the Flyer is offline  
Old Sep 27, 16, 4:05 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: LON
Programs: BA Gold, LH SEN , A3*G & others less exciting that don't fit in my wallet
Posts: 1,091
Me too ... How does one avail of this ? ( will it be up and running in 10 days time ?)

Any time previously I've just handed over the credit card with the passport at the immigration desk and paid the fee - There didn't seem to be any other option before ( not well advertised at least )
EvilDoctorK is offline  
Old Sep 27, 16, 5:22 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: London
Programs: Many. Too many. I came here to cut them down. I failed.
Posts: 2,793
Ah
a minimum transit time of five hours in Hamad International Airport,
Ah. I was hopeful that my 2-4 hour transits would allow me to stand outside the airport and suck in some fresh air. I do genuinely dislike being in an airport that is 100% restricted air conditioning. A little stroll outside departures / arrival inbetween flights is a wonderful thing if they don't have outdoor areas in transit
Sam Bee is offline  
Old Sep 27, 16, 5:36 am
  #5  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Netherlands
Programs: Platinum: KL Gold: A3 Silver: AZ, BA
Posts: 24,906
Originally Posted by Sam Bee View Post
I do genuinely dislike being in an airport that is 100% restricted air conditioning(
Didn't you know? Fresh air can get in!

Leaking roof causes floods at Doha's $15bn Hamad International Airport
irishguy28 is online now  
Old Sep 27, 16, 7:23 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Global!
Programs: QRPC Gold
Posts: 231
to stand outside the airport and suck in some fresh air
Fresh air...in Doha...in the summer!! you'll be back inside in a nice air conditioned lounge within 1 minute...!
theox is offline  
Old Sep 27, 16, 8:07 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bellevue, WA - AA EXP 3MM
Posts: 2,643
For those who like to run, I highly recommend jogging on the bicycle path outside DOH airport. Details and instructions at http://www.benedelman.org/travel/running/ . Perfect to build up an appetite for the next flight!
bedelman is offline  
Old Sep 28, 16, 1:44 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,567
Let's hope that they will increase the frequency of buses into town...
tboons is offline  
Old Sep 28, 16, 3:05 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: OSL
Posts: 2,177
From checking their visitqatar website, it appears as if the 48 hours free visa (now 96) is only valid in connection with a stop-over package?
dodgeflyer is offline  
Old Sep 28, 16, 5:43 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: LON
Programs: BA Gold, LH SEN , A3*G & others less exciting that don't fit in my wallet
Posts: 1,091
Yes and looking at the Qatar Airways site with the link to the Visa info from the TIMATIC(?) system there's no mention of this change yet ... only mentions the old transit visa which was only valid in conjunction with a STPC package sponsored by the carrier [ which just going into Doha into a hotel you'd arranged yourself clearly wouldn't be ]

I'm there in 10 days time so will report back on what my experience is .. in the meantime if anyone has any other ideas as to how this might actually work and if it would be possible to save the visa fee then that would be great !
EvilDoctorK is offline  
Old Sep 28, 16, 6:44 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Programs: BA Gold, several other less interesting cards...
Posts: 3,485
I guess this could be down to the recent BA/QR tie-up. It would be convenient if QR allowed longer stopovers in DOH.
srbrenna is offline  
Old Sep 28, 16, 9:47 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Leicestershire, UK
Programs: BA Bronze, Marriott Bonvoy Titanium Elite, Heathrow Rewards Premium, Tesco Clubcard, M&S Sparks
Posts: 425
Would be good to know exactly how this works.

I have an 8 hour transit from DXB>DOH en route to BHX.

As it'd be a transit visa, I assume one would need to follow the exit signs and go through passport control/customs etc and the leave the hold luggage behind since? (Seems a bit weird doing so as I've never exited an airport without my bags before!).
Paren is offline  
Old Sep 28, 16, 2:54 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London
Posts: 9
Originally Posted by Paren View Post
Would be good to know exactly how this works.

I have an 8 hour transit from DXB>DOH en route to BHX.

As it'd be a transit visa, I assume one would need to follow the exit signs and go through passport control/customs etc and the leave the hold luggage behind since? (Seems a bit weird doing so as I've never exited an airport without my bags before!).
That's exactly how it works. We transited Doha a few years back with an eight hour stopover on the way back from Singapore. My brother-in-law lives in Doha so we had brunch and went back to the airport. No hassle whatsoever.
FlyingWella is offline  
Old Sep 29, 16, 6:28 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: LON
Programs: BA Gold, LH SEN , A3*G & others less exciting that don't fit in my wallet
Posts: 1,091
Originally Posted by Paren View Post
Would be good to know exactly how this works.

I have an 8 hour transit from DXB>DOH en route to BHX.

As it'd be a transit visa, I assume one would need to follow the exit signs and go through passport control/customs etc and the leave the hold luggage behind since? (Seems a bit weird doing so as I've never exited an airport without my bags before!).
Yes this is what you normally do ... and then at immigration you hand over your credit card along with your passport and you pay about 20 for your visa ... I have no idea how you would get the free ( previously 48 hour, now 96 hour visa) ... maybe you just have to ask ! .. wasn't very obvious before anyway.. there didn't seem to be any real choice other than to pay up.
EvilDoctorK is offline  
Old Sep 29, 16, 8:40 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3,942
This was discussed on a thread in 2010/2011 and as far as I remember the conclusion was that it was only available for QR arranged stopover packages, not STPC. This new move seems to be more flexible and apparently opens up for 'private' stopovers.
remdk is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: