Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Qatar Airways | Privilege Club
Reload this Page >

[NEWBIE LOUNGE] Ask your questions here. Flame free

[NEWBIE LOUNGE] Ask your questions here. Flame free

Old May 22, 19, 2:54 pm
  #3826  
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: BRS
Programs: BA Gold, Hilton Gold
Posts: 1,774
Originally Posted by Richekf View Post
I have a 13 hour layover during the day in Doha - because my travel arranger screwed up I am not eligible for the free hotel room - anyway I know I can access Al Safwa Lounge but I want to know if I can buy back to back passes so I canít stay the whole time - not just the six hours. Can I buy two in a row?
Have you thought about booking a hotel room via Qatar+ instead? Will be very inexpensive.

https://www.discoverqatar.qa/stopove...gn=DQ_stopover
Schwann is offline  
Old May 22, 19, 2:57 pm
  #3827  
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Istanbul, Turkey
Programs: TK M&S Elite Plus, QRPC Platinum, BAEC Silver, PC Bolbol, All Silv, HH Blue, Bonvoy, BW Rewards
Posts: 6,342
Originally Posted by Schwann View Post
Have you thought about booking a hotel room via Qatar+ instead? Will be very inexpensive.

https://www.discoverqatar.qa/stopove...gn=DQ_stopover
If I'm not wrong, to benefit from the Qatar+ stopover service, the passenger must book a multi-city ticket which has a sector ending and originating in Doha. So, it won't work for the OP's case.
ISTFlyer is online now  
Old May 22, 19, 6:56 pm
  #3828  
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3,943
ISTFlyer if you look at stopover-terms-conditions you will see:-
" 4. The Stopover offer is only valid for Qatar Airways confirmed ticket holders with a minimum transit time of 12 hours in Doha.
5. The Stopover offer is only valid for Qatar Airways E-ticket numbers starting with "157" and this is required to be entered at the payment page.
8. The Stopover offer is NOT applicable for codeshare flights (outbound and/or inbound). Rack rate will be charged by the hotel directly from customers checking in based on Doha being the first or final destination.
9. The Stopover offer is NOT valid for passengers where Doha is their first departure point or final destination. Rack rate will be charged by the hotel directly from customers checking in based on Doha being the first or final destination. "
Thus a Multicity reservation is no longer required nor has that rule ever been fully implemented. I think that the Multicity in this offer actually means a PNR that is at least for origin-DOH- destination. I.e. Transitting DOH.

Richekf
it is impossible to see from your post if you qualify or not. Look at the extract of TandC's above to see if you qualify. You may like to look at qatar-doha-hotel-stopovers-no-longer-free. for ideas and suggestions.
remdk is offline  
Old May 22, 19, 7:21 pm
  #3829  
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Istanbul, Turkey
Programs: TK M&S Elite Plus, QRPC Platinum, BAEC Silver, PC Bolbol, All Silv, HH Blue, Bonvoy, BW Rewards
Posts: 6,342
Originally Posted by remdk View Post
ISTFlyer if you look at stopover-terms-conditions you will see:-
" 4. The Stopover offer is only valid for Qatar Airways confirmed ticket holders with a minimum transit time of 12 hours in Doha.
5. The Stopover offer is only valid for Qatar Airways E-ticket numbers starting with "157" and this is required to be entered at the payment page.
8. The Stopover offer is NOT applicable for codeshare flights (outbound and/or inbound). Rack rate will be charged by the hotel directly from customers checking in based on Doha being the first or final destination.
9. The Stopover offer is NOT valid for passengers where Doha is their first departure point or final destination. Rack rate will be charged by the hotel directly from customers checking in based on Doha being the first or final destination. "
Thus a Multicity reservation is no longer required nor has that rule ever been fully implemented. I think that the Multicity in this offer actually means a PNR that is at least for origin-DOH- destination. I.e. Transitting DOH.

Richekf it is impossible to see from your post if you qualify or not. Look at the extract of TandC's above to see if you qualify. You may like to look at qatar-doha-hotel-stopovers-no-longer-free. for ideas and suggestions.
Read post #3 in the Doha Hotel Stopovers no longer free thread.
Also check, https://www.qatarairways.com/en/offe...-stopover.html

All it takes is three steps:


1. Search for your preferred flight at qatarairways.com
Use the "multi-city" search option and manually add a stop in Doha during your departure or return flight.*

Example multi-city search:
Flight 1: London to Doha
Flight 2: Doha to Phuket
Flight 3: Phuket to London

2. Select flights with a minimum transit time of 12 hours in Doha

3. Once you have completed your booking at qatarairways.com, you will see the available stopover offers on the booking confirmation page and email.

*Terms and conditions apply.
ISTFlyer is online now  
Old May 23, 19, 4:05 am
  #3830  
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: BRS
Programs: BA Gold, Hilton Gold
Posts: 1,774
I've booked a ticket before with a 13 hour layover which wasn't "searched for" as a multi-city and booked a hotel the new paid programme... no problems encountered.
Schwann is offline  
Old May 23, 19, 7:16 am
  #3831  
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Istanbul, Turkey
Programs: TK M&S Elite Plus, QRPC Platinum, BAEC Silver, PC Bolbol, All Silv, HH Blue, Bonvoy, BW Rewards
Posts: 6,342
Originally Posted by Schwann View Post
I've booked a ticket before with a 13 hour layover which wasn't "searched for" as a multi-city and booked a hotel the new paid programme... no problems encountered.
Thanks for reporting back, I hope you would enjoy Qatar.
ISTFlyer is online now  
Old May 24, 19, 5:12 am
  #3832  
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Programs: BAEC Gold
Posts: 932
I have a flight in J from OSL - DOH at the begining of June (about 4pm departure).

Is there any way of finding out what the menu options are (I have preselected meals for the onbound leg to SIN, but cannot see any information about the OSL leg)
Agent69 is offline  
Old May 24, 19, 9:39 am
  #3833  
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Programs: KLM Flying Blue, Singapore Airlines Kris Flyer, British Airways Executive Club
Posts: 98
Originally Posted by Agent69 View Post
I have a flight in J from OSL - DOH at the begining of June (about 4pm departure).

Is there any way of finding out what the menu options are (I have preselected meals for the onbound leg to SIN, but cannot see any information about the OSL leg)
If I am not wrong, pre-select dining is only available for flights departing from DOH. That is probably the reason why you cannot see any info for the OSL to DOH segment.
chinhk is offline  
Old May 24, 19, 10:43 am
  #3834  
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Programs: BAEC Gold
Posts: 932
Originally Posted by chinhk View Post
If I am not wrong, pre-select dining is only available for flights departing from DOH. That is probably the reason why you cannot see any info for the OSL to DOH segment.
Do you know if there is any way of seeing on line what the menu might be? (I couldn't find a 2019 QR J meals thread anywhere)
Agent69 is offline  
Old May 24, 19, 10:52 am
  #3835  
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Istanbul, Turkey
Programs: TK M&S Elite Plus, QRPC Platinum, BAEC Silver, PC Bolbol, All Silv, HH Blue, Bonvoy, BW Rewards
Posts: 6,342
Originally Posted by Agent69 View Post
Do you know if there is any way of seeing on line what the menu might be? (I couldn't find a 2019 QR J meals thread anywhere)
The thread you are looking for is here;

QR J Menus 2019
ISTFlyer is online now  
Old May 24, 19, 12:56 pm
  #3836  
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Programs: BAEC Gold
Posts: 932
Originally Posted by ISTFlyer View Post
The thread you are looking for is here;

QR J Menus 2019
Thanks for the link. Post 35 has a February menu from my flight. I wonder how often the options are rotated.
Agent69 is offline  
Old May 26, 19, 1:01 am
  #3837  
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 6
Based on what I've read, it is obvious that QR has blocked all J award space JFK-DOH around the 2nd half of Q4 this year, so I resigned myself to Y and booked JFK-DOH-MLE on 12/1 (QR704/674 via AA). Of course, I'm hoping J availability opens up so I can upgrade. ExpertFlyer shows the majority of the business cabin as unoccupied. Do any of you have any thoughts on the likelihood J award space will eventually be released?
redbluefire is offline  
Old May 27, 19, 8:01 pm
  #3838  
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Shenzhen
Programs: Marriott Bonvoy Titanium, Cathay Pacific Gold
Posts: 1,127
I'm looking for a OneWorld airline to travel HKG-LHR-HKG in business. Qatar is the cheapest. I can claim back the cost of an economy flight from my company with an economy receipt and the matching boarding passes (which can be economy or business as long as the flight details match the receipt). To do this most cost effectively, I can make the Economy reservation, cancel it, get the refund, and make a new reservation in business.

Qatar has Economy Value fares with a cancellation fee and Economy Flexi fares without a cancellation fee. For my dates, the web site is only offering Economy Value fares on the outward flight. I don't understand this but that's what it's showing me.

(a) Is there a trick to forcing the web site to offer Economy Flexi on both legs so I can cancel the reservation for a full refund?
(b) If I have Economy Flexi on both legs then can I upgrade the reservation online without cancelling and pay the difference?

Or am I missing something?

My alternative is to fly direct with BA that offers 24 hour cancellation of any reservation but I end up paying more. Thanks for any advice.
ftrichard is offline  
Old Jun 3, 19, 7:00 pm
  #3839  
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: BRS
Programs: BA Gold, Hilton Gold
Posts: 1,774
Is there a definitive time switchover for breakfast and lunch flights? Booked a 0905 flight from GOT and hoping it's really not a breakfast flight.
Schwann is offline  
Old Jun 3, 19, 11:32 pm
  #3840  
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Programs: QR Plat
Posts: 75
Originally Posted by ftrichard View Post
(a) Is there a trick to forcing the web site to offer Economy Flexi on both legs so I can cancel the reservation for a full refund?

Or am I missing something?
Most likely a problem with the QR website. There are economy flexi tickets being sold (there is tickets in booking classes Y and B when checking on expertflyer).

Try calling QR to book a ticket. If it works for your reimbursement, another options is to book Guangzhou (CAN) to LHR flexi tickets on the QR website.
ftrichard likes this.
JC880 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: