Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Qantas | Frequent Flyer
Reload this Page >

What would make the seat map unavailable?

What would make the seat map unavailable?

Old Aug 24, 19, 2:00 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 56
What would make the seat map unavailable?

Looking at the F seat map for QF1 (SYD-LHR) on 29 Aug ... ExpertFlyer returns the error: “The seat map is not available for the selected cabin for this flight.”

qf1 Syd-lhr is showing f0 a0. Seat map for other classes shows fine. F seat map for Syd-sin also shows fine.

just curious if anyone has an idea of what is behind it
bigjono is offline  
Old Aug 25, 19, 1:29 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: HK
Programs: QF Emerald. CX Nobody
Posts: 2,849
all pre-allocatable seats are allocated. try again closer to departure
fakecd is offline  
Old Aug 25, 19, 4:22 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: NT Australia
Programs: QF WP
Posts: 3,376
First refurbished A380 is on its way back from Abu Dhabi as we speak- could this be a good early indication of a route assignment?
nancypants is offline  
Old Aug 25, 19, 5:23 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Australia
Programs: QF
Posts: 932
Why would it be?
eminere is offline  
Old Aug 25, 19, 5:27 am
  #5  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 56
While that would be lovely ... the J seat map shows fine and is still 2-2-2
nancypants likes this.
bigjono is offline  
Old Aug 25, 19, 5:36 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: NT Australia
Programs: QF WP
Posts: 3,376
Originally Posted by bigjono View Post
While that would be lovely ... the J seat map shows fine and is still 2-2-2
hmm true and I suppose the footprint of F isn’t changing with the refit

i had a play around and the seatmap is available for 28/8 and 30/8 F, for QF1 SYD-SIN on 29/8 but not for QF1 SYD-LHR or SIN-LHR on the same date, so whatever it is presumably the issue is the SIN-LHR segment

anyone think of any events or similar that may account for the whole cabin just not being sold for that specific segment?
nancypants is offline  
Old Aug 25, 19, 7:32 pm
  #7  
Original Member
 
Join Date: May 1998
Location: Portland OR Double Emerald (QF and AA), DL PM/MM, Starwood Plat
Posts: 19,540
Originally Posted by nancypants View Post
...anyone think of any events or similar that may account for the whole cabin just not being sold for that specific segment?
Don't know if QF ever does it but I have run into F cabin being closed on other airlines for 1 sector due to shortage of cabin staff at that duty station. I once had involuntary downgrade due to this, but they let me sit in the otherwise empty F cabin but with J service (and got the refund for fare difference).
nancypants likes this.
number_6 is offline  
Old Aug 26, 19, 12:53 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: mostly MEL
Programs: QF WP LTS, HHonors Diamond, VA NP
Posts: 1,616
Tried calling QF to understand why you can't select your seat?

Regards,

BD
BD1959 is offline  
Old Aug 26, 19, 8:36 pm
  #9  
IHG Contributor BadgeMarriott Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: BNE
Programs: QF WP, VS Gold, IHG RA, A Club Plat.
Posts: 2,165
Originally Posted by nancypants View Post
First refurbished A380 is on its way back from Abu Dhabi as we speak- could this be a good early indication of a route assignment?
No, first refurbished aircraft wont be here for another 4 weeks.
markis10 is offline  
Old Aug 26, 19, 9:50 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: NT Australia
Programs: QF WP
Posts: 3,376
Originally Posted by markis10 View Post
No, first refurbished aircraft wont be here for another 4 weeks.
my sources are dodgy! It’s ok, the person responsible has been fired 😉
nancypants is offline  
Old Aug 27, 19, 7:06 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Programs: QF
Posts: 40
Originally Posted by fakecd View Post
all pre-allocatable seats are allocated. try again closer to departure
This is likely to be the reason.
mannej is offline  
Old Aug 27, 19, 5:31 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: NT Australia
Programs: QF WP
Posts: 3,376
But it’s the expertflyer map that is unavailable not the qantas commercial seat selection map
nancypants is offline  
Old Aug 27, 19, 7:02 pm
  #13  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 41,482
In the end , does it really matter ; if the OP is actually travelling on the flight tomorrow, the OP will be likely to be able to select seats today by checking in

I don't see that there is anything much more than speculation on why it may be unavailable to Sabre , which is iirc, where EF collects data

For EF issues, there is a thread in the appropriate forum that the EF staff monitor for Expert Flyer issues and where EF related issues would be best served; this is not the appropriate forum for expert flyer issues
nancypants likes this.
Dave Noble is offline  
Old Aug 27, 19, 10:17 pm
  #14  
Moderator: Asiana & Qantas Frequent Flyer
Aman Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: STR/SYD/SMF
Programs: QF SG, LH SEN, OZ D+, HH D, SPG P
Posts: 14,097
I have posted a note in the EF thread linking back to this one. Thanks to Dave Noble for the hint.
nancypants likes this.
DownUnderFlyer is online now  
Old Aug 27, 19, 11:11 pm
  #15  
Company Representative - ExpertFlyer.com
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,533
The exact error from QF thru the reservation system is "SEATMAP NOT AVAIL FOR ZONE, SEAT RQST AVAIL" which likely is returned because QF is not allowing any external party to make seating assignments, so they won't return a seat map.
nancypants likes this.
ExpertFlyer Voice is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: