Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Qantas | Frequent Flyer
Reload this Page >

Multi city Business Class bookings reverting to Economy

Multi city Business Class bookings reverting to Economy

Old May 18, 19, 6:44 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 91
Multi city Business Class bookings reverting to Economy

Having a problem with QANTAS's web page.
Whenever I try to book fares using the Multi-booking page, no matter what Business Class fare I search for the results are returned for Economy. Same thing happens no matter what browser I am using.
Any thoughts on where the problem is?
Thekman is offline  
Old May 18, 19, 6:55 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: NT Australia
Programs: QF WP
Posts: 3,444
Without knowing details of the itinerary, I just attempted a fairly simple multi city on safari/mobile website and was able to select whatever cabin I desired- one of the cabins initially returned economy but thatís because I purposely selected a route that has dash service to see if it threw the system out. However I was able to select an alternative (717) flight which did then book into business

so in summary. Not sure, could be a route/point of sale issue. Website appears to be working OK on at least one browser
nancypants is offline  
Old May 18, 19, 7:35 pm
  #3  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 41,592
I would suggest just phoning and booking. If you demonstrate that the website is not functioning at selling the ticket, the offline service fee will be waived
nancypants likes this.
Dave Noble is offline  
Old May 18, 19, 7:45 pm
  #4  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 91
Originally Posted by nancypants View Post
Without knowing details of the itinerary, I just attempted a fairly simple multi city on safari/mobile website and was able to select whatever cabin I desired- one of the cabins initially returned economy but thatís because I purposely selected a route that has dash service to see if it threw the system out. However I was able to select an alternative (717) flight which did then book into business

so in summary. Not sure, could be a route/point of sale issue. Website appears to be working OK on at least one browser
I'm not sure where the problem is but I just replicated the problem on my friends PC so there is definitely a problem somewhere. The planned itinerary was MEL-CGK 1/8 and HKG-MEL 15/8. Both business class, but search results revert to Economy. Can book these seats individually no problem, but more expensive that previous Multi city queries I have made. QANTAS Help is looking into the problem but are yet to get back to me.


Originally Posted by Dave Noble View Post
I would suggest just phoning and booking. If you demonstrate that the website is not functioning at selling the ticket, the offline service fee will be waived
I did not know that. Great advice. Thanks.
Thekman is offline  
Old May 18, 19, 8:07 pm
  #5  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 41,592
An interesting issue - at least it is only charging an economy fare when it prices it up - checking on ITA the fare is $3100 ish

Just tried on expedia.com.au and it seems to be successfully able to book the ticket at $3056 for MEL-SYD-CGK / HKG-MEL

Might be easy to just go online and purchase there
nancypants likes this.
Dave Noble is offline  
Old May 18, 19, 8:59 pm
  #6  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 91
Originally Posted by Dave Noble View Post
An interesting issue - at least it is only charging an economy fare when it prices it up - checking on ITA the fare is $3100 ish

Just tried on expedia.com.au and it seems to be successfully able to book the ticket at $3056 for MEL-SYD-CGK / HKG-MEL
I just got $2759 on Google Flights. Same price QANTAS provided when I reported the problem initially. Go figure??
nancypants likes this.
Thekman is offline  
Old May 18, 19, 8:59 pm
  #7  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 41,592
Originally Posted by Thekman View Post
I just got $2759 on Google Flights. Same price QANTAS provided when I reported the problem initially. Go figure??
If you have found the fare available, just book it
Dave Noble is offline  
Old May 18, 19, 9:11 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: NT Australia
Programs: QF WP
Posts: 3,444



Interesting. The inbound seems to be ok but the only way I am able to force the outbound into business is to pick up an Emirates codeshare connecting to JQ

looking closer the inbound *says* itís in economy but shows business lower down and a flat bed

maybe the BA intern is working for Qantas now?
nancypants is offline  
Old May 18, 19, 9:22 pm
  #9  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 91
Originally Posted by nancypants View Post



Interesting. The inbound seems to be ok but the only way I am able to force the outbound into business is to pick up an Emirates codeshare connecting to JQ

looking closer the inbound *says* itís in economy but shows business lower down and a flat bed

maybe the BA intern is working for Qantas now?
Wow, your results are even more extreme than mine. I am really surprised at the response by the unhelpful QANTAS help desk. I would have thought an error like this which is revenue impacting would be addressed ASAP.
Thekman is offline  
Old May 18, 19, 9:51 pm
  #10  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 41,592
Originally Posted by Thekman View Post
Wow, your results are even more extreme than mine. I am really surprised at the response by the unhelpful QANTAS help desk. I would have thought an error like this which is revenue impacting would be addressed ASAP.
Why worry about whether Qantas is having impacted revenue ? Why not just go to a site , agent or phone Qantas and just get your specific requirements addressed rather than risk waiting for either availability in 'I' class to disappear or the fare validity to expire
nancypants and DiamondMile like this.
Dave Noble is offline  
Old May 19, 19, 3:10 am
  #11  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 91
Because I have registered for a double Status Credit offer that can only be accessed through the QANTAS site.
Thekman is offline  
Old May 19, 19, 3:51 am
  #12  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 41,592
Originally Posted by Thekman View Post
Because I have registered for a double Status Credit offer that can only be accessed through the QANTAS site.
you may just have to decide what is more important - travelling on those flights in business class or getting extra FF earnings

I doubt that it will be a rush fix unless it is something affecting lots of people

If choosing to wait , be aware that the lowest published business class fare to CGK has a restriction

FOOTNOTE RULE
TICKETS MUST BE ISSUED ON/BEFORE 30MAY19.

There may be a new fare in place after then, but might not be the same cost
also, I class availability has been known to run out
Dave Noble is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: