Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Qantas | Frequent Flyer
Reload this Page >

Do I need a ESTA and APIS [Australian ETA]

Do I need a ESTA and APIS [Australian ETA]

Old Jan 16, 19, 1:54 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 1
Do I need a ESTA and APIS [Australian ETA]

We are US citizens with US passport. We are flying on a commercial flight from the US to Melbourne. I have filled out the APIS form on our air carrier, Qantas. I would like to know if we still need to get ESTAs. Thanks
Babsk is offline  
Old Jan 16, 19, 2:16 pm
  #2  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 41,583
Yes , you need to apply for any visa or travel authority needed - putting passport details et al in the booking, just records information in the booking

If you do not have requireed documentation to enter Australia , you will be denied travel on the day
Dave Noble is offline  
Old Jan 16, 19, 2:44 pm
  #3  
og
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: SYD
Programs: QF WP/LTG | UA P
Posts: 13,055
A visa is needed based on your posting. Here is the Oz Govt web page that explains what to do.
https://immi.homeaffairs.gov.au/
It's an Electronic Travel Authority (ETA) - not the American "ESTA".
I hope the name on your air ticket matches the name in your passport!
Enjoy your visit and the favourable currency exchange rates.
nancypants likes this.
og is offline  
Old Jan 16, 19, 2:49 pm
  #4  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: MEL CHC
Posts: 16,909
Originally Posted by Babsk View Post
We are US citizens with US passport. We are flying on a commercial flight from the US to Melbourne. I have filled out the APIS form on our air carrier, Qantas. I would like to know if we still need to get ESTAs. Thanks
As posts above, yes

Mwenenzi is offline  
Old Jan 16, 19, 2:52 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: DCA-IAD
Posts: 58
Originally Posted by Babsk View Post
We are US citizens with US passport. We are flying on a commercial flight from the US to Melbourne. I have filled out the APIS form on our air carrier, Qantas. I would like to know if we still need to get ESTAs. Thanks
Like others have said, yes, you need a ESTA. Be ready to pull it up on your phone at the counter too, i had to do that when I was catching my flight from IAD couple of days ago because they couldn't see my ESTA in the system.
Serpent is offline  
Old Jan 18, 19, 7:44 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Little old dog box, in Adelaide
Programs: Now back at base level for these 2:QFF-now NB, Virgin-Velocity-NR
Posts: 404
There is fee of Aud$20 per application.
Some travel agents/airlines will do it free.
AustralianPoochie is offline  
Old Jan 18, 19, 8:05 am
  #7  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: DCA
Programs: UA US CO AA DL FL
Posts: 50,024
Originally Posted by Serpent View Post
Like others have said, yes, you need a ESTA. Be ready to pull it up on your phone at the counter too, i had to do that when I was catching my flight from IAD couple of days ago because they couldn't see my ESTA in the system.
This is 100% wrong.

OP states that he is a US national traveling on a US passport and traveling from the US. An ESTA is the electronic travel approval the US requires for non-US nationals traveling from visa waiver program countries to the US. Thus, on all three counts, he does not need an ESTA and one will not be issued if he wastes $14 applying. It also will not move him one inch closer to Australia.

As a US national he will require an Electronic Travel Authority from the Australian Home Office. This is an electronic link tied to the passenger's passport. All accomplished online.

On the broader topic, anyone traveling across a border would do well to review his specific document requirement situation on TIMATIC, the IATA database compiled for its member air carriers. There are a number of portals providing free access. One of them at the link below. What OP sees when he fills in his data is what the check-in agent will see at check-in.

https://www.united.com/web/en-US/app...aspx?i=TIMATIC
Often1 is offline  
Old Jan 18, 19, 10:11 am
  #8  
Moderator: Asiana & Qantas Frequent Flyer
Aman Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: STR/SYD/SMF
Programs: QF SG, LH SEN, OZ D+, HH D, SPG P
Posts: 14,102
[mod hat] This thread is only borderline relevant for Qantas. I have left it here for the benefit of the OP but I think the question of the OP has been answered. And yes, sometimes people get ESTA and ETA mixed up but unless you have something substantially new to add we can leave this thread as is. [/mod hat]
DownUnderFlyer is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: