Perth Transfer?

Old May 13, 18, 10:26 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Programs: AA Executive Platinum, HH Diamond, National Executive
Posts: 1,755
Perth Transfer?

I need to fly Broome to Melbourne in Thursday August 9th. It looks like the only option is through Perth. The flights Iím looking at are QF2657 from Broome to Perth arriving at 12:05 and then QF10 from Perth to Melbourne departing at 2:30. When I go to book on QF I get a message notifying me that QF10 departs from T4 International Terminal and that Iíll need to check in 1 hour prior and shoe a passport. This doesnít seem to be an issue as I would have almost 2.5 hours between flights.

Can anyone explain lain to me what this means? Will I need to change terminals because as far as I can tell QF2657 comes into T4 anyways. Any help or advice is appareciated.
WiscAZ is offline  
Old May 13, 18, 11:13 pm
  #2  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Melbourne
Programs: ►QFWP/LTG►VA WP►HyattExpl.►HiltonGold►ALL Silver
Posts: 21,572
Are these separate tickets?

If on the one ticket you should be fine.

Note that QF10 is considered "International" and there are customs/immigration considerations at both PER & MEL.


As a "Domestic" PAX, you would need a "D" sticker.
serfty is offline  
Old May 13, 18, 11:30 pm
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Programs: AA Executive Platinum, HH Diamond, National Executive
Posts: 1,755
When booking on QF it was booked via multi city so not sure if it would be one ticket. It isnít an option when just searching Broome to Melbourne. I physically have to search for both legs. I guess I donít understand what is different here.
WiscAZ is offline  
Old May 13, 18, 11:41 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 19
You won't need to change terminals. They arrive at the same terminal or at T3 which is connected. Why did you have to do multi city? When I search on the qantas website it works without issue.
verond is offline  
Old May 13, 18, 11:47 pm
  #5  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: MEL CHC
Posts: 17,108
QF10 flys LHR-PER-MEL hence the "international"

When looking Broome - Mel on 9 Aug I see several options.
Or do you want to fly the B787?
Mwenenzi is offline  
Old May 13, 18, 11:48 pm
  #6  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Programs: AA Executive Platinum, HH Diamond, National Executive
Posts: 1,755
Originally Posted by verond View Post
You won't need to change terminals. They arrive at the same terminal or at T3 which is connected. Why did you have to do multi city? When I search on the qantas website it works without issue.
No idea. Only thing I can think of is Iím on my phone or based in US. Iíll try on my computer tomorrow but the flight isnít an option unless I do multi city.
WiscAZ is offline  
Old May 13, 18, 11:50 pm
  #7  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Programs: AA Executive Platinum, HH Diamond, National Executive
Posts: 1,755
Originally Posted by Mwenenzi View Post
QF10 flys LHR-PER-MEL hence the "international"

When looking Broome - Mel on 9 Aug I see several options.
Yes, plenty of options but for me not the 2:30 flight from Perth to Melbourne. Earliest it gives me is the 4:00 Perth to Melbourne.
WiscAZ is offline  
Old May 13, 18, 11:56 pm
  #8  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: MEL CHC
Posts: 17,108
Originally Posted by WiscAZ View Post
No idea. Only thing I can think of is Iím on my phone or based in US. Iíll try on my computer tomorrow but the flight isnít an option unless I do multi city.
Look on the Au site. You may have to force/change to "au" in url. And you may get a cheaper price.
https://www.qantas.com/au/en.html
Broome-MEL can be a good use of AA miles, as it can be an expensive fare.
Mwenenzi is offline  
Old May 14, 18, 12:00 am
  #9  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Programs: AA Executive Platinum, HH Diamond, National Executive
Posts: 1,755
Originally Posted by Mwenenzi View Post
Look on the Au site. You may have to force/change to "au" in url. And you may get a cheaper price.
https://www.qantas.com/au/en.html
Broome-MEL can be a good use of AA miles, as it can be an expensive fare.
Thank you and good suggestion. Iíll try that tomorrow. Luckily this is business which is why Iím trying to get the quickest flights possible and not worry about price.
WiscAZ is offline  
Old May 14, 18, 12:14 am
  #10  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: MEL CHC
Posts: 17,108
Some days of the week QF flys BME-MEL non stop QF1501. But not on Thursdays. Does fly non stop Wednesday & Fridays

https://www.qantas.com/travel/airlin...able/global/en
Mwenenzi is offline  
Old May 14, 18, 10:56 am
  #11  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Programs: AA Executive Platinum, HH Diamond, National Executive
Posts: 1,755
Originally Posted by Mwenenzi View Post
Some days of the week QF flys BME-MEL non stop QF1501. But not on Thursdays. Does fly non stop Wednesday & Fridays

https://www.qantas.com/travel/airlin...able/global/en
Unfortunately, I am at a conference that ends Wednesday evening and I have a meeting in Melbourne on Friday so Thursday is my only option.

So I got on my computer and ensured I was on the AU website and have not been able to get the 2:30 Perth to Melbourne flight to come up as an option. The only way for me to do it is to search using Multi City and doing Broome to Perth and then Perth to Melbourne. What does the consensus think? Any issue with me booking this via multi city?
WiscAZ is offline  
Old May 14, 18, 11:01 am
  #12  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Programs: AA Executive Platinum, HH Diamond, National Executive
Posts: 1,755
I wanted to note that I'm searching as a one-way. Not sure this plays into my issue.
WiscAZ is offline  
Old May 14, 18, 6:54 pm
  #13  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: MEL CHC
Posts: 17,108
Originally Posted by WiscAZ View Post
..So I got on my computer and ensured I was on the AU website and have not been able to get the 2:30 Perth to Melbourne flight to come up as an option. The only way for me to do it is to search using Multi City and doing Broome to Perth and then Perth to Melbourne. What does the consensus think? Any issue with me booking this via multi city?
No. If you get the QF to issue an e-ticket expect it will be OK
Looking for PER-MEL as a standalone flight QF10 shows as a choice, so is for sale.
QF10 LHR-MEL via PER is relativity new. Maybe the QF IT has yet to catch up.
Due the "international" aspect (D sticker) may take longer to connect.

Originally Posted by WiscAZ View Post
I wanted to note that I'm searching as a one-way. Not sure this plays into my issue.
No. All flights in Au are essentially one ways. Do not have the silly fare rules so prevalent in USA.

Last edited by Mwenenzi; May 14, 18 at 7:04 pm
Mwenenzi is offline  
Old May 15, 18, 12:56 am
  #14  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Melbourne
Programs: ►QFWP/LTG►VA WP►HyattExpl.►HiltonGold►ALL Silver
Posts: 21,572
Originally Posted by Mwenenzi View Post
...
No. All flights in Au are essentially one ways. Do not have the silly fare rules so prevalent in USA.
Such are almost a thing of the past in the USA as well.

Europe is where it still prevalent (but even that seems to be waning).
serfty is offline  
Old May 16, 18, 3:29 pm
  #15  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Programs: AA Executive Platinum, HH Diamond, National Executive
Posts: 1,755
I thought I'd share an update. I went to book the trip via multi city and right as I was about to get to the payment page I got an error message. I did have to acknowledge the international terminal aspect which I did. Seems like the website doesn't want this to work.

This is the error message I get:
  • We are unable to confirm your selected flights. Select ‘Start over’ and choose alternative flights. (15079 - 421)
I suppose I could book two separate one ways but I just worry that this isn't worth the hassle of saving an hour and a half. That's the main reason I wanted the earlier flight. I'm thinking I'll try again tomorrow and if it doesn't let me book just go ahead and book the longer layover.
WiscAZ is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: