Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Qantas | Frequent Flyer
Reload this Page >

Y+ on QF code share credited as discount economy

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Jun 1, 2012, 12:52 am
Original Poster

Programs: AA PLT, QF QP, UA, HH Gold

Newbie here. I was flying Y+ from MEL-LAX-ORD-SFO-LAX-MEL. The booking confirmation states (correctly) that "Your flight from Los Angeles to Chicago [etc.] will be in Economy", while the Fare Type is listed as "Premium Economy Sale". The fare description for this type states, "Classed as Premium Economy when Points or Status Credits are earned."

Qantas credited me discount economy SC on LAX-ORD-SFO-LAX. (Let me be clear, these were booked as QF flights, operated by AA.) Upon complaint they take the position that "these segments were booked in B inventory"--which, of course, was/is not visible to the customer booking on QF's website at the time of booking, all the while the fare description unambiguously calls for full Y treatment.

Am I wrong to be upset?
Old Jun 1, 2012, 2:16 am
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend

What was credited was correct and consistent with what others receive

You only get credit based on the cabin flown , so you received PE SCs and Miles for the PE legs and economy miles and SCs for the AA legs

Dave
Old Jun 1, 2012, 3:15 am
Original Member

Location: Portland OR Double Emerald (QF and AA), DL PM/MM, Starwood Plat
But the OP did not receive economy credit but rather discount economy which seems like a legitimate complaint to me. On QF metal wiithout Y+ it would have credited as such, so why should codeshare be different? Another error by QF's crack IT systems, that are riddled with defects such as this.
Old Jun 1, 2012, 3:29 am

Originally Posted by number_6