Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Mileage Run Deals > Premium Fare Deals
Reload this Page >

AA/G3: JFK to Santa Cruz de la Sierra, Bolivia from $1212

AA/G3: JFK to Santa Cruz de la Sierra, Bolivia from $1212

Old Mar 6, 22, 11:31 am
  #31  
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Programs: DL DM, SPG Plat 100/LT Gold, Marriott Plat, National Executive Elite
Posts: 2,973
Originally Posted by stephem View Post
I did a bit more digging into this one yesterday and there’s something fairly unique about VVI right now. I was thinking maybe this is a fare sale that might apply to other AA fares that include a tag-on of a G3 flight. But I can find no indication that is the case.
Do you mean unique in a negative way? or just in a good pricing way for deal hunters? Thanks
btonkid12345 is offline  
Old Mar 6, 22, 11:45 am
  #32  
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 49
Was able to book VVI-GRU-EWR-PHL on UA for $645. Cheaper than AA by about $125.
jskang07 is offline  
Old Mar 6, 22, 12:06 pm
  #33  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Multiple locations
Programs: AAdvantage ExPlat LT Gold, BA Silver, Aegean Star Gold
Posts: 4,659
Originally Posted by jskang07 View Post
Was able to book VVI-GRU-EWR-PHL on UA for $645. Cheaper than AA by about $125.
If I'm not mistaken, PHL seems to be the only city that works with the G3/GRU then UA/EWR combo... odd one, most other cities in North America are in that range with an AV combo via BOG

Fare rules say this in ITA Matrix, but can't seem to price it in GRU/SAO... Multicity forces the Y+ on UA versus P class...

1 FREE STOPOVER PERMITTED ON THE PRICING UNIT IN CHI/DEN/EWR/HOU/LAX/SAO/SFO.
Spoiler
 

jfkeze is offline  
Old Mar 6, 22, 1:51 pm
  #34  
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Canada
Programs: Alaska,AC,Avios,
Posts: 263
If I book one way BOS-GRU-VVI, will be easy to walk out at GRU and skip VVI-GRU?, planning to do carry on only
tdot_guy is offline  
Old Mar 6, 22, 2:14 pm
  #35  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Multiple locations
Programs: AAdvantage ExPlat LT Gold, BA Silver, Aegean Star Gold
Posts: 4,659
Originally Posted by tdot_guy View Post
If I book one way BOS-GRU-VVI, will be easy to walk out at GRU and skip VVI-GRU?, planning to do carry on only
Depending on your Passport...

If you are a US Citizen you need a visa which seems it can be obtained at the AirportOn February 2, 2021, the Bolivian government issued Supreme Decree 4460, which reinstates tourist visa requirements for U.S. citizens visiting Bolivia. Beginning February 8, 2021, all U.S. citizens visiting Bolivia will be required to obtain a tourist visa. A tourist visa for Bolivia can be obtained for purchase at any land or air border. In addition, a tourist visa can also be obtained at a Bolivian consulate in the United States or neighboring country.

Entry Requirements:
  • A Bolivian visitor visa costs $160 US and can be paid in U.S. or local currency upon arrival. Visitors should be prepared to provide crisp, untampered bills. Bills with small tears or any other damage may not be accepted.
  • Visitors must show proof of a round-trip ticket, or confirmation of plans to depart Bolivia. U.S. citizens flying into Bolivia but departing by land have faced complications. Visitors must also show proof of lodging in Bolivia, such as a hotel reservation. If staying with Bolivian friends or family, authorities may require a letter of invitation from the host.
So it can get complicated with a one-way as a throwaway if on a US passport.

Now as a Canadian (listed location on your profile), Tourist visa: not required for stays up to 30 days
jfkeze is offline  
Old Mar 6, 22, 4:19 pm
  #36  
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Canada
Programs: Alaska,AC,Avios,
Posts: 263
jfkeze thank you very much , that's very helpful
jfkeze and btonkid12345 like this.
tdot_guy is offline  
Old Mar 6, 22, 8:18 pm
  #37  
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Canada
Programs: UA, AC, Delta Silver, HHonors Diamond
Posts: 39
Thanks OP. Available from some Canadian cities too. I saw YYC-DFW-GRU-VVI and same from YVR as well
curlingfan is offline  
Old Mar 7, 22, 5:11 am
  #38  
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: YKZ
Programs: AC SE 100K, Marriott Titanium - Lifetime Plat 2nd Class, National Executive, Avis PP
Posts: 598
Originally Posted by curlingfan View Post
Thanks OP. Available from some Canadian cities too. I saw YYC-DFW-GRU-VVI and same from YVR as well
And this is in Canadian Pesos, so looks to be the best deals available on this route

Can also do from YYZ from the low $940's (USD), but with Copa & on all recliner - not optimal. Still, may be useful to some.

CC
Captain Canuck is offline  
Old Mar 7, 22, 5:15 am
  #39  
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Programs: Mucci, BA, AA, UA, TK, World of Hyatt, Bonvoy, Hilton Honours, Untappd 8000+
Posts: 162
Both Power Tools and Book with Matrix led me all the way to AA's payment page, but payment just wouldn't go through.
I then tried multi city on aa.com, and my more convoluted trips didn't finalize, either.

ANC-DFW-MIA-GRU-VVI VVI-GRU-JFK-SEA-ANC is still pending.
JFK-SEA on B6 in Mint.

How have you been faring with multi-sector itineraries?
Sandy Hopper is offline  
Old Mar 7, 22, 6:54 am
  #40  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Multiple locations
Programs: AAdvantage ExPlat LT Gold, BA Silver, Aegean Star Gold
Posts: 4,659
Originally Posted by Sandy Hopper View Post
Both Power Tools and Book with Matrix led me all the way to AA's payment page, but payment just wouldn't go through.
I then tried multi city on aa.com, and my more convoluted trips didn't finalize, either.

ANC-DFW-MIA-GRU-VVI VVI-GRU-JFK-SEA-ANC is still pending.
JFK-SEA on B6 in Mint.

How have you been faring with multi-sector itineraries?
I hadn't seen JetBlue on this before, can you by any chance put the fare on Hold? Worst case have an agent help you with it... Or maybe try PowerTools to Priceline that usually works... another theory is the B6 segment causing issues?
Sandy Hopper likes this.
jfkeze is offline  
Old Mar 7, 22, 8:35 am
  #41  
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Programs: DL DM, SPG Plat 100/LT Gold, Marriott Plat, National Executive Elite
Posts: 2,973
Originally Posted by Sandy Hopper View Post
Both Power Tools and Book with Matrix led me all the way to AA's payment page, but payment just wouldn't go through.
I then tried multi city on aa.com, and my more convoluted trips didn't finalize, either.

ANC-DFW-MIA-GRU-VVI VVI-GRU-JFK-SEA-ANC is still pending.
JFK-SEA on B6 in Mint.

How have you been faring with multi-sector itineraries?
You have to do it as a through fare on matrix and input the connection cities and see if it still prices the same. I had the exact same error until I did this. However I didn’t have a B6 segment...

Originally Posted by jfkeze View Post
I hadn't seen JetBlue on this before, can you by any chance put the fare on Hold? Worst case have an agent help you with it... Or maybe try PowerTools to Priceline that usually works... another theory is the B6 segment causing issues?
I believe AA has a hard time with >2 hour holds when OAL are on the ticket?
Sandy Hopper likes this.
btonkid12345 is offline  
Old Mar 7, 22, 8:50 am
  #42  
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Programs: Mucci, BA, AA, UA, TK, World of Hyatt, Bonvoy, Hilton Honours, Untappd 8000+
Posts: 162
Originally Posted by jfkeze View Post
I hadn't seen JetBlue on this before, can you by any chance put the fare on Hold? Worst case have an agent help you with it... Or maybe try PowerTools to Priceline that usually works... another theory is the B6 segment causing issues?
Not a big fan of OTAs. I only tried aa.com.

The reservation has now been ticketed.
Hooray!

Putting the reservation on hold won’t work with this one:
“Heads Up! Reservations containing one or more flights on airlines other than American Airlines or American Eagle must be purchased at time of booking.”

Funnily enough, only the itinerary containing the B6 segment went through.
My more creative routings, AA/G3 only, however boasting AA transcons, didn’t make it.
My question should have been: Did anybody manage to book this including transcons on aa.com?

I was a bit lazy on the fare rules, so it might be that.

Thanks, jfkeze, what a gem of a find.
jfkeze and btonkid12345 like this.
Sandy Hopper is offline  
Old Mar 7, 22, 9:17 am
  #43  
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6,008
I had no problem getting LAX-MIA-GRU-VVI and vice versa ticketed. LAX-MIA and vice versa on 787 lie flats.

The VVI-PHL itinerary that OP posted above has a 29.% tax, is that a premium cabin tax that Bolivia assesses? Wow... steep!
stephem is offline  
Old Mar 7, 22, 9:34 am
  #44  
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Programs: Mucci, BA, AA, UA, TK, World of Hyatt, Bonvoy, Hilton Honours, Untappd 8000+
Posts: 162
Originally Posted by stephem View Post
I had no problem getting LAX-MIA-GRU-VVI and vice versa ticketed. LAX-MIA and vice versa on 787 lie flats.
Nice. Are you taking your family of five then?

Multi city on aa.com lured me into ANC-DFW-LAX-MIA-GRU-VVI VVI-GRU-JFK-MIA-LAX-HNL and then wouldn't let me pay for it.
Sandy Hopper is offline  
Old Mar 7, 22, 12:12 pm
  #45  
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Portland, OR.
Programs: AA EP
Posts: 455
I got $1200 PDX DFW GRU VVI. But is there anything really to do in this city. Or good day trips?
tfizzle is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread