Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Mileage Run Deals > Premium Fare Deals
Reload this Page >

$1,300 One Way (Biz) India-EWR (SIA Longest Flight)

$1,300 One Way (Biz) India-EWR (SIA Longest Flight)

Reply

Old Jul 3, 18, 11:20 am
  #16  
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Programs: EY plat, TK plat, UA 1K, AF plat, AS MVP75K
Posts: 164
Originally Posted by onlysuites View Post
I think all the A350's will have their new business product which is quite good. Flew it last week and got the first row seat in the second cabin. I can honestly say this seat was just as good as the First class seat on the SQ 77W I flew the month earlier.
Well bulkhead seats are the only one's good out there the other seats are crap for sleeping.
ristasm is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 18, 8:39 pm
  #17  
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 297
Originally Posted by JHake10 View Post
I just booked this! I wonder if I can fly in on the SQ flight which gets in at ~9:30pm and have enough time to transit and come back for the ~11:00pm departure. I've been to HYD and DEL which can be hectic at times. Any thoughts?
I don't recommend this. Immigration can take a lot of time depending on the officers.
sushimaru is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 18, 9:26 pm
  #18  
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 230
editted

Last edited by terbangalways; Jul 3, 18 at 9:27 pm Reason: duplicate
terbangalways is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 18, 9:26 pm
  #19  
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 230
Originally Posted by ristasm View Post
Well bulkhead seats are the only one's good out there the other seats are crap for sleeping.
Not all bulkhead has full ottoman for sleeping with new A388
terbangalways is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 3, 18, 9:28 pm
  #20  
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 230
Originally Posted by sushimaru View Post
I don't recommend this. Immigration can take a lot of time depending on the officers.
Thats my concern too...
Can we request for ground staff to escort us thru whole process and do turnaround flight?
terbangalways is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 18, 5:09 am
  #21  
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 3
I apologize if this is a newbie question, but why is it that when Singapore is the originating city, the prices become so much more expensive?

I've been lurking on this forums for a long time, and it's very seldom I see a deal starting from Singapore.
fluctuation_001 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 18, 5:37 am
  #22  
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 337
Originally Posted by fluctuation_001 View Post
I apologize if this is a newbie question, but why is it that when Singapore is the originating city, the prices become so much more expensive?

I've been lurking on this forums for a long time, and it's very seldom I see a deal starting from Singapore.
hi, direct flights would be priced higher, indirect lower to attract customers to travel with SIA and compete with other carriers offering direct flights for the customers origin to destination

direct flights are priced higher for the customers convenience
haroon145 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 18, 7:26 am
  #23  
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Singapore
Programs: SQ QPP, 9W JP Platinum, VN GL Silver
Posts: 596
Originally Posted by hirohito888 View Post
Thanks OP. Booked AMD-SIN-EWR with a SIN stopover. Looking forward to fly the longest non-stop!
hi. I have not been able to price a stop over on the one-way although on the return itís doable.

Where do you book it? Sq website is showing error when putting in multi city for the pair.

One way through flight with the 17 hour connection is available but if I want to break a few weeks of days, not possible
SQueeze is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 18, 10:40 am
  #24  
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: NYC
Programs: UA-1K MM, A3-Gold
Posts: 1,004
Originally Posted by SQueeze View Post
hi. I have not been able to price a stop over on the one-way although on the return itís doable.

Where do you book it? Sq website is showing error when putting in multi city for the pair.

One way through flight with the 17 hour connection is available but if I want to break a few weeks of days, not possible
I should clarify, I booked a round-trip and included a stopover in SIN. While the one-way fare rule says it allows stopover, I encountered the same system issue on SQ.com. I decided it wasn't worth my time to find a way to force a stopover on a one-way.
hirohito888 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 18, 7:46 pm
  #25  
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,401
Originally Posted by Mehul Shah View Post
That is exactly I found 2 weeks ago, and still alive
Did I miss a thread on this fare couple weeks ago?
CX_newbie likes this.
mileageking is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 18, 7:49 pm
  #26  
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,401
Awesome fare OP, thanks for posting!
mileageking is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 18, 9:10 pm
  #27  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 15
Reason fare jumps from Singapore (or Delhi) is that these cities have enough demand for Biz passengers on paid tickets. Ahmedabad is a small city (relatively by Indian standards) and although a ton of people there are rich there isnít much of a business presence there (I.e. corporates). You c an get a similar fare from other Indian cities which have lower population/no business presence and Singapore flies too (e.g. Cochin)

i am able to see a stop over fare - try google flights and do the first leg on a certain date and the Singapore Newark leg on another as a multi city trip. Works for me for Jan 5/Jan 14 as an example . SQ website -for some reason - doesnít show the ewr flight when you search directly there. Google Flights needs to send you there.
ristasm likes this.
str1der2903 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 18, 10:05 pm
  #28  
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 15
Originally Posted by sushimaru View Post
I don't recommend this. Immigration can take a lot of time depending on the officers.
Wait, shouldn't you be able to transit without passing through immigration? Or is India like Mexico where you must pass through customs even when connecting internationally?
GS1000 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 18, 11:01 pm
  #29  
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Programs: UA 1k, SPG Platinum, Hyatt Diamond, HH Platinum, MLIFE Platinum
Posts: 99
works to SFO as well AMD>SIN>HKG>SFO
flyme2theriver is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 18, 11:31 pm
  #30  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: London
Programs: Hilton IHG LH BA TK
Posts: 10,912
Originally Posted by str1der2903 View Post
Reason fare jumps from Singapore (or Delhi) is that these cities have enough demand for Biz passengers on paid tickets. Ahmedabad is a small city (relatively by Indian standards) and although a ton of people there are rich there isn’t much of a business presence there (I.e. corporates). You c an get a similar fare from other Indian cities which have lower population/no business presence and Singapore flies too (e.g. Cochin)...


Neat reasoning with respect to India, but holed below the water line by my ticket from Mumbai to Houston

Certainly SQ is unlikely to let Singaporeans get onto direct services from SIN on fares like this, but that's no different to BA from London, LH from Frankfurt etc etc. And both those airlines can at times offer stonkingly good fares from other major European cities.
IAN-UK is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: