One sure way to get SSSS'd

Old Jan 14, 2009, 8:38 am
Original Poster

Programs: AA:Lifetime Platinum; MR:Lifetime Titanium
One sure way to get SSSS'd

I just purchased a one-way flight from MIA to LGA in a few weeks. I will only have carry-on. This is my first time buying such a flight (1W) since 9/11 and I am betting that I my BP will be SSSS'd.

Has anyone else experienced an automatic SSSS because of one-way travel?
Old Jan 14, 2009, 8:45 am

I have purchased few one ways with only carry-on on DL and CO and never got SSSS'ed.

Originally Posted by uncle wiggily
I just purchased a one-way flight from MIA to LGA in a few weeks. I will only have carry-on. This is my first time buying such a flight (1W) since 9/11 and I am betting that I my BP will be SSSS'd.

Old Jan 14, 2009, 8:47 am

Programs: AA EXP
I think it's more random than that. I've traveled one-way, buying tickets at the airport several times and not been SSSSS'd. The only correlation I seem to have is that when it's least convenient (i.e. you're already running late), you're most likely to get it...
Old Jan 14, 2009, 8:47 am
Moderator: American AAdvantage

Programs: AA LT Plat; HH LT Diamond, Matre-plongeur des Muccis
Please follow this thread in Travel Safety / Security, as it is not airline-specific.
Old Jan 14, 2009, 8:50 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Location: MSY; 2-time FT Fantasy Football Champ, now in recovery.
Programs: AA lifetime GLD; UA Silver; Marriott LTTE; IHG Plat,
Buying a few weeks in advance, and with elite status, I doubt you will get the SSSS.

My last SSSS was booking a 1-way, a few hours prior to departure, on an airline where I had no FF account.
Old Jan 14, 2009, 8:51 am

Programs: HH Silver, MR Plat Prem & LT Plat, Hyatt Plat,SPG Plat, Hertz PC, National EE, UA 1K
Years ago, this was the case. I buy mostly one ways, about 200 a year. I would ALWAYS get SSSS'ed-but not anymore.

My personal best was 3 times in ONE DAY!!!!
Old Jan 14, 2009, 12:41 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist