Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Travel Safety/Security > Practical Travel Safety and Security Issues
Reload this Page >

Schneier on Security: TSA asked pax in SAN to smuggle fake bombs past c/p

Old Oct 23, 07, 2:52 am
Original Member
Original Poster

Programs: TSA Refusenik charter member

LINK

I sure missed this bit from last week's, erm, bombshell ...

And there's unexplainable news:
At San Diego International Airport, tests are run by passengers whom local TSA managers ask to carry a fake bomb, said screener Cris Soulia, an official in a screeners union.
Someone please tell me this doesn't actually happen. "Hi Mr. Passenger. I'm a TSA manager. You know I'm not lying to you because of this official-looking laminated badge I have. We need you to help us test airport security. Here's a 'fake' bomb that we'd like you to carry through security in your luggage. Another TSA manager will, um, meet you at your destination. Give the fake bomb to him when you land. And, by the way, what's your mother's maiden name?"

How in the world is this a good idea? And how hard is it to dress real TSA managers up like vacationers?

I could have sworn we had a thread here recently where someone posted that their wife was asked to carry a bag through a c/p. I'll see if I can't find it ...

ETA: Found it ... Dulles TSA Bag Test

Last edited by essxjay; Oct 23, 07 at 3:12 am
Old Oct 23, 07, 6:51 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: AA EXP/Marriott Plat/Hertz PC
If anyone from the TSA asks me to take anything through security, I'll report them to the airport police as suspicious. That's what we're supposed to do, right?
Old Oct 23, 07, 7:01 am

So how do you tell an Evil Terrorist from a TSA Manager?
Old Oct 23, 07, 7:33 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Originally Posted by alanR View Post
So how do you tell an Evil Terrorist from a TSA Manager?
You can negotiate with a terrorist.
Old Oct 23, 07, 7:55 am
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend