Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Travel Safety/Security > Practical Travel Safety and Security Issues
Reload this Page >

EL AL codesharing with Jet Blue is it the same security

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Oct 19, 2017, 3:31 am
vbk
Original Poster

Hello
I am new to Flyer Talk and I would love some help. I am a really nervous flyer and I like to fly EL AL because I know they have brilliant security. I am flying to Florida and taking EL AL to Boston but then I have to take a connection on Jet Blue who I have never flown before to Florida. I am beginning to panic to the point of cancelling the trip. I don't know with the codeshare aspect whether Jet Blue will have the same security as El Al. Can anyone tell me and put my mind at rest please.
Also if they do not have El Al security is the Jet Blue security good. I would imagine it would have to be but I need reassurance.
Thank you so much.
Old Oct 19, 2017, 5:42 am

You are flying Israel-Boston-Florida, I assume? In which case you will have to clear immigration and customs at Logan and then re-clear security for your flight to Florida.

The answer to your question is no, the security check you will undergo in Boston is not the same as El Al's, but no US security check in any US airport will be the same as El Al's. For a variety of political and practical reasons (don't want to start a derail here!) El Al's security is highly unlikely to be replicated in full in the US.

Also, it doesn't really matter which airline you're flying, as (in theory) TSA security checks are the same no matter what airline you're flying. Of course if you have PreCheck, Clear or some other trusted traveler program you can move through the line faster with more convenience, but it's not a fundamentally different security experience.

What exactly are you panicked about?
Old Oct 20, 2017, 1:48 am
vbk
Original Poster

Hi Thank you so much for writing back to me.