FlyerTalk Forums

FlyerTalk Forums (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/index.php)
-   Practical Travel Safety and Security Issues (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/practical-travel-safety-security-issues-686/)
-   -   Fly back to Germany on expired passport (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/practical-travel-safety-security-issues/1868355-fly-back-germany-expired-passport.html)

Kilianerz Sep 22, 2017 4:21 pm

Fly back to Germany on expired passport

This is my first time here by the way. So I'm trying to fly back to Germany with my 2 year expired passport. I have a US green card that is now expired for about 2 years now and is also missing. I have a valid drivers license as well. My question is will the airline check in desk and TSA allow me through with just using my drivers license as identity or will they need to see a valid passport as well as it will be an international flight? Also what will the German border patrol officer say when I show him my expired German passport? Will they let me through?

WorldLux Sep 22, 2017 4:31 pm

Originally Posted by Kilianerz (Post 28847766)
This is my first time here by the way. So I'm trying to fly back to Germany with my 2 year expired passport. I have a US green card that is now expired for about 2 years now and is also missing.

So no resident permit and no passport!? That's going to bode well with CBP...

Let's just say that you'll probably won't be able to return to the US in the foreseeable time.

BTW: Without any form of ID allowing travel to Germany it's also highly likely that you won't make it as far as the TSA. Airlines departing the US will have to collect data on behalf of the CBP (data you're not able to provide if you don't a valid travel document) and airlines will check your travel documents against their database to check if you can enter Germany. In doubt, they'll just cancel your check-in.