LAX Security - Relaxed Rules?

Old Sep 22, 17, 3:12 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: London, England
Programs: BAEC
Posts: 9
LAX Security - Relaxed Rules?

I was flying through TBIT at LAX last Saturday on NZ2 to London and the security process threw me off as it wasn't what I was expecting from the TSA.

I was ready to get my laptop, ipad, liquids out and take my shoes off. Instead we were instructed to keep everything in our bags and place any other items we might have inside too.

I thought this was highly unusual - although a welcome change as it was much faster. Funny how we have gotten so used to airport security.

Does anyone know if this is a permanent change or a trial? Anyone else come across this?

Any information is welcome!

Apologies if I am posting in the wrong place or if this has been already asked.
(Couldn't see anything in the search)

Faris
TrimTab is offline  
Old Sep 22, 17, 5:55 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: CT
Programs: DL DM, Marriott Plat
Posts: 513
Did you have Precheck on your BP (or did an agent point you to the Precheck line, if you didn't happen to notice it printed on there)? With that description, sounds like you were in the Precheck security line.
Cory6188 is offline  
Old Sep 23, 17, 4:59 pm
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: London, England
Programs: BAEC
Posts: 9
I just looked up whatís different about the precheck line experience and it does sound like what I experienced.

However I donít know how I would have needed up in the precheck line since neither me or anyone in my group is a US citizen or is signed up for precheck.

It was still a very swift experience
TrimTab is offline  
Old Sep 23, 17, 5:04 pm
  #4  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis: DL DM charter 2.3MM
Programs: A3*Gold, SPG Plat, HyattDiamond, MarriottPP, LHW exAccess, ICI, Raffles Amb, NW PE MM, TWA Gold MM
Posts: 83,834
They had been giving PreCheck based on your FF record and also just to random people. In addition, it's given to those over age 75 or when the airport uses sniffer dogs on passengers waiting in line.
MSPeconomist is offline  
Old Sep 23, 17, 9:07 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: LAX
Programs: AAdvantage EXPLAT, Hilton Diamond, SPG/Marriott Gold, IHG Platinum, Citi Exec MC, Amex Plat
Posts: 1,430
I find it a bit ridiculous that when I fly AA, I get PreCheck, but when I fly CX, all of a sudden, I have to go through the main line again. What difference does it make that CX is not participating? My known traveler number should still come through and my precheck was sponsored by Global Entry and not any airline.
matrixwalker2012 is offline  
Old Sep 23, 17, 11:55 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boulder
Programs: AA Plat, CX Silver
Posts: 2,307
Originally Posted by matrixwalker2012 View Post
I find it a bit ridiculous that when I fly AA, I get PreCheck, but when I fly CX, all of a sudden, I have to go through the main line again. What difference does it make that CX is not participating? My known traveler number should still come through and my precheck was sponsored by Global Entry and not any airline.
The KTN does *not* come through when you fly CX. AFAIK Pre requires additional IT integration between the airline and TSA.

IIRC, CX doesn't even have an input field for KTNs on their website.
txflyer77 is offline  
Old Sep 24, 17, 10:04 pm
  #7  
Moderator: Delta SkyMiles, Luxury Hotels, TravelBuzz! and Italy
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 25,346
Please continue to follow this discussion in the Travel Safety and Security Forum
Thanks..
Obscure2k
TravelBuzz Moderator
obscure2k is offline  
Old Sep 25, 17, 5:43 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: San Antonio, TX
Programs: AA EXP, DL Silver, Global Entry
Posts: 1,626
Since NZ2 isn’t a participating airline the OP couldn’t have gotten PreCheck on his BP. Non-participating airlines don’t qualify for random inclusion. And yes, I’m one of those flyers who thinks PreCheck ought to be tied to the passenger regardless of the carrier being flown but that’s not the way it works.
Randyk47 is offline  
Old Sep 26, 17, 12:13 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: LAX, PRG, TLV
Programs: Delta AmEx Gold, United MileagePlus Explorer, Former Delta Silver Medallion & United Premier Silver
Posts: 113
Originally Posted by txflyer77 View Post
The KTN does *not* come through when you fly CX. AFAIK Pre requires additional IT integration between the airline and TSA.

IIRC, CX doesn't even have an input field for KTNs on their website.
That said, it is very interesting that some airlines do ask for KTN when they are not part of PreCheck. For example, I recently made a booking on HU and KTN was part of the passenger information form.

Sign of things to come someday or just wishful thinking?
okamzikprosim is offline  
Old Sep 26, 17, 12:27 am
  #10  
Moderator: Travel Safety/Security, Travel Tools, California, Los Angeles
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: VNY | BUR | LAX
Programs: AAdvantage | MileagePlus
Posts: 11,788
Originally Posted by okamzikprosim View Post
That said, it is very interesting that some airlines do ask for KTN when they are not part of PreCheck. For example, I recently made a booking on HU and KTN was part of the passenger information form.

Sign of things to come someday or just wishful thinking?
Please continue the discussion of that line of thought in the following thread in the Trusted Travelers forum:
TSA Pre✓ģ ONLY with Participating Airlines [merged threads]
Thank you,

TWA884
Travel Safety/Security co-moderator
TWA884 is offline  
Old Sep 28, 17, 2:44 pm
  #11  
Moderator: Travel Safety/Security, Travel Tools, California, Los Angeles
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: VNY | BUR | LAX
Programs: AAdvantage | MileagePlus
Posts: 11,788
Exclamation Moderator's Action

A recent post discussing the manner in which airlines and the TSA communicate trusted travelers information for TSA Pre✓ passengers was moved to the above linked thread.

TWA884
Travel Safety/Security co-moderator
TWA884 is offline  
Old Nov 19, 17, 8:13 pm
  #12  
Moderator: Travel Safety/Security, Travel Tools, California, Los Angeles
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: VNY | BUR | LAX
Programs: AAdvantage | MileagePlus
Posts: 11,788
Exclamation Moderator's Action

A recent question about the logistics of connecting at LAX was moved to the following thread in the Los Angeles forum:

2017 LAX Connecting / Connection / Connections thread

TWA884
Moderator, Travel Safety/Security, Los Angeles
TWA884 is offline  
Old Nov 19, 17, 11:26 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Australia
Programs: NZ *G
Posts: 5,737
Were you flying all the way AKL-LAX-LHR? My understanding is that there is a special arrangement for THAT flight.....
trooper is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread