Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Travel Safety/Security > Practical Travel Safety and Security Issues
Reload this Page >

When will a passenger make a citizen's arrest of a TSA Officer?

Old Nov 20, 2010, 8:49 am
Original Poster

I am a US attorney living overseas watching the news daily about the circus in the USA regarding TSA body scans and intrusive searches. I live in communist China and we have less intrusive security getting on planes here (in a communist country) than in the United States.

The Fourth Amendment to the US Constitution reads:

The right of the people to be secure in their persons, houses, papers, and effects, against unreasonable searches and seizures, shall not be violated, and no Warrants shall issue, but upon probable cause, supported by Oath or affirmation, and particularly describing the place to be searched, and the persons or things to be seized.

The ONLY entity which can create a valid constitutional exception to Fourth Amendment is the Supreme Court of the United States. Laws passed by congress which might limit the Fourth Amendment are not necessarily constitutional. In the end it is up to the Supreme Court to decide.

When a TSA officer says "you gave up your rights when you agreed to get in this line" he is referring to a case which went to the Supreme Court: US v. Davis, 482 F.2d 893 (1973). In US v. Davis the Supreme Court held that a warrantless search, also known as an administrative search, is valid under the Fourth Amendment:

screening of passengers and of the articles that will be accessible to them in flight does not exceed constitutional limitations provided that the screening process is no more extensive nor intensive than necessary, in the light of current technology, to detect the presence of weapons or explosives, that it is confined in good faith to that purpose, and that potential passengers may avoid the search by electing not to fly.

There are multiple problems with the present actions by the TSA.