Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > Americas > Peru
Reload this Page >

Signal along the Inca Trail?

Signal along the Inca Trail?

Old May 24, 16, 12:03 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: LIM
Programs: United Premier Silver (Former Premier 1K), Hilton Gold, Bonvoy Silver, AmEx Plat
Posts: 551
Signal along the Inca Trail?

Hey everyone,

A friend is looking forward to do the Inca Trail. However, he's wondering if there's signal along the trail, so he can post updates and pictures.

If any of you have any experience with it, let us know! Thanks in advance!
joseeantonior is offline  
Old May 25, 16, 9:57 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Body in Downtown YYZ, heart and mind elsewhere
Programs: UA 50K, refugee from AC E50K.
Posts: 4,966
This morning I took the train from Urubamba to Aguas Calientes. For much of the way, I had little to no signal on Movistar. Granted I was down in the valley and the trail is higher up, but I can't imagine there would be that much difference.
RCyyz is offline  
Old May 25, 16, 10:09 pm
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: LIM
Programs: United Premier Silver (Former Premier 1K), Hilton Gold, Bonvoy Silver, AmEx Plat
Posts: 551
Originally Posted by RCyyz View Post
This morning I took the train from Urubamba to Aguas Calientes. For much of the way, I had little to no signal on Movistar. Granted I was down in the valley and the trail is higher up, but I can't imagine there would be that much difference.
Thanks! I'll pass that on
joseeantonior is offline  
Old May 27, 16, 11:03 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Heraklion, Greece
Posts: 6,598
Allow me a sarcastic point of view: what would these people have done, who want to hike on the Inca trail but need their cell phone/Internet, if they had been born 30 years earlier? Commit suicide?
KLouis is offline  
Old Jul 20, 16, 8:01 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: BOI
Posts: 223
Without a selfie or a live update, it didn't happen.
travellingwineO is offline  
Old Aug 20, 16, 1:49 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: SAN
Programs: DL FO
Posts: 3,561
Just wrapped up our trek. I had a signal until lunch on day one. Then had a signal for a short time on day 3 at the point over-looking Aguas Calientes. Also had some reception @ MP.

I actually did a FaceTime with my family on day 3.
CalVol is offline  
Old Aug 20, 16, 2:15 pm
  #7  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: LIM
Programs: United Premier Silver (Former Premier 1K), Hilton Gold, Bonvoy Silver, AmEx Plat
Posts: 551
Originally Posted by CalVol View Post
Just wrapped up our trek. I had a signal until lunch on day one. Then had a signal for a short time on day 3 at the point over-looking Aguas Calientes. Also had some reception @ MP.

I actually did a FaceTime with my family on day 3.
Do you remember with which provider?
joseeantonior is offline  
Old Aug 21, 16, 8:47 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: SAN
Programs: DL FO
Posts: 3,561
Originally Posted by joseeantonior View Post
Do you remember with which provider?
Movistar ... I have t-mobile and just set my phone to automatically select carrier. Movistar was what I always got everywhere in Peru.

I'm in Panama this week and it's digicel.
CalVol is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread