Porter Airlines

Old Jul 8, 19, 7:53 am
  #1576  
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: YQT
Programs: AC, US, AA, UA, BA, QF, DL...
Posts: 434
Originally Posted by DCA writer View Post
My rolling luggage meets the size requirements, maybe even the weight requirements for the three-night trip I'm planning out of IAD in late May, but there's no way it fits overhead on a Q400. . . . So will they gate-check the bag for free--meaning I should eat the $22 extra a Standard fare would cost over Basic--or will they not, meaning I should buy a Basic fare and eat the checked-bag fee on that?
Porter offers a skycheck service where you put your bag on a cart as you board the plane and get it back at the bottom of the stairs or on the jetbridge when you land. In my experience, they usually don't weigh bags you're taking on board with you, so if you buy the Standard fare you should be fine. If you try to actually gate-check a bag they will probably charge you.

Originally Posted by DCA writer View Post
It will fit underneath a seat, but then the seat behind had better stay vacant.
I'm not sure what you mean by this. The bag goes under the seat in front of you, so your seat will be occupied.

I do recall one flight a couple of years ago where the woman in front of me kept trying to put her purse under her own seat (i.e. in my foot space). It had to be explained to her that she was supposed to use the space in front of her.
Arcanum is offline  
Old Jul 9, 19, 9:43 pm
  #1577  
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: DCA, IAD (not BWI if I can help it)
Programs: UA 1K, Marriott Plat, status-free on AA, AS, B6, DL, WN, Amtrak
Posts: 1,260
Originally Posted by respectable_man View Post
Curious to hear of your experience. That fee for carry-on is evil.
Thanks for reminding me to return to this topic! I wound up wimping out and borrowing smaller rolling luggage that did fit overhead. But then I didn't see anybody asked to check the size or weight of their bags at IAD, and other people seemed to be taking advantage of that skycheck service without being asked to produce a credit card. So my only regret about my booking wound up being not paying a little extra to reserve a seat that would let me enjoy the view of Toronto from the right side of the plane.

Originally Posted by Arcanum View Post
I'm not sure what you mean by this. The bag goes under the seat in front of you, so your seat will be occupied.
So last year, I had my usual rolling luggage that fits just fine above a seat on a 737 or A320 but not at all on an E145. But the flight was maybe half full, so instead of giving up after boarding and having the bag gate-checked, I stashed it on the floor under the vacant seat to my right, where only part of it fit under the next row of seats and the rest stuck into the legroom of that fortuitously unoccupied seat. In retrospect, there's no way that was kosher for evacuating the plane, but nobody said anything about it at the time.
DCA writer is offline  
Old Sep 30, 19, 12:25 pm
  #1578  
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 83
I booked a 'Basic Fare' with Porter Airlines. I arrived early for my return flight from MDW to YTZ so I tried to get onto the earlier flight. There was space, including when I checked AFTER everybody had boarded. However, they wanted $150 extra to allow me to fly standby. I declined.

I just don't understand the logic from their perspective. They had empty seats they could have filled. My flight was completely full so people may have been bumped or at the very least they couldn't allow people to fly standby. Why wouldn't they want to fill their seats by moving people onto earlier flights if possible?

Air Canada has always allowed me to standby for free so unsure if this is normal?
JetLife is offline  
Old Sep 30, 19, 1:48 pm
  #1579  
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: YYZ
Posts: 1,422
Lightbulb

Originally Posted by JetLife View Post
I booked a 'Basic Fare' with Porter Airlines. I arrived early for my return flight from MDW to YTZ so I tried to get onto the earlier flight. There was space, including when I checked AFTER everybody had boarded. However, they wanted $150 extra to allow me to fly standby. I declined.

I just don't understand the logic from their perspective. They had empty seats they could have filled. My flight was completely full so people may have been bumped or at the very least they couldn't allow people to fly standby. Why wouldn't they want to fill their seats by moving people onto earlier flights if possible?
Long gone are the days of setting prices based on cost. Prices are set based on what the customer is willing to pay (or based on "value", as some will say).

Originally Posted by JetLife View Post
Air Canada has always allowed me to standby for free so unsure if this is normal?
Oh yeah? How long ago? On what fare?
blue2002 is offline  
Old Sep 30, 19, 2:17 pm
  #1580  
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 83
Originally Posted by blue2002 View Post
Long gone are the days of setting prices based on cost. Prices are set based on what the customer is willing to pay (or based on "value", as some will say).

Oh yeah? How long ago? On what fare?
I've done it on the cheapest fares available if memory serves (Standard or whatever AC calls it). I'm Altitude 25k this year and have done it multiple times from MTL that I can remember. I've also done it in years passed before I had status but I can't recall specifically what fare class I purchased (I always purchase cheapest available but they've changed in recent years and not all fare classes are always available so I can't be 100%).

Anyway, just frustrating to see a plane with empty seats fly away while we're sitting at the gate while our flight is completely full and I know at least one person that was flying standby on that flight and couldn't get on it because we weren't bumped up! Idiocy!

Not to mention Porter made me pick up my boarding pass from the gate agent instead of online because of this Basic Fare too! That is just costing them money (gate agent time) and frustrating consumers. Bad business in my view. The idea should be to charge for extras on things that cost the airline more, not cost the airline less! Online check-in should be cheapest followed by kiosk followed by gate agent.
JetLife is offline  
Old Oct 12, 19, 11:50 am
  #1581  
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 5
Plus their "Q"400 quiet turboprops are massively louder than the turboprops used by BRA within Sweden.
ladylord is offline  
Old Nov 12, 19, 11:24 am
  #1582  
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 136
Do they allow small back back as a free carry on bag? Pre boarding for family?
Sherab Sherab is offline  
Old Nov 12, 19, 7:52 pm
  #1583  
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: New York, NY
Programs: AA Gold. UA Silver, Marriott Gold, Hilton Diamond, Hyatt (Lifetime Diamond downgraded to Explorist)
Posts: 6,682
Can't remember about family preboarding but they aren't huge planes.



Originally Posted by Sherab Sherab View Post
Do they allow small back back as a free carry on bag? Pre boarding for family?
Yoshi212 is offline  
Old Nov 16, 19, 12:10 am
  #1584  
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2
In YTZ (Billy Bishop), will Porter allow you to check in at any time for your flight? My flight leaves in the afternoon and I was thinking to drop off the rental in the morning, check in my luggage and then head to the CN tower/downtown prior to boarding. I understand that having a German passport, I cannot check in online but only at the counter. Any experiences greatly apprecciated.
VS007 is offline  
Old Nov 17, 19, 3:24 am
  #1585  
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the Air - Mix of HKG/HND/LGA/YYZ
Programs: US CP, AA EXP, DL Silver, HH Gold, SPG Gold, Club Carlson Gold, Hyatt Plat, Hertz 5*, National Exec
Posts: 485
Originally Posted by Sherab Sherab View Post
Do they allow small back back as a free carry on bag? Pre boarding for family?
They definetly allow for family pre-boarding.

Porter generally preboards before the plane is ready for boarding which means waiting in the jet bridge and having a line of people behind you.

Small plane and if there are two or more of you, you will have one side. I would prefer to board last. Let everyone else get on the plane. Once there is no rush of people behind you you can slowly make your way down the aisle and get settled.
ericcheung is offline  
Old Dec 2, 19, 10:43 am
  #1586  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Francisco/Tel Aviv/YYZ
Programs: CO 1K-MM
Posts: 10,455
Yesterday was fun, EWR-YTZ... mosto f the schedule was cancelle,d but a few that left, were circling above YTZ and then turned back to EWR, I'm surprised they couldn't land at YYZ. very weird.


I cancelled (After a 2 hr hold, it wouldn't let me change it online) and rebooked on United, we got to YYZ early.
entropy is online now  
Old Dec 2, 19, 11:28 am
  #1587  
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 466
Originally Posted by entropy View Post
Yesterday was fun, EWR-YTZ... mosto f the schedule was cancelle,d but a few that left, were circling above YTZ and then turned back to EWR, I'm surprised they couldn't land at YYZ. very weird.


I cancelled (After a 2 hr hold, it wouldn't let me change it online) and rebooked on United, we got to YYZ early.
YYZ was also not having a great day with inbound flights dealing with quite lengthy ground delay programs, thus most likely in no position to accept diversions from anywhere (unless emergency of course)
AC681 is offline  
Old Dec 2, 19, 12:00 pm
  #1588  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Francisco/Tel Aviv/YYZ
Programs: CO 1K-MM
Posts: 10,455
indeed, they weren't, but its too bad..

when porter goes wrong it goes really wrong...
entropy is online now  
Old Mar 9, 20, 11:41 am
  #1589  
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NYC
Programs: AA PLT, Amex PLT
Posts: 181
Flew Porter for the first time yesterday YOW-YTZ-EWR.

Question: When I arrived at YTZ and went to make the connection, passengers connecting to Canadian flights were directed to a different gate area than passengers connecting to US flights. My flight to EWR left from Gate 11, and the only other flights from this area were to BOS, MDW, and IAD.

Why are US departures segregated from Canadian departures given that YTZ does not have preclerance?

FWIW-Both my flights arrived early with very friendly service. I would definitely use Porter again.
BOSishome is offline  
Old Mar 9, 20, 9:55 pm
  #1590  
Original Member
 
Join Date: May 1998
Location: New York, NY, USA
Programs: AA 2MM, Bonvoy LTT
Posts: 12,026
Maybe they are practicing? Preclearance is supposedly in the works at YTZ.
seawolf is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: