Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Other European Airlines
Reload this Page >

Flying Malev Business Class on an AA ticket... Any revelations?

Old Mar 20, 2009, 8:11 pm
Original Poster

Programs: The usual for over 7 Million paid miles flown to date... My first paid flight was on a DC3.

I'm flying with my Spouse on Malev Hungarian Airlines in Business Class MAD - BUD next week and also from Kiev to Budapest in April. This is an airline I have no experience with. Does anyone have any input to make our journey event free, i.e., lounge use in MAD, BUD, or Borispol Airport in Kiev. Also, any input on making pre-check-in seating choices? One flight is on a partner airline, Aerosvit Ukrainian Airlines... Any input on them? I'm a Malev and Aerosvit virgin & would appreciate any input to make our journey stress-free!

Old Mar 20, 2009, 8:27 pm

Location: Palm Beach/Hungary 3.9MM AA EXP, UA GOLD 1MM, DL PLT, MARR LIFE PLT
Malev Business class is ok. On newer generation 737's its fixed seats with 5 across making the A/C seat side better than the D,E,F side. Sometimes row 1 AC is a tighter 2 seat area but I prefer it for legroom. Equally somtimes row 1 D-F only has 2 seats making 2D a very spacious seat.

Budapest airport is a joke. The lounges stink and options are few. There is an upper crust sandwich shop. Be warned all food places charge price to leave you with coins in your pockets and always just over the Hungarian Forint bill sizes. Use a credit card and avoid the currency. The airport exchange booths have awful rates find an ATM if you can. I think OTP banks runs a few, its a big bank.

On board the food is fair to good, the wine is disgusting so avoid it, and the service can be good to poor depending on the person. The planes tend to be fresh and clean. I have no info on Kiev. Malev uses the OneWorld part of the Madrid airport which is very nice.
Old Mar 21, 2009, 12:37 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist