Booking on Alamo's UK site for US rental

Old Aug 10, 14, 5:46 pm
Original Poster

Booking on Alamo's UK site for US rental

I'm a US citizen flying from California to Pennsylvania later this year. I booked a car with Alamo for $286, using both my Insiders discount and Entertainment Book coupon. For grins I went to www.alamo.co.uk and booked the same car for $228 (converted to USD from GBP by their website) - and that's without a discount or coupon (nowhere to enter codes in the booking process). All fees/taxes are listed as covered in both, plus the UK website says that rate includes CDW and Extended Protection (whatever that is), which the US booking does not. Both bookings are unlimited mileage and pay at time of rental - not in advance. I told it I was a US resident, gave my California driver's license number and home address, and it accepted it all. Their SaveTime (online pre-checkin) even linked to www.alamo.com to add my driver info and it correctly filled my address when I typed my driver's license number. It shows the contract ID as "Alamo.co.uk PI FULLY".

The booking lists the cost in GBP and USD. Since I'm paying in the US, I assume my credit card (which is US-based) will be charged in USD. Is there any likelihood of problems when I pick up the UK booked rental?
Old Aug 10, 14, 10:47 pm

I would not advise it.

http://www.alamo.co.uk/helpfulinformation/us

"Prices given on this website are not applicable to residents of the USA or Canada or holders of USA or Canadian driving licenses. By making a reservation on this site you confirm that you reside outside the USA or Canada and are not a holder of a USA or Canadian driving license and accept that your reservation may be rejected at the time of pick-up if a USA or Canadian driving license is presented."

However if you did online check in fully and just need to proceed to the car, you stand a good chance of suceeding, with only the booth person you would need to pass.
Old Aug 11, 14, 9:40 am