How are you booking your CA and MU flights?

Old Aug 10, 19, 5:50 pm
Original Poster

How are you booking your CA and MU flights?

I would prefer to book directly with the airlines whenever possible such as with AC and UA flights. I've never booked directly from CA or MU's websites before. Just wondering how are you guys booking CA and MU Y/J fares and looking to maximize your earnings with your credit cards?
Old Aug 10, 19, 11:33 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

For domestic and regional, I almost always use ctrip, and don't care about mileage.
Old Aug 10, 19, 11:58 pm
Original Poster

Originally Posted by moondog View Post
For domestic and regional, I almost always use ctrip, and don't care about mileage.
You're not crediting your CA and MU flights to any program? I've never used Ctrip before. Do they display the fare type so that I know exactly how many miles I'll get when crediting to a partner program?
Old Aug 11, 19, 12:33 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist

I credit CA to UA and MU to DL; no need to book on their websites. But, the miles earned are almost too much of a pittance to bother with. Let's put it this way, I would never pay an extra y500 in order to earn an additional 500 Delta miles. That's basically throwing away money imo
lsquare likes this.
Old Aug 11, 19, 12:42 am
Original Poster

I credit CA to UA and MU to DL; no need to book on their websites. But, the miles earned are almost too much of a pittance to bother with. Let's put it this way, I would never pay an extra y500 in order to earn an additional 500 Delta miles. That's basically throwing away money imo
Gotcha, but does Ctrip show the fare type? I guess there's not much to worry about with MU since pretty much all of their flights get 100% MQM on DL right?

I was also hoping to use AMEX Platinum to book since it gets 5x, but only if booked directly from the airline.
Old Aug 11, 19, 12:46 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Originally Posted by lsquare View Post