Wiki Posts
Search

Asia to Australia award ticket

Search this Thread

Old Jul 10, 2018, 10:44 pm
Original Poster

Asia to Australia award ticket

Hi,

I'm looking to book two award ticket in business class from Asia to Australia in late December. Ideally I was looking to redeem Alaska Airlines points with Cathay for Hong Kong to Brisbane/Sydney but I've been checking and calling for like 2 months and not availability. I wanted to see what other suggestions people had for business class awards. I'm flexible as to where I leave from in Asia tho Hong Kong, Macau, Taipei or maybe Shanghai would be ideal. I'd prefer to fly into Brisbane but Sydney would also be ok. I have AA/United/Alaska Miles as well as Chase/Citi/MR points I can transfer if necessary.

Any help of advice would be greatly appreciated.

Edited it to make it clear I am looking for 2 seats, sorry.

Thanks
Zach

Last edited by zach46290; Jul 11, 2018 at 12:13 am
Old Jul 10, 2018, 11:47 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

The week before Christmas - late December is a peak time to travel. Airlines will be expecting a lot of cash sales

Have you looked at which airlines fly the routes you are considering?
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Brisbane_Airport
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sydney_Airport
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gold_Coast_Airport

AA & AS have many common ff partners (in Oneworld), but the AS award chart is limited.
With AA when looking for award not all partners are available on line.

Have you looked for SQ business class award flights (United partner)

Edit.
Just looked at you other post on this topic in this thread--->Cathay Pacific (CX) Award Redemption, Booking and Availability – 2017 and Later
In that you say 2 business award tickets. So 4 times as hard (2 squared)

Originally Posted by zach46290