Help! flying Sydney(SYD)-Cairns(CNS) R/T. use cash or pts?

Old Dec 27, 17, 11:46 pm
Original Poster

Programs: UA Gold, AS 75K, Hilton Diamond, Hyatt Explorist
Help! flying Sydney(SYD)-Cairns(CNS) R/T. use cash or pts?

Hi,

I'm trying to fly Sydney to Cairns first week of Feburary 2018. I'm seeing prices via Quantas/Virgin Australia for ~$350 a person. The LCCs are charging ~$250. I will have one bag with me, so I was thinking of purchasing the Quantas fare. Just wanted to get some comments if that price is more on the expensive side or if I should wait to book. Maybe another option is use points? I think it cost ~20k avios for a round trip and I can transfer via MR? I can use AS miles too but none of the award flights are direct. Any other options?

I know FT is not a travel agency etc, but this is my first time booking travel in Australia.
Old Dec 28, 17, 12:00 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Originally Posted by emofeng View Post
I'm trying to fly Sydney to Cairns first week of Feburary 2018. I'm seeing prices via Quantas/Virgin Australia for ~$350 a person. The LCCs are charging ~$250. I will have one bag with me, so I was thinking of purchasing the Quantas fare. Just wanted to get some comments if that price is more on the expensive side or if I should wait to book. Maybe another option is use points? I think it cost ~20k avios for a round trip and I can transfer via MR? I can use AS miles too but none of the award flights are direct. Any other options?
SYD CNS is 1222 miles ~ 3hours. So it will cost.
I do not know the $ fare range for this route, but if you need to go you have no choice.
You could use different airlines up to CNS & back to SYD. No benefit in buying a return on the same airline.

Are you looking at com.au web sites or selecting Au as the booking site?
https:// www. qantas . com/ au / en.html https://www.qantas.com/au/en.html

Have you checked award availability? There will be $ in additional to the BA avois or AS miles