Help for a newbie flyer

Old Sep 12, 09, 6:47 pm
Original Poster

Smile Help for a newbie flyer

Hey all,

I've been lurking for a while, reading posts, familiarizing myself with the way of the flier. See, I'm a college student, flying independently for the first time, so I was looking to have a few n00bish questions answered if you have a minute. Sorry if the level of newbie-ness is so painful you must turn away.

Here's my itinerary, first off, starting tomorrow:
NW68 DTW-AMS
Airbus 330-300
Depart: McNamara terminal, 5:40PM
Arrive: 7:35AM

KL1145 AMS-OSL
Fokker 70
Depart: 12:35PM
Arrive:2:25PM

So, I checked in online and printed my stylish boarding pass.

1. I don't quite know the procedure for actually... flying hahaha. I assume that will be quite clear since it's a linear process. Anyway, what are some strategies for getting in quickly as possible without any complications? I last flew ten years ago, before all the shiv hit the fan.

2. Luggage! I don't understand the connecting flight system. So, since I'm flying an NW flight and then a KLM flight (codeshare?), but they were both purchased on the same ticket, will the airport push my baggage along, or do I have to retrieve it, and then check it in again for my KLM flight?

3. Word on the street is that AMS is quite a snazzy airport. What's the likelihood of me finding a wall outlet to plug my laptop in?

Thanks guys
Old Sep 12, 09, 7:11 pm
Moderator: Delta SkyMiles, Luxury Hotels, TravelBuzz! and Italy

Welcome to Flyertalk, anida97. We love "noobies" and there are no "painful" questions.
Just a quick tutorial: There are specific Airlines Forums (NW, being one). Normally, a question about a specific airline can be found in the airline-specific