Buying tickets from Studentuniverse.com?

Old Jan 4, 05, 6:28 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Original Poster

Programs: AA gold/SPG something or another
Arrow Buying tickets from Studentuniverse.com?

I found a pretty competitive fare from SAN to Shanghai on this site. I called and asked about mile accrual, and they said that only 250miles per SEGMENT are accrued.

Here's my question... since these are student fares, what fare class do these get slotted in?

Can I call NW and ask them to price it out directly, explain i'm a student yada yada (which I realize won't hurt)?

I don't have elite status on NW, but on AS where i'd get them banked. Can I just save the boarding passes and fax them to AS and hope for the best when it comes to miles?

Thanks in Advance!!
Old Jan 4, 05, 6:36 pm

Programs: Skyteam Elite, Starwood Gold, Kmart ShopYourWay Rewards
*bump*...anyway only 250 miles on such a long flights really sucks. How good is the fare? It'd need to at least $100 lower to justify the almost nil miles. Just call NW anyway no matter what and talk. Maybe even call a couple of times.
Anyway, I'm interested to know what happens and hope someone else answers the OP's questions better.
Old Jan 4, 05, 6:43 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Original Poster

yeah it really does suck.

the best (or worst) part is that it gets routed on the return through DTT for extra mileage. Sucky if I can't accrue it. I'll try callin NW later when I have a chance.

Fare is $735, lowest fare on NWA.com is close to $1000

edit: found the fare using an e-cert for $863 but it's from LAX Think i'll just go for that anyways, it's a more direct flight, no 6 hr stop in DTW either. My brother lives near LAX so he'll watch my car for me.... makes sense to get the miles for the extra 130. Let's cross our fingers for a fare reduction so I can get an adjustment.

Last edited by civicmon; Jan 4, 05 at 8:14 pm
Old Jan 5, 05, 12:15 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Originally Posted by civicmon
yeah it really does suck.