Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > America - USA > New York City
Reload this Page >

Need decent Manhattan hotel <$200 with ensuite bathroom.

Old Jul 11, 2008, 10:00 am
Original Poster

I am having a hard time finding a decent hotel in Manhattan for <$200 for one night, October 18. I believe because it is Saturday night in the fall, the rates are high. ($300-400+, Even LaQuinta is >$300!). I don't want to share a bathroom nor stay in Jersey. Decently located, safe, nicer accomodations are a definite plus.

I am willing to accept alternatives like apt-hotels, etc. As long it is decently located. (not Bronx, etc).

I am not good with the search function. Thank you for your help.
Old Jul 11, 2008, 10:07 am
Suspended

Programs: United 1K, HHonors Gold, MR Gold
Your best option might be Priceline, if you're comfortable bidding (and paying a non-refundable) price for a hotel whose name will be revealed only if your bid succeeds. For me, the trick is to bid for hotels at least one star category higher than what you usually stay in. So if you're normally comfortable staying only in 3* hotels, don't bid for anything less than a 4*. (That way, even if the hotel isn't exactly what you want, it's likely a lot nicer than what you usually stay in.) I wouldn't bid for anything less than a 4*.
Old Jul 11, 2008, 11:14 am
Original Poster

Originally Posted by Kate_Canuck
Your best option might be Priceline, if you're comfortable bidding (and paying a non-refundable) price for a hotel whose name will be revealed only if your bid succeeds. For me, the trick is to bid for hotels at least one star category higher than what you usually stay in. So if you're normally comfortable staying only in 3* hotels, don't bid for anything less than a 4*. (That way, even if the hotel isn't exactly what you want, it's likely a lot nicer than what you usually stay in.) I wouldn't bid for anything less than a 4*.