FlyerTalk Forums

FlyerTalk Forums (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/index.php)
-   New England (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/new-england-452/)
-   -   No Name Restaurant, Boston (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/new-england/1426381-no-name-restaurant-boston.html)

oldgoldflyer Jan 10, 2013 2:15 pm

No Name Restaurant, Boston

I used to go to the No Name restaurant on the fish pier when I was a student. We got very good fresh fish and delicious chowder cheap.

I'd love to get the local's take on this place. Is it still good? If not, where would you go?

cordelli Jan 10, 2013 3:37 pm

I haven't been for a while, but the last time I went it wasn't the same as it was decades ago. The review sites are an interesting read, they seem to get as many five star reviews as they do one star, and just about nothing in between.

However, the last time we went, probably four or five years ago, the chowder was still excellent.

They aren't so cheap anymore either (menupages has their menu). It was still good, but it was certainly not the value or quality it once was. If I was to go back I would just get a few bowls of the chowder and skip the rest.

Out of my Element Jan 11, 2013 6:02 am

It's turned into a bit of a "tourist bus mill" -- there's often a bus or two parked out front, and tables filled with folks on tours. However the food is still pretty good, and the views are nice, and it is cheaper than the rest of the seafood places on the waterfront. If you're lucky you can still get the little back room on the ground floor, and it feels like it did back in the 70's and 80's.

The fish chowder is still the standout, though.

oldgoldflyer Jan 12, 2013 9:01 am

I don't put too much stock in the review sites, they tend to be dominated by competitors with hotmail accounts. I'd like to hear directly from some FTers.

tkey75 Jan 12, 2013 9:50 am

Originally Posted by oldgoldflyer (Post 20031937)