Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > America - USA > New England
Reload this Page >

Boston hotels? Which Priceline zones or don't bother?

Boston hotels? Which Priceline zones or don't bother?

Old Oct 6, 2010, 7:35 pm
Original Poster

Question Boston hotels? Which Priceline zones or don't bother?

I've got a trip to Boston for about 4 days, later this month, as a tourist. I've never been to Boston before and am unsure where to stay. I'll be flying to Boston but don't plan on renting a car. I hope to depend on public transportation and a minimum of cabs.

I haven't figured out what I'm going to see yet, but I will go through the list at http://www.frommers.com/destinations...4_indattr.html in descending order of stars. I do know plan to take campus tours of MIT and Harvard (for fun, I graduated from college ages ago) but those aren't the only two things I'll do.

I've had reasonably good luck w/Priceline before (I'm very familiar with the advanced free re-bid algorithm). What zones should I pick or avoid based upon the above or should I not bother and just stick to sites like Expedia? I'm not looking for lap of luxury (places like La Quinta, Marriott Courtyard, Holiday Inn and their Express hotels are fine) but value, personal safety and proximity to public transit are important.

To save time, here are screenshots of Priceline's zones.
[img=http://img37.imageshack.us/img37/8725/boston1.th.jpg]
[img=http://img836.imageshack.us/img836/4818/boston2.th.jpg]
Thanks in advance!

Last edited by cwerdna; Oct 6, 2010 at 7:55 pm
Old Oct 6, 2010, 7:52 pm

Programs: CO Plat; UA 1K; EK Gold
have you looked at betterbidding.com? they have a sorted list of what property you will most likely get. very useful info.
Old Oct 6, 2010, 7:54 pm
Original Poster

Originally Posted by snod08
have you looked at betterbidding.com? they have a sorted list of what property you will most likely get. very useful info.