Search

Key Bank--Debit card for miles?

Search this Thread

Old Oct 20, 2003, 12:30 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Original Poster

Location: Finally back in Boston after escaping from New York
Key Bank--Debit card for miles?

Okay, go easy on me because I am new to the "debit card for miles" plan, but I just got off the phone with Key Bank (1-888-539-1234, for those who want to check my math--very friendly, by the way), and the representative told me that it doesn't matter whether I use credit or debit, I still get 1 mile per $2 that I spend. In other words, I could go to the post office, buy the money order, redeposit, earn miles, lather, rinse, repeat. Since this sounds like the holy grail of debit cards, could somebody point out where I made my mistake? Thanks.

Mike

Edited to add link to Key site:

http://www.key.com/templates/t-ps3.j...&link=bullet1#

[This message has been edited by mikeef (edited 10-20-2003).]
Old Oct 20, 2003, 2:07 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Well, there's this from the rules:

"A maximum of 80,000 OnePass miles per Checking Account may be earned annually by making Purchases.

OnePass miles are not earned by any use of the Card for cash advances (including ATM and check transactions), teller withdrawals, checks paid (including check truncation or electronic checks), point-of-sale cash back transactions greater than the purchase amount, annual fee for the Card, returned checks and other adjustments to your Checking Account. "

So - it's CO only, costs $30/yr, and the rules seem to prohibit playing games with circulating money.

OTOH, if you pay everything with your debit card (and I suspect you can get some folks to accept debit before credit) you might be able to make out.

I wish someone who was an accomplished "money launderer" could give a definitive answer on this.
Old Oct 20, 2003, 2:25 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Original Poster