Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > MilesBuzz
Reload this Page >

Paying off a large chunk of student loans - trying to find a mileage opportunity

Paying off a large chunk of student loans - trying to find a mileage opportunity

Old Apr 12, 10, 9:37 pm
Original Poster

Here's the nitty gritty.
I have a large chunk of money set aside ~$36K to pay off a student loan.

The company that services the loan seems to only accept ACH payments online.

Any suggestions on making this transaction work for miles somehow?

I currently hold a Citi AA card, Chase BA (100k offer), and Delta Amex. I'm a PhD student so my income is limited and I'd like to find a way to make this work. Maybe one of the banking offers? Thoughts?

Thanks all.
Old Apr 12, 10, 10:38 pm

Programs: Hyatt Globalist, SPG/Marriott Gold, AA Gold
Who is the servicer? Have you called them about options? I know Sallie Mae will take a CC, but only for the monthly balance that is currently due (last I checked...)
Old Apr 12, 10, 10:58 pm

Programs: DL, CO, Hilton, SPG
Originally Posted by JB5150 View Post
Who is the servicer? Have you called them about options? I know Sallie Mae will take a CC, but only for the monthly balance that is currently due (last I checked...)
Really? I can't find anywhere on the Sallie Mae website to pay via CC. Please do tell.
Old Apr 13, 10, 6:48 am

Programs: Mile-High Club, Marriott Plt, SPG P-75, PC Plt, Hyatt Dia, Carlson Gold, BW Dia
Consider the following instead:

1. Consolidate the loans at a low interest rate.
2. Put all that cash into high-yield investments (Roth IRA, brokerage accts)that will outpace the interest on the loans.
3. Pay the loans off through the standard payment plan.

Between consolidation and the discounts offered with automatic payment plans, you should pay around 3-5% in interst on the loans. It's reasonable to expect at least 10% yield on a Roth. This doesn't even count the tax advantages of student loan interest deduction and Roth disbursements.