Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Mileage Run Deals > Mileage Run Discussion
Reload this Page >

TIP: More hidden features of ITA

TIP: More hidden features of ITA

    Hide Wikipost
Old Nov 18, 17, 3:59 am   -   Wikipost
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: hillrider
Wiki Link
Here are some more hidden features of the ITA software.

The extensions to the itasoftware routing language are accessed by postpending commands after a '/'. There's a wide set of commands available, but there's no description of them available on the ITA web site. Unfortunately, each command applies only to one part of the trip, so they must usually be entered in each box.

EXCLUDE SPECIFIC AIRLINES
Command is "-airlines XX ..."
Ex: prohibit jetBlue or Delta
from: BOS ::/ -airlines B6 DL
to: LAX ::/ -airlines B6 DL

LIMIT TO SPECIFIC AIRLINES
Command is "airlines XX ..."
Ex: consider only jetBlue or Delta
from: BOS ::/ airlines B6 DL
to: LAX ::/ airlines B6 DL

LIMIT TO A SINGLE ALLIANCE
Command is "alliance star-alliance|oneworld|skyteam"
Ex: oneworld carriers only
from: BOS ::/ alliance oneworld
to: LAX ::/ alliance oneworld

EXCLUDE CODESHARES
Command is "-codeshare"
Ex: prohibit jetBlue or Delta
from: BOS ::/ -codeshare
to: LAX ::/ -codeshare

LIMIT DURATION OF ITINERARY, IN MINUTES
Command is "maxdur XXX"
Ex: no more than 5hrs for each part of trip
from: BOS ::/ maxdur 300
to: LAX ::/ maxdur 300

EXCLUDE OVERNIGHT STOPS, AIRPORT CHANGES, REDEYES, PROPELLER PLANES, TRAINS, HELICOPTERS, ANY KIND OF SURFACE TRAVEL
Commands are "-overnight", "-change", "-redeye", "-prop", "-train", "-helicopter", "-surface"
Ex: no overnight stops, no airport changes, no redeyes, no propeller planes
from: BOS ::/ -overnight, -change, -redeye, -prop
to: LAX ::/ -overnight, -change, -redeye, -prop

SET MINIMUM OR MAXIMUM TIME FOR CONNECTIONS, IN MINUTES
Commands are "minconnect XX", "maxconnect XX"
Ex: no less than one hour, no more than two hour connections
from: BOS ::/ minconnect 60, maxconnect 120
to: LAX ::/ minconnect 60, maxconnect 120

EXTRA CONNECTION TIME
Command is "padconnect XX"
Ex: require at least 20 minutes more than airline specified minimum connection time
from: BOS ::/ padconnect 20
to: LAX ::/ padconnect 20

PUTTING LOTS OF THINGS TOGETHER
Separate with commas.
Ex:
from: BOS :: UA UA / f bc=l|bc=y, -redeye, -prop
to: LAX :: UA+ / f ua.bos+lax.yup, padconnect 20, -overnight
Print Wikipost

Reply

Old Mar 21, 18, 7:01 am
  #541  
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 590
Originally Posted by Globaliser View Post

Of course, with that specific fare that you mention, if it really was that cheap then one option would have been to fly all the way to WLG, and then just fly straight back to SYD. It's only a 3 hour flight ...
Agreed. I am however having an issue with positioning for CAI. It's not the easiest in relation to times of positioning flights versus the flight needed to book so I may have to go back to the drawing board....
PAL62V is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 18, 7:24 am
  #542  
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: SW London
Programs: BAEC Gold; Hilton Diamond;a miscellany of other hotel non-statuses
Posts: 3,211
As Globaliser says, it shouldn't and probably won't make a difference but once you have a full set of cities you can try putting SYD in as the destination for a simple return and use the advanced routing codes box to indicate the route you want for the return, starting with WEL.

In the example you give, HKG in the outbound route, WEL SYD HKG in the inbound.
PAL62V likes this.

Last edited by EsherFlyer; Mar 21, 18 at 9:39 am
EsherFlyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 18, 8:22 am
  #543  
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: SW London
Programs: BAEC Gold; Hilton Diamond;a miscellany of other hotel non-statuses
Posts: 3,211
Originally Posted by PAL62V View Post
It was in response to a suggestion of a cheap J fare to Oz during December which involved a positioning flight to begin in CAI and then ending in WLG, via SYD where a long stopover was allowed. So the ticket really needed to end in WLG to enable the cheaper fare. If I used the multi city and made the second flight SYD-WLG, the price shot up, whereas if the assumption was a flight where the SYD stopover was the MCT, the price was extremely good.
If this is CAI-DXB-SYD//SYD-WEL-SYD-DXB-CAI then I'm getting the 1500 or so price using [email protected], [email protected], [email protected] in the multi-city search.

Or were you looking for something else?

Last edited by EsherFlyer; Mar 21, 18 at 9:39 am
EsherFlyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 18, 9:28 pm
  #544  
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 590
Originally Posted by EsherFlyer View Post
If this is CAI-DXB-SYD//SYD-WEL-SYD-DXB-CAI then I'm getting the 1500 or so price using [email protected], [email protected], [email protected] in the multi-city search.

Or were you looking for something else?
No, that's basically it. I'll have another check and see how it goes. Mind you, getting to CAI is a right pain due to the departure time of CAI-DXB. It looks like a layover there is what's needed. Pretty amazing city though and might be fun to go see it again.
PAL62V is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 18, 10:14 pm
  #545  
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Programs: UA 1K (Million Miler). AA Gold (lifetime 1 Million). TK Elite Gold
Posts: 625
Suppressing code shares from results

Hello, is there an easy way of suppressing code shares from flight results? For example, on a multicity itinerary, I would like to see display of only UA flights and suppressing AC metal listed as UA codeshares. Thanks
cagcag is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 18, 11:06 pm
  #546  
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: ORD
Programs: AA (current EXP, occasional PLT, 0MM); UA; DL
Posts: 6,078
Originally Posted by cagcag View Post
Hello, is there an easy way of suppressing code shares from flight results? For example, on a multicity itinerary, I would like to see display of only UA flights and suppressing AC metal listed as UA codeshares. Thanks
Write UA+ in the routing box and Nocodeshares in the extensions box.
aktchi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 18, 11:12 pm
  #547  
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Programs: UA 1K (Million Miler). AA Gold (lifetime 1 Million). TK Elite Gold
Posts: 625
Originally Posted by aktchi View Post
Write UA+ in the routing box and Nocodeshares in the extensions box.
Thank you! Easy!
cagcag is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 18, 1:49 am
  #548  
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: SW London
Programs: BAEC Gold; Hilton Diamond;a miscellany of other hotel non-statuses
Posts: 3,211
Originally Posted by aktchi View Post
Write UA+ in the routing box and Nocodeshares in the extensions box.
"O:UA" in the routing spec gives a similar effect, ensuring you are on UA metal although it could be marketed by some other airline at a better price. Useful if you are aiming for a service experience rather than FFP benefits of marketing airline.

You might also be able to use something like ~UA8000-UA9000 to exclude a block of flights for a specific partner. Not sure I've ever tried that though...

Last edited by EsherFlyer; Mar 30, 18 at 1:55 am
EsherFlyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 18, 3:37 pm
  #549  
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 2
Good Day, I am relatively new to ITA Matrix but I am feeling very comfortable as I have been playing around with it for days and reading your posts. I have found several flights but I am unable to to book them. It looks like this does happen at times based on prior posts but now I am stuck on how to change my search to find a 'real' flight. Neither Priceline,Delta or BookwithMatrix can find this. What do I next?


Itinerary details
Boston (BOS) to Rome (FCO) — Tue, Aug 14

Alitalia 615
Dep: 9:50 pm Arr: 11:50 am
8h 0m Airbus A330
Business (I)
Wed, Aug 15

Venice (VCE) to Boston (BOS) — Sun, Sep 2

Air France 1127
Dep: 10:00 am Arr: 11:50 am
1h 50m Airbus A318
Economy (Y)

Layover in CDG
22h 30m

Paris (CDG) to Boston (BOS) — Mon, Sep 3
Delta 119
Dep: 10:20 am Arr: 12:20 pm
8h 0m Boeing 767
Premium economy (W)

Cost per passenger (including taxes & fees) $2,007.81
Total cost for 3 passengers $6,023.43


How to buy this ticket
Tickets cannot be purchased directly from ITA Software.
Provide this information to a travel agent to help them match the fares found.
Make sure to provide the exact booking and fare codes shown.Fare for 2 adults, 1 youthFare 1: Carrier AZ IH1XU6D2 BOS to ROM (rules)Passenger type ADT, round trip fare, booking code ICovers BOS-FCO (Business)$873.00Fare 2: Carrier DL XKGX26C3 VCE to BOS (rules)Passenger type ADT, round trip fare, booking code Y, WCovers VCE-CDG (Economy), CDG-BOS (Premium economy)$357.00AZ YR surcharge (YR)$628.00US International Departure Tax (US)$36.60US September 11th Security Fee (AY)$5.60US Passenger Facility Charge (XF)$4.50France Passenger Service Charge International (QX)$34.80France Airport Tax Domestic And International (FR)$9.50United States Immigration User Fee (XY)$7.00United States Customs User Fee (YC)$5.65United States APHIS Passenger Fee Passengers (XA)$3.96Italy Security Bag Charge (EX)$1.50Italy Passenger Service Charge Departure (MJ)$1.00Italy Council City Tax (HB)$7.90Italy Security Charge (VT)$5.30Italy Embarkation Tax (IT)$13.50AF YQ surcharge (YQ)$13.00Subtotal per passenger$2,007.81Number of passengersx3Subtotal For 2 adults, 1 youth$6,023.43
  • This ticket is non-refundable.
  • Changes to this ticket will incur a penalty fee.
Fare Construction (can be useful to travel agents)
BOS AZ ROM M 873.00IH1XU6D2 /-VCE AF X/E/PAR DL BOS M 357.00XKGX26C3 NUC 1230.00 END ROE 1.00 XT 5.65YC 7.00XY 3.96XA 36.60US 5.60AY 1.50EX 7.90HB 13.50IT 1.00MJ 5.30VT 9.50FR 34.80QX 13.00YQ 628.00YR 4.50XF BOS4.50Total Airfare & Taxes$6,023.43
  • Email this itinerary
  • Print this page




[QUOTE]
monbdahelp is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 18, 4:47 pm
  #550  
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: ORD
Programs: AA (current EXP, occasional PLT, 0MM); UA; DL
Posts: 6,078
Mixing different cabins is tricky in online bookings, and you have each flight in a different cabin. You can try AZ, AF, Expedia, etc.
aktchi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 18, 4:48 pm
  #551  
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: ORD
Programs: AA (current EXP, occasional PLT, 0MM); UA; DL
Posts: 6,078
Mixing different cabins is tricky in online bookings, and you have each flight in a different cabin. You can try AZ, AF, Expedia, etc. Otherwise some brick+mortar TA for some extra charge (bring the ITA printout to tthem).
aktchi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 18, 5:09 pm
  #552  
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 2
Thank you! I figured it won't be easy. I guess maybe it is time to speak to a TA and see if they laugh in my face!!
monbdahelp is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 18, 6:23 pm
  #553  
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: YYC
Posts: 1,083
Originally Posted by monbdahelp View Post
Good Day, I am relatively new to ITA Matrix but I am feeling very comfortable as I have been playing around with it for days and reading your posts. I have found several flights but I am unable to to book them. It looks like this does happen at times based on prior posts but now I am stuck on how to change my search to find a 'real' flight. Neither Priceline,Delta or BookwithMatrix can find this. What do I next?
Try it again. I was able to pull the booking page on Priceline via powertools or bookwithmatrix.
zoqfotpik is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 18, 4:59 am
  #554  
FlyerTalk Evangelist & Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: London
Posts: 16,583
Originally Posted by monbdahelp View Post
Good Day, I am relatively new to ITA Matrix but I am feeling very comfortable as I have been playing around with it for days and reading your posts. I have found several flights but I am unable to to book them. It looks like this does happen at times based on prior posts but now I am stuck on how to change my search to find a 'real' flight. Neither Priceline,Delta or BookwithMatrix can find this. What do I next?
DL or AF can certainly book it over the phone. The mixture of J one way and W the other is probably confusing things.

I have had bad experiences booking multi fare itineraries directly with AZ so suggest it not be chosen as the ticketing agent.
Calchas is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 18, 5:40 am
  #555  
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sarajevo
Posts: 3,578
Originally Posted by Calchas View Post
I have had bad experiences booking multi fare itineraries directly with AZ so suggest it not be chosen as the ticketing agent.
Same here, the issue was most certainly with the multi-city's tool as such and it seems to have been rectified with the latest update.

G
AlicorporateUK is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: