Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Mileage Run Deals > Mileage Run Discussion
Reload this Page >

TIP: More hidden features of ITA

TIP: More hidden features of ITA

    Hide Wikipost
Old Nov 18, 17, 3:59 am   -   Wikipost
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: hillrider
Wiki Link
Here are some more hidden features of the ITA software.

The extensions to the itasoftware routing language are accessed by postpending commands after a '/'. There's a wide set of commands available, but there's no description of them available on the ITA web site. Unfortunately, each command applies only to one part of the trip, so they must usually be entered in each box.

EXCLUDE SPECIFIC AIRLINES
Command is "-airlines XX ..."
Ex: prohibit jetBlue or Delta
from: BOS ::/ -airlines B6 DL
to: LAX ::/ -airlines B6 DL

LIMIT TO SPECIFIC AIRLINES
Command is "airlines XX ..."
Ex: consider only jetBlue or Delta
from: BOS ::/ airlines B6 DL
to: LAX ::/ airlines B6 DL

LIMIT TO A SINGLE ALLIANCE
Command is "alliance star-alliance|oneworld|skyteam"
Ex: oneworld carriers only
from: BOS ::/ alliance oneworld
to: LAX ::/ alliance oneworld

EXCLUDE CODESHARES
Command is "-codeshare"
Ex: prohibit jetBlue or Delta
from: BOS ::/ -codeshare
to: LAX ::/ -codeshare

LIMIT DURATION OF ITINERARY, IN MINUTES
Command is "maxdur XXX"
Ex: no more than 5hrs for each part of trip
from: BOS ::/ maxdur 300
to: LAX ::/ maxdur 300

EXCLUDE OVERNIGHT STOPS, AIRPORT CHANGES, REDEYES, PROPELLER PLANES, TRAINS, HELICOPTERS, ANY KIND OF SURFACE TRAVEL
Commands are "-overnight", "-change", "-redeye", "-prop", "-train", "-helicopter", "-surface"
Ex: no overnight stops, no airport changes, no redeyes, no propeller planes
from: BOS ::/ -overnight, -change, -redeye, -prop
to: LAX ::/ -overnight, -change, -redeye, -prop

SET MINIMUM OR MAXIMUM TIME FOR CONNECTIONS, IN MINUTES
Commands are "minconnect XX", "maxconnect XX"
Ex: no less than one hour, no more than two hour connections
from: BOS ::/ minconnect 60, maxconnect 120
to: LAX ::/ minconnect 60, maxconnect 120

EXTRA CONNECTION TIME
Command is "padconnect XX"
Ex: require at least 20 minutes more than airline specified minimum connection time
from: BOS ::/ padconnect 20
to: LAX ::/ padconnect 20

PUTTING LOTS OF THINGS TOGETHER
Separate with commas.
Ex:
from: BOS :: UA UA / f bc=l|bc=y, -redeye, -prop
to: LAX :: UA+ / f ua.bos+lax.yup, padconnect 20, -overnight
Print Wikipost

Old Jun 3, 15, 5:46 pm
  #421  
FlyerTalk Evangelist & Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: London
Posts: 16,805
Originally Posted by Paul4Travel View Post
Thanks for reply.
I think it's partially correct...I mean:

with that string I can't force the departure from FRA!
You are putting this in the return routing box only right?
Calchas is offline  
Old Jun 3, 15, 6:09 pm
  #422  
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: LHR
Programs: M&M,HH Gold,Accor Plat.,Priority Club Plat. Ambassador,Club Carlson Gold,Marriott Gold,GHA Plat.
Posts: 1,627
Originally Posted by Calchas View Post
You are putting this in the return routing box only right?
Yep. Basing on your assumption (if I'm not wrong) the string will be

Depart and return from FRA or HAM or MUC or TXL or DUS
but the inbound segment must go via LHR to FRA or HAM or MUC or TXL or DUS.


It should be something like this:
FRA, HAM, MUC, TXL, DUS
> FRA f+
NYC
F+ LHR F+


?
Paul4Travel is offline  
Old Jun 3, 15, 6:17 pm
  #423  
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: LHR
Programs: M&M,HH Gold,Accor Plat.,Priority Club Plat. Ambassador,Club Carlson Gold,Marriott Gold,GHA Plat.
Posts: 1,627
Originally Posted by Paul4Travel View Post
Originally Posted by Calchas View Post
You are putting this in the return routing box only right?
Yep. Basing on your assumption (if I'm not wrong) the string will be

Depart and return from FRA or HAM or MUC or TXL or DUS
but the inbound segment must go via LHR to FRA or HAM or MUC or TXL or DUS.


It should be something like this:
FRA, HAM, MUC, TXL, DUS
> FRA f+
NYC
F+ LHR F+


?
Yep, correct, I've figured it out by myself:

FRA, HAM, MUC, TXL, DUS
> FRA f+
NYC
F+ LHR F+


thanks in any case
Paul4Travel is offline  
Old Jun 17, 15, 8:55 am
  #424  
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: LHR
Programs: M&M,HH Gold,Accor Plat.,Priority Club Plat. Ambassador,Club Carlson Gold,Marriott Gold,GHA Plat.
Posts: 1,627
Why ITA still doesn't provide any result for/to HAV even after the recent geo-political changes/agreements?
Paul4Travel is offline  
Old Jun 17, 15, 9:26 am
  #425  
FlyerTalk Evangelist & Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: London
Posts: 16,805
Originally Posted by Paul4Travel View Post
Why ITA still doesn't provide any result for/to HAV even after the recent geo-political changes/agreements?
ITA believe it remains illegal to offer this
Calchas is offline  
Old Jun 17, 15, 9:36 am
  #426  
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: LHR
Programs: M&M,HH Gold,Accor Plat.,Priority Club Plat. Ambassador,Club Carlson Gold,Marriott Gold,GHA Plat.
Posts: 1,627
Originally Posted by Calchas View Post
ITA believe it remains illegal to offer this
on which basis?
Paul4Travel is offline  
Old Jun 17, 15, 10:00 am
  #427  
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: London
Programs: Sixt Diamond, Hertz PC, Avis PC, Hyatt Explorer, IHG Spire, Marriott Gold
Posts: 4,972
Originally Posted by Paul4Travel View Post
on which basis?
The recent 'changes' are just a first step - embargo hasn't been lifted yet.
jms_uk is offline  
Old Jun 17, 15, 10:04 am
  #428  
FlyerTalk Evangelist & Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: London
Posts: 16,805
Originally Posted by Paul4Travel View Post
on which basis?
I would guess 31 CFR 515.415 or maybe 31 CFR 515.560
Calchas is offline  
Old Jun 17, 15, 10:47 am
  #429  
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: LHR
Programs: M&M,HH Gold,Accor Plat.,Priority Club Plat. Ambassador,Club Carlson Gold,Marriott Gold,GHA Plat.
Posts: 1,627
Originally Posted by jms_uk View Post
The recent 'changes' are just a first step - embargo hasn't been lifted yet.
Yep, I know, but where's the sense to allow flights from/to US-Cuba without giving the possibility to look for them in the GDS?
It's definitely a no-sense.
Paul4Travel is offline  
Old Jun 17, 15, 1:49 pm
  #430  
FlyerTalk Evangelist & Ambassador, British Airways Executive Club
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: London
Posts: 16,805
Originally Posted by Paul4Travel View Post
Yep, I know, but where's the sense to allow flights from/to US-Cuba without giving the possibility to look for them in the GDS?
It's definitely a no-sense.
ITA doesn't even show you MAD-HAV on IB
Calchas is offline  
Old Jun 17, 15, 9:08 pm
  #431  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Posts: 12,097
https://www.google.com/flights shows MAD-HAV
hillrider is offline  
Old Jun 19, 15, 3:34 pm
  #432  
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: LHR
Programs: M&M,HH Gold,Accor Plat.,Priority Club Plat. Ambassador,Club Carlson Gold,Marriott Gold,GHA Plat.
Posts: 1,627
W T F ..., why the hell ITA is not able to elaborate a stupid query like: SAN-CDG/FCO/BCN/ATH +-2d? it's easy enough, but for some reason that routes have some problems. I've tried to reduce the query setting alliances or airlines..

"
com.google.travel.boombox.qpx.client.QpxException: QPX service error. Query timeout. (no location information)
"

the same with a whole month query.

A comparable query like: FRA-JFK/ORD/IAD/BOS works perfectly..

Last edited by Paul4Travel; Jun 19, 15 at 3:40 pm
Paul4Travel is offline  
Old Jun 19, 15, 5:22 pm
  #433  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: in the vicinity of SFO
Programs: AA PLT 1MM
Posts: 18,690
Originally Posted by Paul4Travel View Post
W T F ..., why the hell ITA is not able to elaborate a stupid query like: SAN-CDG/FCO/BCN/ATH +-2d? it's easy enough, but for some reason that routes have some problems. I've tried to reduce the query setting alliances or airlines..

"
com.google.travel.boombox.qpx.client.QpxException: QPX service error. Query timeout. (no location information)
"

the same with a whole month query.

A comparable query like: FRA-JFK/ORD/IAD/BOS works perfectly..
The timeout means they're either overloaded, or throttling it more.
nkedel is offline  
Old Jun 24, 15, 7:01 am
  #434  
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Europe
Posts: 210
True. I've had the "QPX service error. Query timeout" message more than once.

Back, refresh, re-submit and most of the times it worked.
lgts is offline  
Old Jul 2, 15, 2:37 pm
  #435  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: SNA
Posts: 17,389
Has anyone had trouble sending a screen shot of a ITA itinerary/pricing to their corporate travel agent and them not being able to match/understand it. Getting incredibly frustrated.
VickiSoCal is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: