Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Mileage Run Deals > Mileage Run Discussion
Reload this Page >

{prem fare gone}: AF/KL/DL/VS: BUD-US from $750 R/T

{prem fare gone}: AF/KL/DL/VS: BUD-US from $750 R/T

    Hide Wikipost
Old Apr 11, 20, 5:15 am   -   Wikipost
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: nldogbert
Wiki Link
FARE RULES:
I pulled down the DL fare rules (these are BUD-SEA but they all appeared nearly identical). I posted them on a share. We can easily grab the AF and KL variants if others need those.

Q: This is a fully flexible fare with free changes. Does that mean I can change the flight dates as I want without paying anything extra?
A: No. The airline simply doesn't charge a change fee. But depending on the fare rules, you will still need to pay the difference to the new price.

Q: But I read that some people could change their flights for free...?
A: The rules for this fare (linked to above) specify that historical pricing shall be used if either at least one flight from the ticket has been taken or the outbound remains the same. In other words, in order to be able to change your flights for free, you must have flown at least one flight from your booking. Otherwise, you can only change the inbound. The outbound has to remain the same or you will be charged the fare difference.

Q: Can I change the rest of the itinerary after flying the first segment without any other charges or additional fare differences?
A: Yes this is possible according to the fare rules where after completing the first segment, you can change the rest of the flights for free (with the condition that the same fare class is available- I-class - in this case. According to the fare rules, after flying the FIRST segment (in the case here BUD-XXX) the historical fare is used. Possible to use the first stopover at AMS or CDG (see post #830).

Q: But some people could change their outbound flights for free!
A: They got lucky. It was probably a bug on the website/in the app. When no flight from the ticket has been flown, the fare rules do not allow changing the outbound without repricing.

Q: Ok, ok, so I can only change the inbound for free. How do I do that?
A: You search for availability for alternative flights on ITA Matrix using "F ..I2FFHU" in the extension codes. You must search for round trip flights as this is a round trip fare. Then you ignore the outbound result (as long as you haven't flown at least one flight from your ticket) and just try to rebook your inbound on the website/app.

Q: I have found availability on ITA Matrix, but the app/website doesn't show me those flights!
A: Keep trying. Sometimes you may have to serach in a different way (split up the searches, e.g. HNL-LAX and LAX-BUD), sometimes you just have to repeat the search several times. But that's no guarantee the desired results will turn up (and without repricing).

Q: It doesn't work. Can I just call the airline to make the changes?
A: Please don't. It increases the risk for all of us that they'll change their mind and disallow all further changes, or simply cancel everyone's tickets.

Q: How many times can I make changes?
A: In theory, as often as you like, but you can't make more than two changes online/in the app. After that, you'd have to call, which we are trying to avoid.

Q: I've changed my mind. Can I get a refund?
A: Yes, the fare was fully refundable. Just contact the airline or fill out a refund form online.

Print Wikipost

Old May 21, 20, 12:52 pm
  #1246  
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 4
Originally Posted by canadavid View Post
Is it a DL, KL or AF ticket?
DL
Loualex1399 is offline  
Old May 22, 20, 1:49 am
  #1247  
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 11
Originally Posted by alpha21 View Post
Did anyone recently try to change the routing and/or to change from Economy to business class using the historical fare, due to a cancellation in the origin routing?
I got a routing where the legs SEA-HNL and HNL-SEA is in Economy. the HNL-SEA leg is cancelled without any rebooking (since approx. 3 weeks now). Any chance to use this for reason to change the routing and to change to business seating?
Regards.
any idea?
alpha21 is offline  
Old May 22, 20, 2:16 am
  #1248  
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Belgium
Posts: 112
Originally Posted by canadavid View Post
1 - Check the flight you want (with « I » availability)
2 - contact delta through iMessage or Messenger with flight you want for rebooking
Would changing the flights to for example BUD-LHR-LAX instead of BUD-AMS-LAX work?
Passportinonehand is offline  
Old May 22, 20, 3:04 am
  #1249  
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Surrey
Programs: BA Silver, Eurostar Carte Blanche, IHG Spire Elite, Hilton Gold, Marriott Silver
Posts: 296
Originally Posted by Passportinonehand View Post
Would changing the flights to for example BUD-LHR-LAX instead of BUD-AMS-LAX work?
I tried to reroute BUD-AMS-SEA-YVR to BUD-CDG-YVR (KL ticket) online and by WhatsApp and was quoted fare difference. No date change.
​​​​​​
Would be interested to hear if anyone has had any luck with similar changes.
s1362083 is offline  
Old May 22, 20, 3:25 am
  #1250  
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: AMS
Programs: BAEC Silver, Flying Blue Peon, TK M&S Nobody
Posts: 926
Originally Posted by Passportinonehand View Post
Would changing the flights to for example BUD-LHR-LAX instead of BUD-AMS-LAX work?
No airlines on this ticket fly BUD-LHR.
Maestro Ramen likes this.
etiene is offline  
Old May 22, 20, 11:25 am
  #1251  
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Calgary, Canada
Programs: BA Gold
Posts: 1,003
Originally Posted by s1362083 View Post
I tried to reroute BUD-AMS-SEA-YVR to BUD-CDG-YVR (KL ticket) online and by WhatsApp and was quoted fare difference. No date change.
​​​​​​
Would be interested to hear if anyone has had any luck with similar changes.
Most likely because the routing *must* touch the US. This fare was not valid to Canada. Your destination of YVR is actually a stop on the return trip from SEA.
SEA-Flyer and etiene like this.
YYCCL3 is offline  
Old May 22, 20, 11:36 am
  #1252  
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 4
Originally Posted by YYCCL3 View Post
Most likely because the routing *must* touch the US. This fare was not valid to Canada. Your destination of YVR is actually a stop on the return trip from SEA.
This fare was valid for Canada too. I got a BUD-AMS-YYZ-AMS-BUD ticket.
etiene likes this.
Loualex1399 is offline  
Old May 22, 20, 11:37 am
  #1253  
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: AMS
Programs: BAEC Silver, Flying Blue Peon, TK M&S Nobody
Posts: 926
Originally Posted by s1362083 View Post
I tried to reroute BUD-AMS-SEA-YVR to BUD-CDG-YVR (KL ticket) online and by WhatsApp and was quoted fare difference. No date change.
​​​​​​
Would be interested to hear if anyone has had any luck with similar changes.
Originally Posted by YYCCL3 View Post
Most likely because the routing *must* touch the US. This fare was not valid to Canada. Your destination of YVR is actually a stop on the return trip from SEA.
It’s also the outbound - absent a cancellation a refare is appropriate.
YYCCL3 likes this.
etiene is offline  
Old May 22, 20, 12:11 pm
  #1254  
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Surrey
Programs: BA Silver, Eurostar Carte Blanche, IHG Spire Elite, Hilton Gold, Marriott Silver
Posts: 296
Originally Posted by YYCCL3 View Post
Most likely because the routing *must* touch the US. This fare was not valid to Canada. Your destination of YVR is actually a stop on the return trip from SEA.
Originally Posted by Loualex1399 View Post
This fare was valid for Canada too. I got a BUD-AMS-YYZ-AMS-BUD ticket.
Its an open jaw, with return from YYZ.

Originally Posted by etiene View Post
It’s also the outbound - absent a cancellation a refare is appropriate.
True, I was thinking it should be ok as no outbound date change, but I suppose reroute would also not be
etiene likes this.
s1362083 is offline  
Old May 22, 20, 12:14 pm
  #1255  
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Programs: Flying Blue Platinum, Le ClubAccor Gold
Posts: 257
The fare was indeed valid to Canada as I have a trip to Montreal (included in the sale as a destination)
However, YVR could be done only through SEA on the outbound As a stopover on the inbound as stated (as not included in the sale as a destination)
etiene likes this.

Last edited by canadavid; May 22, 20 at 12:22 pm
canadavid is offline  
Old May 22, 20, 1:06 pm
  #1256  
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Surrey
Programs: BA Silver, Eurostar Carte Blanche, IHG Spire Elite, Hilton Gold, Marriott Silver
Posts: 296
Originally Posted by canadavid View Post
The fare was indeed valid to Canada as I have a trip to Montreal (included in the sale as a destination)
However, YVR could be done only through SEA on the outbound As a stopover on the inbound as stated (as not included in the sale as a destination)
Good point, I now remember that the only reason I routed via SEA was because it didn't allow the more direct routing
s1362083 is offline  
Old Yesterday, 1:42 am
  #1257  
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 348
To get rerouted I think you only need to wait until last minute when the airline will do what ever it takes to get you to your destinaton. Eg in february during a stormy day with alot of distruptions KLM let me rebook my flight FCO-AMS-LPI to NAP-CDG-ARN with no questions.
criced is offline  
Old Yesterday, 4:26 am
  #1258  
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 2
Originally Posted by s1362083 View Post
I tried to reroute BUD-AMS-SEA-YVR to BUD-CDG-YVR (KL ticket) online and by WhatsApp and was quoted fare difference. No date change.
​​​​​​
Would be interested to hear if anyone has had any luck with similar changes.

I had the following routing:

BUD-AMS-SEA-LAX
LAX-HNL
HNL-SEA-AMS-BUD
2 nights in LAX and 2 weeks in Hawaii


all in I

Now I have the following route:
BUD-AMS-SLC-SFO
LAX-OGG
HNL-SLC-AMS-BUD
10 days Cali
7 days Maui
7 days oŽahu

from HNL everything in D ​​​​​​​

all changes via DL iMessage
UpInTheAir279 is offline  
Old Yesterday, 1:52 pm
  #1259  
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: STR-BUD-ZRH-MUC-FRA
Posts: 205
anybody has any experience how long a routing will stay in PNR if ticket isnot changed? Mine is there - additionally to the one from ticket - for 2 months?
Tenere is offline  
Old Yesterday, 4:42 pm
  #1260  
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MSP
Programs: DL PlatMM, BA Silver, AlaskaAir Gold, HHonors DIA, Accor Silver, Marriott Silver, IHG Plat, TK/UA/AA
Posts: 3,940
Originally Posted by UpInTheAir279 View Post
I had the following routing:

BUD-AMS-SEA-LAX
LAX-HNL
HNL-SEA-AMS-BUD
2 nights in LAX and 2 weeks in Hawaii


all in I

Now I have the following route:
BUD-AMS-SLC-SFO
LAX-OGG
HNL-SLC-AMS-BUD
10 days Cali
7 days Maui
7 days oŽahu

from HNL everything in D

all changes via DL iMessage
That's great. Had you had any cancelled flights before attempting to make changes?
​​​​​​​
kyushuman is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: