Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Mileage Run Deals > Mileage Run Discussion
Reload this Page >

{prem fare gone}: AF/KL/DL/VS: BUD-US from $750 R/T

{prem fare gone}: AF/KL/DL/VS: BUD-US from $750 R/T

    Hide Wikipost
Old Dec 17, 20, 12:49 am   -   Wikipost
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: Maestro Ramen
Wiki Link
FARE RULES:
I pulled down the DL fare rules (these are BUD-SEA but they all appeared nearly identical). I posted them on a share. We can easily grab the AF and KL variants if others need those.

Q: This is a fully flexible fare with free changes. Does that mean I can change the flight dates as I want without paying anything extra?
A: No. The airline simply doesn't charge a change fee. But depending on the fare rules, you will still need to pay the difference to the new price.

Q: But I read that some people could change their flights for free...?
A: The rules for this fare (linked to above) specify that historical pricing shall be used if either at least one flight from the ticket has been taken or the outbound remains the same. In other words, in order to be able to change your flights for free, you must have flown at least one flight from your booking. Otherwise, you can only change the inbound. The outbound has to remain the same or you will be charged the fare difference.

Q: Can I change the rest of the itinerary after flying the first segment without any other charges or additional fare differences?
A: Yes this is possible according to the fare rules where after completing the first segment, you can change the rest of the flights for free (with the condition that the same fare class is available- I-class - in this case. According to the fare rules, after flying the FIRST segment (in the case here BUD-XXX) the historical fare is used. Possible to use the first stopover at AMS or CDG (see post #830).

Q: But some people could change their outbound flights for free!
A: They got lucky. It was probably a bug on the website/in the app. When no flight from the ticket has been flown, the fare rules do not allow changing the outbound without repricing.

Q: Ok, ok, so I can only change the inbound for free. How do I do that?
A: You search for availability for alternative flights on ITA Matrix using "F ..I2FFHU" in the extension codes. You must search for round trip flights as this is a round trip fare. Then you ignore the outbound result (as long as you haven't flown at least one flight from your ticket) and just try to rebook your inbound on the website/app.

Q: I have found availability on ITA Matrix, but the app/website doesn't show me those flights!
A: Keep trying. Sometimes you may have to serach in a different way (split up the searches, e.g. HNL-LAX and LAX-BUD), sometimes you just have to repeat the search several times. But that's no guarantee the desired results will turn up (and without repricing).

Q: It doesn't work. Can I just call the airline to make the changes?
A: Please don't unless you need to. Calling can increase the risk for all of us that they'll change their mind and disallow all further changes, or simply cancel everyone's tickets. However, as this fare has now been running for months and has seen many calls made about it, it is reasonable to expect that calling will not cause issues at this stage. As best practice, avoid attracting attention on the low price paid, and avoid making additional demands or tempting your luck. Remember you get to fly a J ticket for the cost of a Y fare.

Q: How many times can I make changes?
A: In theory, as often as you like, but you can't make more than two changes online/in the app. After that, you'd have to call, which we are trying to avoid.

Q: I've changed my mind. Can I get a refund?
A: Yes, the fare was fully refundable. Just contact the airline or fill out a refund form online.

Q: Due to Coronavirus, I need to extend my travel plan beyond the original expiry date. What can I do?
A: For Delta tickets (starting with 006) you can travel at any point until December 2022. Changes to flights within a 10 month window can be done at any point on the app, following the rules above. If you want to fly later than 10 months from now, you can call Delta and ask them to "park" your ticket. You will receive a ticket number that ties to an eCredit which can be used later to buy tickets. As long as you keep the original itinerary, or if you have flown at least a segment, you will not be charged a fare difference. Bear in mind that the eCredit may only be refundable if your original flight was cancelled (which is very likely in those day and times). Note that only Delta in the US are able to do this so do not call the EU numbers (use Skype to save money on international calls). According to user feedback: iMessage agents seem to also be able to do this, but twitter agents not.
Print Wikipost

Old Apr 26, 21, 6:55 pm
  #2491  
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Programs: Nectar Card Holder
Posts: 668
Originally Posted by foxyankee View Post
Hi!



Yes of course,i told them so several times.
That rule did not change for a year now and they obviously had NOT been aware of the genereal situation out of almost every european country.
I wonder what would have happened if you quoted them the current entry rule from a relevant government website, or even pasted in a link. Presumably that would definitively show that this ticket isn't possible for you.
futuramadramallama is offline  
Old Apr 26, 21, 9:33 pm
  #2492  
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 189
Originally Posted by foxyankee View Post
I had to cancel.
There was absolutely no chance to change flights without paying the fare difference at all.

The "funny" situation was in the chat as well as on the phone:
Delta Staff told me several times (even "after checking with the supervisor") that it is no problem to fly to the

Ehm... NO!



Still: NO!



I told them in a calm way and a friendly way that this information is 100% NOT correct, but they insisted.

At the end the only possibility was the cancellation.

Thanks anyway for the help!
Sorry you weren't able to travel. Just to be clear, you were initiating a voluntary change, correct? There was no schedule change/cancellation?
benjinito is offline  
Old Apr 27, 21, 4:03 pm
  #2493  
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: EDSB
Programs: TK elite & BA Gold
Posts: 254
Originally Posted by benjinito View Post
Sorry you weren't able to travel. Just to be clear, you were initiating a voluntary change, correct? There was no schedule change/cancellation?
We can discuss about the word "voluntary", but yes - there was no mayor change in flights / departure times and no cancellation.

Just the fact that noone is presently able to board unless you have a very special business visa issued was the reason to ask for a rebooking.

However:
I know this was totally according to the rules of Delta Airlines: So no complaint from my side!
I tried to make it possible however.
foxyankee is offline  
Old May 1, 21, 1:54 pm
  #2494  
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New York, NY
Programs: AA ExPl, DL PM, UA Silver, Hyatt Globalist, Marriott Titanium, probably some others
Posts: 2,631
Yet to fly a leg of this trip, ticketed on DL. I called in once, had a nice rep who forwarded it to the rate desk, after 20 minutes of holding, I was told that I had already done my one-time change and any other change would make me pay the change in fare. I said I would think about it and call back. Called back a few days later and got a even nicer rep who processed the change herself and said that she would waive the small difference in fare because I'd been on hold for more than an hour. As always, HUCB.
kyushuman likes this.
steveholt is offline  
Old May 1, 21, 1:59 pm
  #2495  
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: RDU
Posts: 674
AF rebooking of DL US domestic legs

I have a AF-stock BUD-LIH ticket with stopovers in the mainland US both ways. The ticket was originally issued by priceline but I was able to rebook directly with AF a while ago due to multiple cancellations under their 30-day cabin-to-cabin rebooking policy. During that rebooking process, the agent initially had some issues finding any availability for the mainland US - LIH - mainland US portions of the trip, but eventually succeeded. Since this was cabin-to-cabin, some legs ended up in J, and even more strangely, the only option for the mainland US - LIH leg was US - CDG - LAX - LIH which is how the ticket was reissued. The LIH - mainland US leg didn't route through Europe.

Anyway, now there are new cancellations, including flights on both legs of the mainland US - LIH - mainland US portion. Calling AF today to get rebooked, the agent was trying to rebook me cabin-to-cabin, went ahead and found availability for the BUD - mainland leg, but then could not see *any* options for mainland US - LIH - mainland US, checking for an entire month, neither on the expected route directly through LAX / SEA nor the "detour" route going through Europe (which, mileage earnings aside, wouldn't be my preferred routing these days). Yet every single day shows available DL flights on ITA and dl.com. Given both the initial trouble of the first agent who eventually succeeded and this new agent who failed, are there any specific steps AF agents need to take to book purely domestic US legs on DL like these, as they appear not be showing up (easily) in their system?

Edit: to follow up on my initial post, I ended up calling again a few days after my previous call and while the agent initially also had trouble seeing any flights from the mainland US to/from LIH, they eventually were able to see the DL flights via LAX or SEA. After putting together the new flights that were about 4 weeks later than the old flights, they initially said they couldn't reprice and would have to send it to the rate desk to calculate the fare difference because the flights changed by more than 4 days, but when I mentioned that it was my understanding that changes within 30 days could be done as rebooking without a fare difference, they checked again, agreed that it was 30 days, and were eventually able to complete the exchange.

Last edited by hogo74; May 5, 21 at 3:05 pm Reason: Follow-up to original post
hogo74 is offline  
Old May 2, 21, 9:00 am
  #2496  
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: ATL
Programs: AS G, WN CP, HH D, MB P, IHG S, Nat'l EE, Hertz PC
Posts: 475
Originally Posted by steveholt View Post
Yet to fly a leg of this trip, ticketed on DL. I called in once, had a nice rep who forwarded it to the rate desk, after 20 minutes of holding, I was told that I had already done my one-time change and any other change would make me pay the change in fare. I said I would think about it and call back. Called back a few days later and got a even nicer rep who processed the change herself and said that she would waive the small difference in fare because I'd been on hold for more than an hour. As always, HUCB.
Did you have any cancelations or was this strictly a voluntary change?
ncSam is offline  
Old May 2, 21, 1:24 pm
  #2497  
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New York, NY
Programs: AA ExPl, DL PM, UA Silver, Hyatt Globalist, Marriott Titanium, probably some others
Posts: 2,631
Originally Posted by ncSam View Post
Did you have any cancelations or was this strictly a voluntary change?
I had some schedule changes.
steveholt is offline  
Old May 4, 21, 9:29 am
  #2498  
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: BER
Programs: BAEC, M&M
Posts: 526
Would a 4h50min schedule change be a good enough reason to ask for an inbound route change on AF?
Deckter is offline  
Old May 4, 21, 9:45 am
  #2499  
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Programs: Delta Gold, OW Sapphire,Aeroplan Silver, VS Silver, ITA Gold
Posts: 274
Originally Posted by Deckter View Post
Would a 4h50min schedule change be a good enough reason to ask for an inbound route change on AF?
definitely enough for any change in your ticket. you can change inbound and outbound as well and different routing. depends on agent as always.
fridgy is offline  
Old May 4, 21, 10:02 am
  #2500  
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: BER
Programs: BAEC, M&M
Posts: 526
Originally Posted by fridgy View Post
definitely enough for any change in your ticket. you can change inbound and outbound as well and different routing. depends on agent as always.
Thank you. With the recent equipment change to lie-flats on SEA-HNL I kind of regret choosing LAX on the way back, so I'll try to change it.

Fingers crossed they let me add a stopover as well.
Deckter is offline  
Old May 4, 21, 10:31 pm
  #2501  
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 191
If France opens up to Americans this summer but Hungary doesn't, any chance AF will let us change our departure point to CDG instead of BUD? I'm guessing no but have we had any data points of people being able to change the departure city?
xslash10x is offline  
Old May 5, 21, 12:28 am
  #2502  
Used to be guidogh
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Programs: FB Ultimate, TAP Gold, Royal Air Maroc Gold, Hilton Diamond.
Posts: 298
Originally Posted by xslash10x View Post
If France opens up to Americans this summer but Hungary doesn't, any chance AF will let us change our departure point to CDG instead of BUD? I'm guessing no but have we had any data points of people being able to change the departure city?
you could consider transitting in BUD.. that is allowed.. make sure you fly in via another city then CDG if BUD-CDG is your first leg, and keep the transit under a certain amount of hours. I did it and had no issues..
futuramadramallama likes this.
Hollandair is offline  
Old May 5, 21, 1:49 am
  #2503  
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: BER
Programs: BAEC, M&M
Posts: 526
Originally Posted by Hollandair View Post
you could consider transitting in BUD.. that is allowed.. make sure you fly in via another city then CDG if BUD-CDG is your first leg, and keep the transit under a certain amount of hours. I did it and had no issues..
Can confirm this, and also entering Hungary by land to go to the airport is possible if you can show a ticket departing from BUD.
futuramadramallama likes this.
Deckter is offline  
Old May 5, 21, 3:41 am
  #2504  
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: AMS
Programs: KLM Elite for life; LH Senator for life
Posts: 210
Had yesterday my second change done with Delta Messaging. I had 3 involuntary changes in my reservation. It took very long (9 hours in total in 2 days) to get a Representative on line but than everything went smootly. Kept the itinerary unchanged.

Only limitation was that Delta did not want to issue new ticket numbers but insist that my original Travel Agency has to do this.
Anybody knows why this is?? Is this not something that happens automatically??

Please note: Travel agency (OTA) has no telephone number en does not reply to emails.
kyushuman likes this.

Last edited by Terbang; May 5, 21 at 3:48 am
Terbang is offline  
Old May 5, 21, 7:42 am
  #2505  
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: ATL
Programs: AS G, WN CP, HH D, MB P, IHG S, Nat'l EE, Hertz PC
Posts: 475
Originally Posted by Hollandair View Post
you could consider transitting in BUD.. that is allowed.. make sure you fly in via another city then CDG if BUD-CDG is your first leg, and keep the transit under a certain amount of hours. I did it and had no issues..
Originally Posted by Deckter View Post
Can confirm this, and also entering Hungary by land to go to the airport is possible if you can show a ticket departing from BUD.
Thank you both for the data points. In about a month, I'm considering transiting on separate tickets, and am wondering what the time restrictions are on transit. I can do a 1.5 hour Schengen to Schengen transit, but this is tight in case of IRROPS. My other option, if allowed, is to have an overnight in BUD. I see the following on the airport website, but no details are provided on the permissible transit time, whether one must remain in a secured area, etc. Any information or guidance you can provide based on your experience would be much appreciated.

non-Hungarian citizens arriving from abroad in passenger traffic may enter Hungary for the purpose of transiting if they subject themselves to medical examination on entry, and the medical examination does not establish the suspicion of COVID-19 infection.
hogo74 likes this.
ncSam is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread