mileage run from YVR to PTY

Old Sep 15, 19, 8:29 pm
Original Poster

Programs: Aeroplan
mileage run from YVR to PTY

Hi all, newbie here. got a quick question regarding worthiness of doing a mileage run from YVR to PTY, via SFO and IDA. total flown mileage is 8400 mi round trip, for $749 CAD, all business class.

I am currently E35k with Aeroplan, will hit 71k before end of year based on my travel plans.

I did a quick calculations to see if this flight is worthwhile, as below, hoping y'all would give me some pointers.

$800 / (8400miles x 150%) * 100 = 6.3 CPM (all flight legs are either AC or a combination of AC and UA)

is my methodology above making sense? I plan to travel more or less the same as this year, roughly 70k for the entire year.

this idea of spending $800, just to upgrade to E75k is little mind boggling. trying to do the math here.

appreicate all ya'll support.

Sen
Old Sep 15, 19, 8:50 pm

750 CAD for roundtrip J to Panama is good, even if it is narrowbody. Have you been to Panama City? Nice place to visit for a day or two.
Old Sep 15, 19, 8:56 pm
Original Poster

thanks for quick reply. never been to Panama city, I heard it is gorgeous place with lots to see and do. but heard getting out of the airport can be quite tricky and expensive.

Any suggestions for a short 22 hr layover?

cheers
Sen
Old Sep 16, 19, 5:00 am

Programs: AAdvantage ExPlat LT Gold, BA Silver, Aegean Star Gold
Originally Posted by sensei271 View Post
thanks for quick reply. never been to Panama city, I heard it is gorgeous place with lots to see and do. but heard getting out of the airport can be quite tricky and expensive.

Any suggestions for a short 22 hr layover?

cheers
Sen
The canal is a must! I'm not usually a fan of the hop on / off buses but might be worth it since time is limited. Parts of Panama City can be rough, I stayed at the Marriott a few years ago and it was fine...