Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Mileage Run Deals > Mileage Run Discussion
Reload this Page >

[PREM FARE GONE] Ek/qf cai-wlg c 2005

[PREM FARE GONE] Ek/qf cai-wlg c 2005

Old Jul 11, 17, 2:07 am
  #1  
Used to be highman123
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 3,541
[PREM FARE GONE] Ek/qf cai-wlg c 2005

- another flavor of CAI deals with EK and QF for the very last leg from MEL

- books into C, QF codeshare for the long leg on A380

- 16k miles flown, 225% RDM with AS, comes out as 5 CPM

https://www.google.com/flights/#sear...2-03-2018;sc=b
josepciv likes this.
MightyTravels is offline  
Old Jul 11, 17, 3:10 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 5,358
Also ZQN.

Some nice routings available too.

It makes a huge difference as to whether you use EK or QF codes to the YQ. Using EK codes for the CAI-DXB significantly reduces it.

Last edited by Pat89339; Jul 13, 17 at 12:34 am Reason: TOS 7
Dave_C is offline  
Old Jul 11, 17, 7:14 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Programs: QF WP, QR GOLD, TK GOLD, EY GOLD, AF/KLM GOLD
Posts: 390
How long can the stopover be WLG or ZQN? Maximum stay permitted?
zainman is offline  
Old Jul 11, 17, 9:32 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Utah
Programs: AA EXP, AS G75K
Posts: 104
Will this really credit to AS? Per AS "Flights must fall within the eligible flight number range below, and your flight must be marketed and operated by Emirates"
Looks like QF marketed and EK operated (except the leg to/fr NZ). Maybe i'm missing something here
Coffee84 is offline  
Old Jul 11, 17, 10:01 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Utah
Programs: AA EXP, AS G75K
Posts: 104
I do see some legs on marketed/op by QF. QF1/QF2 for AS using EK cai-dxb-syd per the blog by Dave_C
Coffee84 is offline  
Old Jul 11, 17, 11:36 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Utah
Programs: AA EXP, AS G75K
Posts: 104
Looks like i'll have to credit AS on outbound then oneworld (AA) on the return (dxb-syd-dxb long legs). I can't get it to price out w/ an EK flight either way. cai-dxb-syd-wlg r/t
ex)
ek926 qf2 qf163
qf164 qf8413 ek927 <-- can't get an EK flight to price out ex)EK415
Coffee84 is offline  
Old Jul 14, 17, 2:21 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Seattle, WA
Programs: AS MVP Gold, IHG Spire Ambassador, Hyatt Globalist, SPG Gold, WR, AA Gold, Friend of Dorothy
Posts: 144
I see some of these fares are low as $1905 RT in J to ZQN.

I actually booked this as a QF ticket

EK CAI-DXB

QF operated by EK DXB-SYD

QF SYD-ZQN

Return is similar.

Coffee 84 left off the last sentence from AS website regarding EK earning which says, "Ticket has to be on Emirates ticket stock to qualify."
Source: (click on details) https://www.alaskaair.com/content/mi.../emirates.aspx

Since the CAI-DXB-SYD legs are EK not on EK ticket stock, according to AS website, these legs will not qualify.

From every thread I've read in the AS FT forum, DL/KL/AF and BA/AA flights operated by one another get credited -- albeit often with an email request to Mileage Plan. But AS doesn't say on their earning page of their website that these flights need to be purchased on their ticket stock. It appears that EK is the only AS partner that say this.

So, I went ahead and canceled my booking. I really wish this would credit to AS. Anyone have experience with this?
JimmyJoe is offline  
Old Nov 20, 17, 11:42 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: SIN
Programs: AS MVPG75k, AA Plat
Posts: 730
Ek/qf cai-wlg c 2005

Prices out correctly on Orbitz. Can route DXB BKK SYD on 1 leg as illlustrated, should be possible on both legs. Rules say 1 free stopover albeit not in DXB.
Catweazle likes this.
Unionruler is offline  
Old Nov 20, 17, 11:54 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Programs: NZ
Posts: 1,268
Nice - there appear to be quite a few stopover options in Asia though I haven't tried to cost any out.
Interestingly stopovers in DXB are not allowed!
minz56 is offline  
Old Nov 21, 17, 4:37 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 641
how many BA tp?
raporot is offline  
Old Nov 21, 17, 5:53 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Programs: NZ
Posts: 1,268
Originally Posted by raporot View Post
how many BA tp?
The OP isn't in BAEC. Perhaps you might like to work it out yourself from the itinerary s/he has kindly provided.
minz56 is offline  
Old Nov 21, 17, 6:32 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: London
Programs: BAEC Silver, SPG Gold, Hilton Gold, Melia Gold, Shangri-La Jade, BA Amex PP, Iberia+, Nandos Card
Posts: 1,523
Originally Posted by raporot View Post
how many BA tp?
Up to 640 depending on route, you will only earn for the QR codeshare legs (i.e. not CAI - DXB)

CAI - DXB : 0
DXB - BKK : 140
BKK - SYD/MEL : 140
SYD/MEL - WLG : 40
obduro is offline  
Old Nov 21, 17, 7:57 am
  #13  
Moderator: Qatar Airways
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: LHR/NCE/MIA
Programs: BAEC GfL & GGL, SQ Gold, Amex Centurion, Mucci des Chevaliers des Bons Mots et Qui Savent Moucher
Posts: 8,312
Originally Posted by obduro View Post
Up to 640 depending on route, you will only earn for the QR codeshare legs (i.e. not CAI - DXB)

CAI - DXB : 0
DXB - BKK : 140
BKK - SYD/MEL : 140
SYD/MEL - WLG : 40
Are you sure about the BKK-SYD element?

In the example fare, it's on the same flight number, and my understanding is that that causes all sorts of issues...but results in only one set of TPs.

M
msm2000uk is offline  
Old Nov 21, 17, 8:52 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: ORD
Programs: BA, AA, SQ, UA, AC, WS, MR TIT
Posts: 8,466
Originally Posted by raporot View Post
how many BA tp?
Probably: 160+60x2= 440 TPs
NA-Flyer is online now  
Old Nov 21, 17, 8:52 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: London
Programs: BAEC Silver, SPG Gold, Hilton Gold, Melia Gold, Shangri-La Jade, BA Amex PP, Iberia+, Nandos Card
Posts: 1,523
Originally Posted by msm2000uk View Post
Are you sure about the BKK-SYD element?

In the example fare, it's on the same flight number, and my understanding is that that causes all sorts of issues...but results in only one set of TPs.

M
Well spotted - if it's one flight number it will only earn one set (I think?)
msm2000uk likes this.
obduro is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread