Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Mileage Run Deals > Mileage Run Discussion
Reload this Page >

Do same day turns in Moscow need the $150 visa?

Do same day turns in Moscow need the $150 visa?

Old Mar 13, 12, 5:18 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: DCA
Programs: AA EXP (0.425MM), AS MVP 75K, National Executive Elite, Marriott PPE, UA Silver, DL Gold
Posts: 1,093
Do same day turns in Moscow need the $150 visa?

I've searched in a couple of threads for this, and have yet to find a definitive answer.

With the UA/DL <$500 deals to Moscow now active, I am trying to figure out if that $150 visa for US citizens is needed for a same day turn in the airport?

The closest I could come to an answer was that, as long as you have your BP for the return flight (hard to do on a TATL w/o mobile BPs), then you don't need one?

Has anyone done a same day turn in either DME/SVO and can tell the tale?

Thanks.
PaceLaw2012 is offline  
Old Mar 13, 12, 5:27 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: PDX/AUS
Programs: AA-UA-AS IHG-SPG-Carlson
Posts: 4,562
IIRC someone was able to do this,
although not knowing if the airline would board
the passenger w/o visa was stressful.

Last edited by MrHalliday; Mar 31, 12 at 2:40 pm
MrHalliday is offline  
Old Mar 13, 12, 11:03 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: SEA
Programs: AA EXP (1.7MM), Hilton Gold, SPG Gold, Marriott Plat
Posts: 4,819
Maybe search in http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/russia-485/ or do a post there for more help...
mikelat is offline  
Old Mar 13, 12, 11:42 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Aurora, CO
Programs: Statusless and proud
Posts: 6,826
No visa needed according to this.

Chris
JayhawkCO is offline  
Old Mar 13, 12, 11:45 pm
  #5  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis: DL DM charter 2.3MM
Programs: A3*Gold, SPG Plat, HyattDiamond, MarriottPP, LHW exAccess, ICI, Raffles Amb, NW PE MM, TWA Gold MM
Posts: 88,309
Suppose you miss your outward connection or the flight is cancelled. What happens then if you do not have a visa for Russia? Is it worth the risk of something going wrong?
MSPeconomist is offline  
Old Mar 13, 12, 11:47 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Aurora, CO
Programs: Statusless and proud
Posts: 6,826
Originally Posted by MSPeconomist View Post
Suppose you miss your outward connection or the flight is cancelled. What happens then if you do not have a visa for Russia? Is it worth the risk of something going wrong?
Well, assuming you're on UA or DL metal (the MRs being discussed right now), it'd be the same plane taking you back, so it'd be tough to miss the connection. As to a cancellation, that might be a bit more hairy, but there might be emergency visas for similar things.

On a somewhat related note, a fellow traveler I met in Vietnam was flying AMS-BKK on KLM and it had to make an emergency stop somewhere in Kazakhstan. Since they couldn't fly out right away, the airlines got some emergency visas for the passengers.

Chris
JayhawkCO is offline  
Old Mar 14, 12, 12:13 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: LAX
Posts: 9,392
Originally Posted by JayhawkCO View Post
No visa needed according to this.

Chris
if you read further down that thread you'll find the evidence of less fortunate outcome

http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/11643401-post90.html
http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/11712699-post128.html

i personally would strongly advise against trying this but some people are willing to gamble...
azepine00 is offline  
Old Mar 14, 12, 12:29 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Aurora, CO
Programs: Statusless and proud
Posts: 6,826
Originally Posted by azepine00 View Post
if you read further down that thread you'll find the evidence of less fortunate outcome

http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/11643401-post90.html
http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/11712699-post128.html

i personally would strongly advise against trying this but some people are willing to gamble...
Good call. I had only read ozstamps report. If I were back in the US right now I'd be willing to gamble, but I'm a product of the internet poker generation.

Chris
JayhawkCO is offline  
Old Mar 14, 12, 1:21 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: SEA
Programs: AS MVP 75K, DL Diamond, LH SEN, Hyatt Globalist, Marriott Ambassador
Posts: 2,342
I'd do it if something similar were available out of IAH. The last DME run from TX was on SQ but that wasn't eligible for miles.
BryanIAH is offline  
Old Mar 19, 12, 9:35 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NE & SE Asia, N America
Programs: TG ROP Gold, Lifetime OZ Diamond Plus, BA Gold
Posts: 3,105
I did an immediate turnaround at DME two years ago, which you can read about here. However I originated in BKK, not the States. AFAIK, there is no need for an onward boarding pass - I didn't have one, nor a visa, and traveled on a USA passport. But if UA or DL refuse to issue your initial boarding pass without a visa, then you obviously can't do it.
A_Lee is offline  
Old Mar 19, 12, 9:41 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: englewood nj
Posts: 123
you need a transit visa returning to the US from the US is not considered a third country for transit purposes in Russia
drwoo is offline  
Old Mar 19, 12, 10:09 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Idaho
Programs: US Airways, Silver United, Gold Hilton, Platinum Marriott, Gold SPG
Posts: 748
Good to know
SiberianTiger is offline  
Old Mar 31, 12, 2:37 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Luxembourg
Programs: KLM/AF Platinum for life, IHG Platinum, Accor Platinum
Posts: 1,002
I have personally done multiple visaless A-B-A turns to Moscow no later than Nov. 2011. A-B-A turns DO count for TWOV in Russia. No questions asked, though maybe a few eyebrows.

Even if you have an issue, there is a "consulat" in the airport (at least there is in SVO). Let's say your connection didn't arrive due to a mechanical or weather (or Icelandic volcano), then you can get a 3-day visa at the consulat. Annoying part is that they will not issue it for more than 3 days, so you get to come back after 2 days to re-file and then come back on the 3rd day to pick up your new 3-day visa.
bankops is offline  
Old Apr 1, 12, 2:49 pm
  #14  
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MOW
Programs: KLM Flying Dutchman forever, bmi Diamond Club (is there a theme here?), LH, BA, EK, DL nobody
Posts: 1,877
Doing a turnaround once one's at DME or SVO is physically possible, the risk one runs is being denied boarding at departure on the outbound as the check-in staff checks Timatic and sees you technically need to be in transit to a third country to qualify for the TWOV. If OLCI is available, go for it
apoivre is offline  
Old Apr 1, 12, 4:01 pm
  #15  
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: YYZ
Programs: AC E; Marriott Platinum
Posts: 2,407
I did LHR-DME-LHR about 2 years ago...no problem, except that you must have your return BP printed out before you leave. Otherwise you are in serious trouble, since the transfer desk is rarely staffed.

When you come up the escalator to customs, just do a left turn and head back through security into the international waiting area.
DaveTO is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: