Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Mileage Run Deals > Mileage Run Discussion
Reload this Page >

(FARE GONE) TK: HKG-IST-LAX $802 ai rt 2.4 cpm (Premium Econ)

(FARE GONE) TK: HKG-IST-LAX $802 ai rt 2.4 cpm (Premium Econ)

Old May 15, 2011, 10:15 am
  #211  
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: USA
Programs: UA 1K, A3 GLD, AC ELT; AA EXP | SPG PLT, PC PLT, Hilton GLD, Hyatt PLT | National EXEC, Hertz 5*
Posts: 414
Expedia Change

I booked a r/t with a free stopover on the return LAX-IST(stopover)-HKG. I might need to change the stopover to outbound HKG-IST(stopover)-LAX. If I have stopovers at IST on both outbound and return, I need to pay 50 EUR more according to the fare rule.

As far as I understand, as long as the U class is available, I should be able to change the dates. Have anybody changed such fully flexible tickets when booking with expedia? Will they let me change the free stopover from inbound to outbound free of charge? Will they let me add a second stopover for 50 EUR according to the fare rule?
teddybw is offline  
Old May 15, 2011, 10:16 am
  #212  
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: San Francisco
Programs: UA1k, BAbronze
Posts: 110
OT: Hotel in Istanbul for Day and 1/2 stay.

Stopping over in IST for a day & a half on this MR.

Anyone have a good hotel recommendation in Istanbul?

Thanks!
VVanderlust
VVanderlust is offline  
Old May 15, 2011, 10:20 am
  #213  
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: sfo
Programs: U/A premier 1K. UA 1MM, Marriott Bonvoy Titanium
Posts: 285
Originally Posted by Angeleno228
There is a lot of misinformation in this thread. Turkish arrives and leaves from TBIT - Tom Bradley. You would absolutely have to clear immigration at LAX Tom Bradley and there is no way around it. Sometimes, economy lines are very long to clear security on departure at TBIT, so I would be cautious about doing same day turn.
thanks for weighing in on this. i have a same day turn. so it sounds like you are saying after clearing immigration, you have to exit immigration hall and then go back thru TSA lines. So i guess there is no direct route to the gates after clearing immigration and skipping TSA.

Another question: As a 1k U/A flyer, even though i am holding an economy ticket, can I enter the business security lines (if they exist) to save time? You mentioned of course there are economy lines, so hoping for premium lines also

Last edited by gallen5555; May 15, 2011 at 11:15 am
gallen5555 is offline  
Old May 15, 2011, 10:39 am
  #214  
Suspended
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: HKG
Programs: A3, TK *G; JL JGC; SPG,Hilton Gold
Posts: 9,952
so far, i cannot do stopovers at expedia AND thy.com.
duh...
would i be in trouble if i call them up and make one of them a stopover? (not so interested in making S/O both ways.)

btw, booked for april next year!
kaka is offline  
Old May 15, 2011, 10:41 am
  #215  
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: PGD
Programs: AS 100K, DL DM 1MM, UA 1MM
Posts: 438
Originally Posted by kaka
so far, i cannot do stopovers at expedia and thy.com.
Duh...
Would i be in trouble if i call them up and make one of them a stopover? (not so interested in making s/o both ways.)

btw, booked for april next year!
please wait until the fare expires to call!!
bobblevins is offline  
Old May 15, 2011, 10:44 am
  #216  
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: LAX
Programs: UA-1K, Hertz-Gold, Marriott-Gold, PC-Platinum, SPG
Posts: 2,777
Originally Posted by Away from YYZ
Thanks for the link. I can hardly wait to taste that Turkish coffee!
lax2010 is offline  
Old May 15, 2011, 10:54 am
  #217  
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,946
Thank you OP! ^
mileageking is offline  
Old May 15, 2011, 11:09 am
  #218  
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Sheffield, UK and Taipei, Taiwan
Programs: DL silver and UA silver
Posts: 709
Thumbs up Thank you.

Thank you OP+1^
bearteacher is offline  
Old May 15, 2011, 11:20 am
  #219  
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Pasco, WA USA
Programs: DL DM
Posts: 279
Great find OP! Thanks
Scatter is offline  
Old May 15, 2011, 11:25 am
  #220  
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Programs: TK Elite Plus; LH M&M SEN; Hertz Presidents Circle; IHG Royal Ambassador
Posts: 421
Just a short question: expedia.de does not show the fare rules during/after booking (if you click at the link, you receive the message, that fare rules can not be found). The booked ticket has the fare base U2RTHK, this means, it is the same flexible ticket as shown in this thread.

Does anybody know, if the not shown fare rules will result into any problems (p .ex. cancelling), or is it possible, to check and verify "historic" (if we assume that the fare will be gone tomorrow) fare rules without any problem?
Moranguinho is offline  
Old May 15, 2011, 11:28 am
  #221  
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: YYZ-HKT-CWL
Programs: aeroplan E .HH.
Posts: 994
booked 2nd trip

^^ thanks 574.66 euro apl18th rtn apl 24th plan to book stop overs later AP 23680mls
thaidai is offline  
Old May 15, 2011, 11:29 am
  #222  
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: SNA
Programs: UA 1K, 1MM
Posts: 368
Originally Posted by VVanderlust
Stopping over in IST for a day & a half on this MR.

Anyone have a good hotel recommendation in Istanbul?

Thanks!
VVanderlust
We just completed a mini vacation/MR to IST. The airport is only about a $15-20 cab ride to Sultanahmet area. Most tourist attraction are within walking distance. I am not sure what your budget is but we stayed at Garden House.
sna430 is offline  
Old May 15, 2011, 11:30 am
  #223  
2mg
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 740
Originally Posted by kaka
so far, i cannot do stopovers at expedia AND thy.com.
duh...
would i be in trouble if i call them up and make one of them a stopover? (not so interested in making S/O both ways.)

btw, booked for april next year!
You wouldn't be in trouble with THY, but FTers might give you a scolding or two If your travel is in April 2012, you have many months to solve this issue.

I know there are many people who are eager to resolve any outstanding issues, but we should wait until May 18th before any of us call, email or show up at ticket counters.
2mg is offline  
Old May 15, 2011, 11:30 am
  #224  
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: AMS
Programs: KL PFL; BA Silver; A3 Silver; EY Silver; SU Silver
Posts: 2,491
Originally Posted by Moranguinho
Just a short question: expedia.de does not show the fare rules during/after booking (if you click at the link, you receive the message, that fare rules can not be found). The booked ticket has the fare base U2RTHK, this means, it is the same flexible ticket as shown in this thread.

Does anybody know, if the not shown fare rules will result into any problems (p .ex. cancelling), or is it possible, to check and verify "historic" (if we assume that the fare will be gone tomorrow) fare rules without any problem?
No problems guys. Just relax.

And do not calls please.
Keter is offline  
Old May 15, 2011, 11:34 am
  #225  
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: AMS
Programs: KL PFL; BA Silver; A3 Silver; EY Silver; SU Silver
Posts: 2,491
Originally Posted by 2mg
I know there are many people who are eager to resolve any outstanding issues, but we should wait until May 18th before any of us call, email or show up at ticket counters.
As I noted if by any luck the fare lives over MAY-18 it can simply increase by 5% which is USD 7 in our case (it is a systemwide prices increase, hence the restriction)
Keter is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

This site is owned, operated, and maintained by MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Designated trademarks are the property of their respective owners.