New ITA features

Old Oct 17, 10, 11:54 am
  #1  
Company Representative - ITA Software
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 357
New ITA features

As presented in the CHI DO today:
  1. Display/sort by “price per mile” (hidden feature, new matrix only). Two ways:The option is sticky, the site will remember how you set it last.


  2. Limit search to an airline alliance
    • In the “routing codes” box, type “/ alliance <alliance-name>”
    • <alliance-name> can be “star-alliance”, “oneworld”, or “skyteam”


  3. Just for fun: route map puzzles (sorry, doesn't work in Internet Explorer yet)

Last edited by ITA Hacker; Oct 18, 10 at 5:03 am
ITA Hacker is offline  
Old Oct 17, 10, 5:54 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: PHL
Programs: HH Diamond MR PLAT US Gold
Posts: 288
Originally Posted by ITA Hacker View Post
As presented in the CHI DO today:
  1. Display/sort by “price per mile” (hidden feature, new matrix only). Two ways:The option is sticky, the site will remember how you set it last.


  2. Limit search to an airline alliance
    • In the “routing codes” box, type “/ alliance <alliance-name>”
    • Names are “star-alliance”, “oneworld”, or “skyteam”


  3. Just for fun: route map puzzles (sorry, doesn't work in Internet Explorer yet)
Cool

Thanks
-Rbn
ATWBY2020 is offline  
Old Oct 17, 10, 9:13 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NYC
Programs: UA Premier Exec
Posts: 280
Nice. This helps alot.
twospirits is offline  
Old Oct 17, 10, 10:12 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: IND
Programs: 2FlyOrNot2Fly– that is the question: United Mileage Plus 1P
Posts: 29
Question

Thanks so much! The price per mile function is very useful to me!

Unfortunately I seem to be having trouble with limiting a search to a particular alliance using the new ITA version. To limit to * alliance, is this exactly what I should type in the option box directly below the "Departing from" box? :

/ alliance <star-alliance>

It doesn't seem to work for me, but I'm sure I'm making some simple mistake.
2FlyOrNotToFly is offline  
Old Oct 17, 10, 10:46 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: ORD
Programs: AA (current EXP, occasional PLT, 0MM); UA; DL
Posts: 6,159
Originally Posted by ITA Hacker View Post
As presented in the CHI DO today...
It was a pleasure to meet you and other ITA representatives. I enjoyed your talk, and am most appreciative of the new features, especially the price/mile.
aktchi is offline  
Old Oct 17, 10, 10:55 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: ORD
Programs: AA (current EXP, occasional PLT, 0MM); UA; DL
Posts: 6,159
Originally Posted by 2FlyOrNotToFly View Post
...is this exactly what I should type in the option box directly below the "Departing from" box? :
/ alliance <star-alliance>
Close, but not close enough. Those angled brackets <> in computer writings are funny indeed. They are never meant to be used as written. Depending on the alliance desired, you should type

/ alliance star-alliance
/ alliance oneworld
/ alliance skyteam

(Suggestion to ITA: For consistency as well as to minimize the need for support, it would be wise to recognize all of the following usages: star-alliance, one-world, sky-team, staralliance, oneworld, skyteam.)

Last edited by aktchi; Oct 17, 10 at 11:33 pm
aktchi is offline  
Old Oct 17, 10, 11:10 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SFO
Programs: AA Plat, IHG Plat, HH Diamond, Hyatt Plat, Hertz Gold
Posts: 1,933
I'm sure the price/mile will come in handy!

But also, the route map puzzles are fun. I've wasted the last half hour or so on them
Antipode is offline  
Old Oct 18, 10, 12:16 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,049
thanks for the new functions!
will the price/mile option shows in the iphone/ipod touch app soon?
Nelumbo is offline  
Old Oct 18, 10, 12:39 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: DCA ZWU
Programs: AGR WOH
Posts: 1,763
24 out of 26 puzzles. Rock on!
paytonc is offline  
Old Oct 18, 10, 1:09 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: IND
Programs: 2FlyOrNot2Fly– that is the question: United Mileage Plus 1P
Posts: 29
Originally Posted by aktchi View Post
Depending on the alliance desired, you should type

/ alliance star-alliance
/ alliance oneworld
/ alliance skyteam
Thanks for the help, aktchi. I originally tried that; however I still only get the following message:

The search failed with QPX Warning. Bad route specification.

Oh well
2FlyOrNotToFly is offline  
Old Oct 18, 10, 5:01 am
  #11  
Company Representative - ITA Software
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 357
Originally Posted by 2FlyOrNotToFly View Post
Thanks for the help, aktchi. I originally tried that; however I still only get the following message:

The search failed with QPX Warning. Bad route specification.

Oh well
If you're typing it in the "From" box (and not in the "routing codes" box as I said in the original post), you'll need to start with the double colon. You want to type:

FROM BOS ::/ alliance star-alliance
ITA Hacker is offline  
Old Oct 18, 10, 8:33 am
  #12  
Company Representative, ITA
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Cambridge, MA
Programs: Mileage Plus
Posts: 7
Crossword Puzzle answers

The answers to the FlyerTalk crossword puzzle can be found here.

http://www.itasoftware.com/pdf/crosswordanswers.pdf

Let us know how you did!
ITAGiRL is offline  
Old Oct 18, 10, 9:08 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: ORD
Programs: AA (current EXP, occasional PLT, 0MM); UA; DL
Posts: 6,159
Originally Posted by 2FlyOrNotToFly View Post
...is this exactly what I should type in the option box directly below the "Departing from" box? :
Originally Posted by 2FlyOrNotToFly View Post
...The search failed with QPX Warning. Bad route specification...
As ITA Hacker said, if you are typing the whole thing in the FROM box, then you'd type BOS :: / alliance star-alliance .

If you are specifying the alliance in the OPTIONS box just below the FROM box (which is what first post indicated), then

(FROM box) BOS
(OPTIONS box) / alliance star-alliance

Of course, the error message not being too specific, there is always the possibility that something else was wrong with the syntax and we are just looking in the wrong place. Would you mind posting exactly what you typed in which box?

If the problem persists, you should report it in the "official" manner from the search page, so ITA folks can see exactly what happened.
aktchi is offline  
Old Oct 18, 10, 11:16 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: IND
Programs: 2FlyOrNot2Fly– that is the question: United Mileage Plus 1P
Posts: 29
Well, I finally got it to work in the old version (Matrix 1) by adding
:: alliance star-alliance after my departure city.

I still can't get the alliance limits to work in Version 2.

In the options box I type exactly
/ alliance star-alliance
I notice that after I get the error message and I return to modify the search, the site has eliminated the " / " from the options box. Perhaps this is relevant?

I wonder if the fact that I've changed Matrix 2 to show price per mile has anything to do with my error message?

In any case, I've notified ITA of the problem per your suggestion, Aktchi.

Thank you
2FlyOrNotToFly is offline  
Old Oct 18, 10, 12:10 pm
  #15  
jth
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: ARN/STO
Programs: SK EBS, BAEC blue, SPG
Posts: 586
Originally Posted by 2FlyOrNotToFly View Post

In the options box I type exactly
/ alliance star-alliance
I
I believe the whitespace after the / is messing it up. Try to just type /alliance, worked for me (in firefox, could be browser dependent).

this is two really good additions! ^^
jth is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread