Wiki Posts
Search

AA: RDU-DFW-SEA RT 2.2cpm?

Search this Thread

Old Oct 15, 2010, 8:19 pm
Original Poster

Programs: AA Gold; Marriott Lifetime Silver; IHG Plat Amb; Hilton Diamond
AA: RDU-DFW-SEA RT 2.2cpm?

I am new to FT and have never considered an MR before but I'm seriously considering getting down to RDU to take advantage of the 3x miles/2x EQ points. Since I'm no longer metal with American and hardly flew them this year I'd have to do two runs to get gold but with an extra push could bypass gold for platinum altogether.

It was tough as the only weekends I am free for the rest of the year are the two right before Christmas. Here's what I found.

12/10 and 12/11
late morn/early afternoon departure from RDU/same day red-eye return. 5-7 hours in between flights in both airports.

Raleigh Durham Intl Arpt, Raleigh, NC (RDU) to
Dallas Ft Worth Intl, Dallas, TX (DFW) to
Seattle Tacoma Intl Arpt, Seattle, WA (SEA) to
Dallas Ft Worth Intl, Dallas, TX (DFW) to
Raleigh Durham Intl Arpt, Raleigh, NC (RDU)

Distance 5440 miles = 16320 miles each r/t

I'm currently holding two consecutive r/t's at an aggregate of 1.76cpm for the two days. Factor in my o/w from Philly at $179 which will only net me 1508DM at only 7.5cpm and yet it's still a good deal. That will get me silver for $752.60 plus I'll have nearly earned an off-peak ticket to Europe.

However, for $300 more I can do one more 13785 r/t to SAN for a few days of r&r at a friend's house before heading home. It will be a whirlwhind three days but I'll earn AAplat and have a euro ticket in the bank. Overall cost per mile is 2.2c!

Am I nuts or what? And is AAdvantage Platinum really work this effort? Also... if the bonus points are posted to my account after January 1 will they even count toward elite status? Feedback appreciated!

Last edited by hautecouTours; Oct 15, 2010 at 11:32 pm
Old Oct 15, 2010, 11:23 pm

Programs: AA PLT