FlyerTalk Forums

FlyerTalk Forums (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/index.php)
-   Mileage Run Discussion (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/mileage-run-discussion-627/)
-   -   UA: First ever MR from WAS/IAD (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/mileage-run-discussion/1024916-ua-first-ever-mr-iad.html)

fsfsfsfs Dec 7, 2009 7:28 pm

UA: First ever MR from WAS/IAD

Hi FTers! Hoping someone who's an expert at this can help me decide whether to pull the trigger on a last minute MR this weekend. I've never done this before!

I'm already 1K for 2010 with about 137k EQM. Need about 13k more to get the 2 SWUs @ 150k (I'm assuming the DEQM bonus will count for 2009 even though they're not supposed to post until several weeks after promo ends).

DEQM promo ends 12/15... So here's what I found via ITA for $385 (not a great deal, but not terrible for 5 days before departure!), all on UA metal:

IAD-SAN-SFO-SEA-SFO-SAN-IAD

Unless my math is horrifically wrong, that adds up to something over 6800, which with DEQM would give me over 13,000 EQM and 13,000 RDM for a heinous $0.028/RDM.

Here are my questions:

1. I get into SEA past midnight and the flight to SFO doesn't leave until 7am -- too much time to just hang out, but not really worth it to get a hotel room either... What do you experienced folks recommend?

2. I was originally hoping to swing by PHX and make SFO my destination to meet with friends; however, because of fares/stopovers/codeshare, that didn't work out, so the only purpose of this 30-hour trip is to get these 2 SWUs. Do you think it's worth it to spend pretty much my entire weekend doing this?

3. There are some tight connections in there... Any other advice/tidbits not already posted in the FAQ? Anything United-specific would be super helpful!

Thanks all!

imanexception Dec 7, 2009 9:31 pm

what day are you trying to depart on?

fsfsfsfs Dec 7, 2009 9:34 pm

Originally Posted by imanexception (Post 12945429)
what day are you trying to depart on?