Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Mileage Run Deals
Reload this Page >

What are the best tools to setup a mileage run?

Old Apr 30, 05, 4:27 pm
Original Poster

Programs: UA 1K; US 50K

I'm a newbie. I know this is probably documented somewhere on this site, but I've spent a couple hours reading through posts trying to figure out how to book a mileage run.

This is an actual quote from the USAir mess up:

"DTW-PIT-ART-PIT-LAS-PIT-ART-PIT-LAX-PIT-ART-PIT-SEA-PIT-ART-PIT-PHX-PIT-ART-PIT-DTW
Overnights in LAS and SEA. About 24,000 status miles and 53,000 total miles for $160. Not bad. Thanks FT."

My question is how do you actually book this fare? If you do a multi-stop booking, most of the engines seems to come up invalid fare, etc...

My understanding is that you need to do the following:

(1) Figure out the valid bookings. Expedia is supposed to have a tool (although I can't get it to work) that will show the valid routes. http://www.expedia.com/pub/agent.dll...1114894075856&
Once you determine the From: To: and VIA: city codes, I'm assuming I can bounce between any of the city codes available in the VIA. Correct?

(2) Once I figure out the best route (ie. how many city pairs I want to connect through in a day), how do I get that booking to come up. Everyone seems to talk about the ITA booking engine. (http://www.flyaow.com/classual.htm). If I try a multi city booking through various cities it keeps coming back invalid.

Can someone walk me through the best tools to come up with a booking like the one above? How does he hit PIT 10 times?

Thanks,
DC-USCP-UAPE
Old Apr 30, 05, 4:45 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist