Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Trying to figure out how to maximize segments

Search this Thread

Old Nov 25, 2000, 2:25 am
Original Poster

Trying to figure out how to maximize segments

I've read all the information on the Boards, and just when I think I might have an understanding, I get confused again...

I read all the threads about maximizing miles and segments, but am still confused....

I have to fly OAK (SFO?) to Frankfurt soon, and then OAK to LAS in a couple of months, and have been trying to figure out how to maximize my segments...

I looked up flights on expedia and checked rules, and am still REALLY confused...

For example, on the Vegas trip, it seems clear to me that I can fly SFO or OAK to LAX and then LAS, but I'm not sure what a transfer versus stopover is...

One of the routings listed on United stated SFO/LAX/ONT/LAS...

Does that mean I can end up with 4 segments?

As you can see, I'm new to this whole segment thing... I've always just grabbed the direct flight, and never even thought about segments til I started coming here... :-)

I downloaded United Connection 3 to see if it would make it any easier to figure out segments, but it doesn't...

I'd appreciate any information people might be able to offer...

KevinB
Old Nov 25, 2000, 5:25 am

Programs: JetBlue Mosaic, WN A List Preferred, Hyatt Globalest, Hilton Diamond, Marriott Platinum, IHG Spire
To maximize segments, you want to develop an understanding of your carriers "valid routings," which are the cities you are allowed to connect in in any given market. In other words, each market has a "valid routing" which is part of the fare rules, and this tells you what cities you may connect in. In general, your carriers hubs will be valid routing cities, but often connections are allowed in other cities as well.

Stop Over: Means a city that you stop and stay in for more than 4 hours.....so not applicable for this;